We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gets what you pays for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Sud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Sud to your Saves list
Hotel du Sud
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Linslade
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“You gets what you pays for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

So we were on our way home, flew out to Montpellier on Sunday (thank you easyJet) but there are no return flights to Gatwick until the weekend. A bit silly, but hey, an opportunity to explore. So we chose a modest hotel, close to the old harbour. Small room, small beds and the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work. Staff were helpful, when needed. Boy, the stairs are steep!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
21
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a night in this hotel which was a back-up plan for other accommodation which didn't eventuate. Having paid for the other accommodation we didn't want to outlay a lot of money again. We got a rate of 60 euro for Hotel Sud and have to say it was good value for money. We arrived in Marseille at 9am and were able to access our room straight away. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and spoke English which is not a necessity but very helpful for someone with not a great knowledge of French. Our room was small and outlook not good but it was clean, good bed and clean and modern bathroom. Breakfast was served in a room off reception and at 9.75 euro was more than adequate (juice, yoghurt, croissant AND bagel, preserves and tea or coffee). The cost of breakfast was possibly a bit high but the convenience of having it in the hotel was worth it.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is a minutes walk to Vieux Port and there are almost too many restaurants around it. Difficult to decide where to eat.

We were also able to leave our luggage in the hotel while we did some more sightseeing on the day of departure.

I would say to anyone visiting Marseille, especially if only for 1 or 2 nights, try this hotel. For the money it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As others have noted the rooms are quite small - this is not a problem, they are cozy and have more or less everything needed, there is amazingly even a foyer to the small room. The location is great. I would like this hotel very much if it were about a third of the price. I guess I would prefer France several decades ago, most everything there seems way too costly...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice hotel, very close to the Old Port of Marseille and Opera. The reception staff was just great. They answered a tons of questions about good dining, places of intrest. They also helped us to print boarding passes, etc. Huge thanks to all of them!
The elevator is so tiny that only 1 person with a small suitcase could fit in there. But it's so nice.
It's also very close to the restaurants and old port. No need to walk for dining out.
The room is small, but very comfortable. I liked the sufficient lightning. There was plenty of lights (not so usual for the most of the hotels). Hair-dryer could be collected from the reception without any charge.
I'd recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Important positives for us about du Sud were good central location (almost in the harbour) while on a quiet street, clean room with good bed, spacious bathroom with tab and in a good condition, good price, friendly stuff, simplicity. Breakfast is very basic. If the carpet in the lobby area and on the stairs were replaced on time, overall impression on arrival would be better.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same, area in general seem to be pretty quiet for the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight with my son while trying to sort out Uni accomadation. it was last minute as was in Marseile with nowhere to stay.
Room was quite small but adequate for us, bathroom and bedding all clean.
2 issues really, first was the lift was very small, only enough space for luggage or person not both so we but the cases in and then ran up 4 flights of stairs to meet it. Second was the air con in the room is over one of the beds and decided to drip condensation on me all night, but moving the bed over cured that. Would use it again as its a reasonable price for its location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having read previous reviews we knew the rooms would be small but hadn't realised just how small! First good point was that there was a room available for us when we arrived mid morning, we had booked in advance but many hotels don't let you in until the afternoon. There was air con but it was controlled by the front desk but generally this was ok. The real selling point of this hotel is the location, virtually next to the Opera, a block away from the Old Port, a Metro stop 2 mins walk. You are very near lots of restaurants & bars, really spoilt for choice.
We decided against breakfast, 10 euros to eat in your small room couldn't compete with a 4 euro formule at the cafe a block away with tables in the street.
The room & the bathroom were clean & for the price this hotel represents value for money as long as you accept the size of the rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Sud

Address: 18, Rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Sud 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Sud is a 2 star hotel in the heart of the historic center of Marseille. Easy from St Charles station access by subway exit "Canebiere- Vieux Port" l'Hotel du Sud is just steps from the Opera and the parking Charles de Gaulle. Enjoy proximity to the WTC convention centers, the Palais du Pharo or Chanot park, proximity shuttles to the islands of Chateau d'If, Frioul and the Calanques, the Panier district, La Vieille Charite, the House Diamantee , the Cathedral of the Major, the MUCEM, castles St John and St Nicolas, the Palais Longchamp, La Canebiere. Open 24/24, reception on the 1st floor welcomes you. From there, a lift takes you to your floor. All rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, with bath, flat screen TV, air conditioning, double glazing and free WIFI. All rooms and public areas are non-smoking. Breakfast is served from 6: 45 to 10: 00. Departures before 11: 00, and arrivals, from 14: 00. Luggage storage is available, free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Sud Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.