We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pémiere classe very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premiere Classe Marseille Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Premiere Classe Marseille Centre to your Saves list
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Rue Lafon, 13006 Marseille, France (Préfecture)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Paris
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“pémiere classe very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

i had red previous reviews and i didn't know what to expect..but the hotel has been totally renewed in spring 2010 , 6 months before my stay
the people at the réception ( 24H) are so kind and helpful ,they also have a garage if u need , the rooms are spotless and very quiet , flat screen TV ,big comfortable bed for I person ,could accomodate 2 , I woud définetely come back to this hotel for his good rate quality vs price ,and everything is very good considering it's just a 1 star hotel!
only thing to be reviewed : the fitted carpet in the hall is already rather dirty in different spots

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    113
    73
    24
    13
See reviews for
42
90
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Just come back from a road trip in France and this is the only hotel we ran out of 1hr after check in. Simply thinking about it gives me the creeps. We are not after luxury but basic cleanliness is to be expected out of every hotel. Sadly this was not the case.

The hotel itself looks dated and in dire need of some renovation. The rooms were unbelievable. They looked like a terrible dorm room and the stench in them and the corridors is nauseating. The towels were neatly folded but stank of frying oil so after a quick shower I dried myself up in one of my t-shirts. A few minutes later my girlfriend found a dead flea in the room and the AC started dripping on the bed side lamp. At this point I went to ask for a refund or a room change. The receptionist offered me another room which I went to look at but as soon as I took off the bed sheet I saw hair on the pillow. That was it for me. Went back to the reception and asked for a refund which unbelievably took me some arguing to obtain. Whilst back in my room to pack my stuff and look for another hotel on the internet I got attacked by the resident fleas and nearly a week later I still have the marks on my hand and legs to prove it.

When checking in we commented on how cheap breakfast was. Now I know why and I sympathise with people having food from that dump.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I was abit worried about staying in this hotel after reading previous reviews, but its not at all as bad as what it seems. The room was very basic, but as the price is cheap you cant expect luxory. The room was cleaned everyday and the air con worked fine for me. The staff were really friendly and spoke good english. The only thing i didnt like about the room was the fact there is only a few hangers to hang your clothes and theres no carpet in the rooms. The breakfast buffett is quite nice too and quite cheap.
This hotel is in a GREAT location, Marceille city is within walking distance. You can walk up to Castallene and catch the 19 bus which takes you straight to the beach, also the metro is right around the corner which can take you all around marseille.
All in all its a basic but clean hotel.
Next time i come to Marseille i would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is a good centrally-located hotel within a 15 minute walk of the St. Charles railway station, a 10 minute walk of the port and less than 5 minutes to the main shopping areas of Rue de Rome and Rue du Paradis. The hotel is just up from Rue de Rome where the number 21 bus will take you directly to the chalk cliffs called 'Calanques' at the destination stop called 'Luminy'.

The area is not too clean, with graffiti and litter in the streets, and some unsavoury characters hanging about, but it's safe. However, I wouldn't park a good car outside, put it inside the hotel car park as I'd guess there is a high chance of it being vandalised, broken into or stolen. The hotel has a security guard at night who stands outside on the street corner just up from the hotel entrance observing all movement into the hotel building which is reassuring.

Don't expect top luxury - the entrance, dining area, corridors, lift and rooms are all clean and tidy, but this is a budget hotel after all. Fittings and fixtures are basic. I paid EUR 52/night in high season for an air-conditioned room, a price you'd really be struggling to beat in central Marseille. Every day I was at reception the hotel was full, and reception staff were turning away disappointed customers who'd arrived in Marseille without a hotel booking.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and were more than willing to answer my (sometimes detailed) questions, like checking the local Council website to see if the Calanques cliff area was open or closed due to fire hazard.

The breakfast was good too, with a hearty choice of food and drinks in a fully-stocked buffet service for EUR 4.80, not expensive, especially compared to other hotels in Europe.

I'd say this is a good hotel to go to if you want a clean room in central Marseille at a budget rate, but it's not for fusspots who expect all the extras. It's simple but good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

If you're looking for a very cheap bed for the night in Marseille, the Premier Classe will give you that. Yes, the rooms are very basic and it is a bit shabby, but if like us, you are using the room just to sleep in then it's ok. The area itself is not great, a bit shabby but then most of Marseille is a bit shabby, though it is pretty close to the Vieux Port and other areas. Staff were friendly enough and had basic English. Air-con worked for us.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The most basic hotel I have ever stayed at in my life! Orange lino on the floor, hospital beds, hardly any light in the bathroom... A psychatric hospital room would seem friendlier... If you are looking for a 2 star hotel in Marseille centre avoid this one and for almost the same price offer yourself an upgrade at the St Louis 2 star hotel near La Canebiere / Le Vieux Port.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for three nights simply because I booked in advance. It was very Spartan, no wardrobe only a few hangers on the wall, no drawers, a chair for only one person. Air conditioning worked well and was silent. My Bathroonm was fine but again very spartan. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for comfort .Little better than a hostel really. Beds were tubular steel but strangely enough ours were comfortable and the bedding was clean.Breakfast was the usual with bread, cereal, yoghurt etc. At 4.50 euro it was fine. The area outside was very dirty and run down. It was near the metro which is a plus and there was a nice little restaurant called La Fourchette opposite which did Italian meals, and not expensive.The reception desk were very pleasant.Summing up I would say this was all right just for somewhere for a bed for the night and not to spend any time in, but beyond that I would look for a better hotel. Old saying.YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premiere Classe Marseille Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Marseille Centre

Address: 13 Rue Lafon, 13006 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Premiere Classe Marseille Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Premiere Classe Marseille Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre Hotel Marseille
Premiere Classe Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premiere Classe Marseille Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.