We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a 5* Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu to your Saves list
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Indeed a 5* Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and very clean, the Old building was renovated wonderfully while still keeping its originality, at night it looks amazing
Good Food, very comfortable rooms and Good service (except for the night service at the bar)
hotel has a small access road from the street which makes it very peaceful and quiet while still central and accessible to old Marseille

Room Tip: Chose a high rooms facing the port if you want a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear AlexKayv,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed, as much the place as the service, your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    122
    48
    26
    5
See reviews for
68
309
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Despite an initial poor experience, mostly due to initial opening problems (c/f my initial review), I kept visiting the hotel from time to time and I have to say it is now really a great place to stay in town.
The location is magnificent and the staff had made tremendous efforts to overcome the rough beginnings.
The service is now in the five-stars range and everything and everyone is dedicated to make your stay truly unforgettable if you are a guest or just stopping by for a drink or a meal.
The terrace offers the best view on Marseille harbor and Notre Dame de la Garde hills, and at the same time, is by far, the quietest place in town to come and have a drink, even late at night, which is not so obvious in Marseille.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for mentioning our efforts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Can you imagine the thoughts that would have gone into converting an old hospital into a super luxury hotel? Well i do not need to imagine , I had the privilege of experiencing it! A beautiful drive takes you to the entrance of this master piece. The staff at the reception was super efficient and it did not take more then 5 minutes before I was escorted to my room. The rooms are tastefully done with all amenities and what is really amazing is the big terrace which is part of the room over looking the harbor. The bathrooms are big and spacious, one does not feel crammed. Unfortunately I had only an overnight stay, but given the next opportunity I would certainly stay longer and enjoy the beautiful place and the spa. A little expensive but worth every cent that one spends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Gourmetboss,

Thank you so much for your kind comments which we will happily share with our teams.

We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely business and leisure Hotel close to the old harbor of Marseille. Rooms are very pleasant, heavily beds and large shower. Great service throughout the Hotel and the outside bar and view are spectacular. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear stalenbu,

Thanks for recommending us! We all look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this hotel on business. The room was fantastic, spacious, comfortable and best of all Quiet. I had no view despite being on the top floor, but to be honest I didnt get much time to enjoy that sort of thing anyway. Free Wifi, comprehensive television selection in English (at last why cant all hotels in europe do this) Breakfast was good, staff all excellent. No chance to sample restaurant, although we did have some Bar food the first night as the restaurant was booked out by the Arsenal team. This food was good but very hard to justify the price, event being a 5 star hotel. Thats my only gripe. Recommend a stay here anytime.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor to the right of the hotel. Very quiet but overlooked a derelict buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Glenn_D123,

Thank you for your kind words. We were thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will have the opportunity to sample our brasserie next time.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location is quite good and it is old building with luxury room. Staff is quite friendly. But we were stuck in the elevator when we took the elevator. It didn't work and out of service. After informing the related people, we were taken out after 5 mins.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We were happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies for the elevator issue mentioned in your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The InterContinental Marseille Hotel Dieu has expanded the site of what was once a hostel for pilgrims to Notre Dame de la Garde, which sits across the old port atop the highest point in Marseille. While drenched in history -- the old port of Marseille dates back an unbelievable 2,600 years -- the hotel is modern, with all the conveniences one expects of Intercontinental.

The interior design is contemporary, a striking contrast to the antiquity (real or honored) of the building itself, yet, it is comfortable in every respect.

The executive room was spacious with every amenity, though closet space was modest. The bathrooms are lovely, with a separate shower and an enclosed toilet.

There is a bar (Le Capian) and a restaurant (Les Fenêtres), both of which serve outdoors on a capacious balcony, as well as indoors, in smartly designed rooms.

The hotel opened in April 2013 and to be honest, they are still working out some aspects of what is considered "five star service." While staff were mostly kind, there was a sense that they were over-stretched, and one admitted that they were short-staffed. The remains of room service (empty trays and dirty dishes) tended to linger in the hallway for hours, which wasn't a good look. Requests were sometimes necessarily repeated over the course of 20-30 minutes, and restaurant staff did not hesitate to show their exasperation when asked twice. That said, Julien, at the outdoor bar, was charming and prompt, and had the gift of remembering guests' preferences. Baptiste, the room service manager in the evening, was single-handedly satisfying guests requests in rooms, and doing a fantastic job of it for a one-man show.

This hotel has the potential to be one of the world's great hotels and I wouldn't hesitate to return...after giving them a little more time to work out the bugs.

Room Tip: Although the garden view is lovely, it is worth the small extra cost for a room facing the old port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Rosemary-NY,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide the best service possible. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our service is.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Address: 1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu is perfectly located overlooking the Vieux Port, right beside the oldest district in Marseille known as the Panier. The hotel is housed in a listed historical monument dating back to the 18th century and boasts a really beautiful terrace, where you can rest after a busy day admiring the Vieux Port. Nearby the Calanques must be seen! Marseille is the vibrant Mediterranean's capital of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.