We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Marseille Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Marseille Vieux Port to your Saves list
Novotel Marseille Vieux Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Blvd Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #41 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stay away from the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I didn't find the rooms to be shabby, but they weren't anything to get excited about. Typical miniscule TV (for Italy) and average furnishings. Mostly though, there are two concerns. Service staff at the front desk were accommodating, but when you go to check out or check in, allow yourself plenty of time. They just don't seem to have a system in place to handle this basic service and with large groups coming and going you could spend a LONG time waiting. As for the food, the restaurant experience downstairs was the worst I had in 3 weeks of European travel. Staff was nonchalant. The steaks were the worst pieces of meat I've ever had, anywhere, any time. The food was truly horrible. All this for 110 euro for two. Eat in town.

I didn't realize that the Sofitel hotel was essentially in the same building and I walked into their lobby by mistake. Nothing but regret for having chosen the poor cousin.

The location is very close to the Pharo Park and the hotel is a 15 minute walk to the further inland part of the Old Port.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    318
    158
    47
    22
See reviews for
242
235
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Reception good, position of hotel good.
No smoking room stank of smoke.
Hotel generally in need of physical make-over.
Evening restaurant staff are the most rude and arrogant I have ever met.
I do not expect a lecture and a finger wagged in my face because I asked for help with the menu. The restaurant had 3 customers, but the staff had perfected the art of looking busy while not serving the guests.
The breakfast was fine, but this hotel needs a lot of work in order to meet the expectation of customers who regularly use the Novotel brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelVieuxPort, Responsable réception at Novotel Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear,

We are absolutly sorry and desapointed about your experience in our restaurant, as if i'm sure that nobody really wag a finger in your face. Our team always try to do the best for each guest we welcome. We miss something with you when you came. Accept our appologize for this. Next time you come don't hesitate to inform us (the duty manager for exemple) directly at the hotel if you had a problem. It's with pleasure and profesionalism that we can help you and applicated our quality promise YOU! I think that you don't sleep in our hotel but in the neighbour hotel because he had already transmited your complain. If you come another time in Marseille don't hesitate to contact me directly,

The Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just visited this Novotel, and find the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was a bit rundown, but no major complaints. Location great, just nextdoor to Pharo gardens, and a easy walk to the old port quartier. Parking lot: not convenient at all, very reduced spaces! Otherwise, a good affordable option to discover Marseilles...

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel location is excellent, at the entrance to the port with view of the Port and old Fort. It is located next to the very nice park.

Novotel, the orphan, is next and adjoining Sofitel. The hotels abut each other and share the garage and some of the service ares. Both hotels are owned by the Accor chain, but there is where the similarities stop.

The main public areas are comfortable and pleasant, especially the terrace, where the meals and beverages can be taken. Hotel has an outdoor pool.

The corridors and room appear tired. The corridor carpeting is in need of cleaning and replacement. The rooms are rated as Superior, Executive and Executive with view. The reserved Superior room had an interior view of service buildings roofs and roof equipment. The Executive room with a view of the port is approximately $100 more a night, so it is a personal decision if it is worth the difference.

The room appeared tired, it has original "contemporary" furnishings and was in need of cleaning, especially the carpeting which had dust, dirt and items left from previous occupant.

The computer problems slowed down the check-in process and at checkout time the desk could not handle the larger number of guests. In spite of it all, the front desk personnel was professional, friendly and trying to accommodate everyone.

The garage is secure and typically for Marseille, expensive. However, it is a good choice if one has new or expensive car. Hotel is located on main, busy street and the street parking is at premium.

The hotel is a good hotel, that needs management attention and care. The condition of the hotel do not warrant the prices charged for the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we enjoyed the 4 nights in this Novotel, the good connection with the bus 82S from the nearby Pharo to the Railway station Gare St Charles, the wunderful view from the executive room on the Vieux Port, the excellent fish dishes in the restaurant, and especially the friendly service
of the personnel and waiters, we recommend the nice views from the basilica Notre Dame de la Garde, to reach easily with bus 60 from the Vieux Port, the modern Mucem and the pleasant atmosphere. the beautiful Calanques and the lovely village of Cassis.

Room Tip: prefer the higher executive non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights last week, the check in wasnt express considering there was a large group of us attending which had been pre-arranged. The decor was tired and dated in the bedrooms. The Luxury 5* Sofitel was right next door so it's almost a case of this what you could have won. THe reception, lobby, bar and pool area is nice but the rest needs some attention. More geared up for business. Do not stay there if you are looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've just stayed for a night, but it was a huge mistake. The room was dirty, the carpet was untouched since 1987. The restaurant & bar staff was incredible rude. You had to use the same cutlery for the starter and for the main course. (when you required a new one, they just simply refused it). You left the used cutlery on the plate they grabbed it and put it back. Never seen it before like this. Btw the dinner was inedible, so it turned out we not gonna need a new one.
Strange thing, the breakfast was great.
Hello Mr. Hotel Manager, if I were you, I would look around my hotel, find a new staff to the restaurant and buy some new carpets as a start.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 36 Blvd Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Marseille Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Marseille Vieux Port hotel welcomes you in the heart of the Phocean city for a unique stay: with your family, visit the key sites such as the MUCEM, Palais du Pharo, Fort St. Jean and access the beaches in just minutes. While on business trips, benefit from free WIFI, our private car park and the views of the Old Port from our Novotel Cafe restaurant. The hotel also benefits from direct access to highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Vieux Port
Marseille Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Marseille Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.