We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly base in Marseille” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ortega

Save Saved
You added Casa Ortega to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ortega
46, rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Marseille B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A friendly base in Marseille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I chose Casa Ortega for its vintage interiors and location near St Charles station. But it was the friendly staff (Thank you Nadia!), enthusiastic with their sharing of tips on everything from places to see to transport, that made my trip. They created an atmosphere that encouraged breakfast chat amongst the guests - something you just don't get in a hotel. Perfectly-fresh croissants for breakfast from the boulangerie up the road and out exploring, it's walking distance from sights, metro and buses. I loved this wonderful, edgy, art-filled, cosmopolitan city and I would very happily stay at Casa Ortega again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
40
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This b&b is just a few minutes away from Marseilles St Charles train station, but dont worry its quiet when the windows shut. they have air-con so its more comfortable to have it on with the windows closed. very fresh croissant and bread every morning. guests can also make tea and coffee freely at other times. very chic rooms! not the most spacious but excellent shower and very comfy bed! Nadia at the reception was extremely friendly and helpful! the restaurants she recommended were all lovely! also very accurate locations marked for us on the map for things we wanna do. we had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Casa Ortega's stylish interior is special enough to make this B&B worth a trip. But what makes it even more special is the extremely friendly and helpful host David, who gave us a really warm welcome and gave us plenty of tips what to see and do in Marseille. Our room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast was served in the common area downstairs and included tea, juice, bred, croissants, cereal, etc... so there was plenty! All in all, Casa Ortega is an affordable B&B in a very central, but quiet location (very close to the train station), but also in walking distance to the old port and other sights of Marseille! We would definitely recommend it. Thanks David!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very nice B&B, a few meters from the main train station. The place has its own style (60's) and it is friendly run by the owner, who speaks english and little spanish and italian. He is very helpful with suggestions and tips and makes you feeling very comfortable. My room was very clean and nice, even if not big. The breakfast is with buffet, starting just a little too late if you have a busy day. A good place to go and return, no doubt. Just to add that the area around is very noisy and messy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent location, stylish and clean rooms, great breakfasts and staff that went out of their way to make our stay as good as it could be - pointing out areas and places to go, booking tables at restaurants etc etc. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay at Casa Ortega! As two families with toddlers (4x adults, 2x toddlers) we were unsure if a cool city break was possible.

But thanks to smiley receptionist Emma, the trip was a breeze.

We hired the two rooms at the top of the stairs. They were stylish, clean rooms with travel cots provided. The stairs were a work out (and we had to be vigilant that the kids were supervised) but fine if you're fit.

Breakfast was served downstairs and we were welcome to use the kitchen at any time. This was a godsend with two small children.

We were also allowed to leave our prams downstairs near the front door.

Emma went out of her way to answer our questions about Marseille and to research child-friendly activities for us.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Firstly finding the place, the street numbers are not in order and the there is only a very small sign saying casa ortega (it looks like a private house) Its on the left as you walk from the station before you get to the vertigo hostel. Enjoyed our stay of two nights- the decor was tastefull retro.
Breakfast was good. Owner was friendly and recommended and booked a great resturant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Ortega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ortega

Address: 46, rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ortega is the brand-new B&B just in front of Saint Charles Station.Cultivating the beauty of each detail and a true sense of hospitality, this is a guest house unlike any other. Ideally located on a quaint street across from Marseilles' Saint Charles train station, and just a short walk from the Old Port, this comfortable bed and breakfast blends the quality services of a hotel with the authentic charm of a maison d'hôtes and a vibrant international ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Ortega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ortega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.