We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Sud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Sud to your Saves list
Hotel du Sud
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight with my son while trying to sort out Uni accomadation. it was last minute as was in Marseile with nowhere to stay.
Room was quite small but adequate for us, bathroom and bedding all clean.
2 issues really, first was the lift was very small, only enough space for luggage or person not both so we but the cases in and then ran up 4 flights of stairs to meet it. Second was the air con in the room is over one of the beds and decided to drip condensation on me all night, but moving the bed over cured that. Would use it again as its a reasonable price for its location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
21
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having read previous reviews we knew the rooms would be small but hadn't realised just how small! First good point was that there was a room available for us when we arrived mid morning, we had booked in advance but many hotels don't let you in until the afternoon. There was air con but it was controlled by the front desk but generally this was ok. The real selling point of this hotel is the location, virtually next to the Opera, a block away from the Old Port, a Metro stop 2 mins walk. You are very near lots of restaurants & bars, really spoilt for choice.
We decided against breakfast, 10 euros to eat in your small room couldn't compete with a 4 euro formule at the cafe a block away with tables in the street.
The room & the bathroom were clean & for the price this hotel represents value for money as long as you accept the size of the rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is very well positioned, close to the Vieux Port but in a quiet street. The lady in charge was extremely friendly and kind, and I was given a room with air conditioning at the rear of the building. Unfortunately the outlook was rather depressing and I was glad to be spending only one night there, but the bed was very comfortable and I slept well with the aid of the aircon. The room had a very nice bathroom with tub, and was spotlessly clean. A simple continental breakfast was served in a small dining room which seemed just a little overpriced at 10 euros, but nevertheless I enjoyed it and I would stay at this hotel again. The other hotels in this area are much more expensive and I felt I had received the kind of personal service which is often lacking.

Room Tip: If like me you are visiting in the summer, you need to ask for a room with aircon. I also asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is great value (€80 per night) considering its location at the Vieux Port which is the main attraction in Marseille. You have the Metro station and plenty of restaurants just around the corner. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The room was small with no A/C but we had a big refurbished bathroom including a bathtub. Free Wifi was included in the price but it did not work on our smart phones very well. I recommended this hotel to people who don't mind to stay at a basic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The main attraction of this hotel is that it's cheap considering its location in the heart of the action - The Vieux Port. I paid less than 75 Euros per night in the peak of summer. In terms the hotel itself, its a very basic family run operation. The lobby is not very fancy and a little tired - but feels kind of homely. That feeling is complimented by the kind and friendly staff - who can speak English. There's also an elevator, but when you arrive there is an initial steep flight of stairs.

Regarding the rooms, they are quite small (but I've been in smaller in France). Most importantly they are clean, and so was the toilet. The bed was decent, there was a small TV, and free wifi.

Overall, I have no complaints about the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A polite, helpful, service minded and very professional staff but sympathetic at the same time. The breakfast is served in the room and the place is clean and has a very good quality/price value. No wonder it has been recommended by Lonely Planet…

I was there for the first time in 2004 and came back there just last week. I was equally satisfied! The low points goes to the size of the room. But that's all

Also the location of the hotel is amazingly great! Just behind the harbor and near all communications etc. The wifi is working very well, which is hard to find in those old buildings… I truly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The room was laughably small, only one plug in bedroom, which is a problem if you need to run a fan, charge your computer and your cel phone. Bathroom was surprisingly nice, large and clean, but has handheld shower-head which means you have to sit in the bath to wash your hair. Main problem with hotel is lack of real A/C. They have 'central air' but with the heat and humidity of Marseille in the summer, the room and hotel was very hot at all times. Without the fan I borrowed, I would have had to move to another hotel. TV is all French, no CNN or any English shows. Staff is nice- location is fantastic and the room was very quiet. Wifi worked well. But would not be staying at hotel again in warm weather.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Sud

Address: 18, Rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Sud 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Sud is a 2 star hotel in the heart of the historic center of Marseille. Easy from St Charles station access by subway exit "Canebiere- Vieux Port" l'Hotel du Sud is just steps from the Opera and the parking Charles de Gaulle. Enjoy proximity to the WTC convention centers, the Palais du Pharo or Chanot park, proximity shuttles to the islands of Chateau d'If, Frioul and the Calanques, the Panier district, La Vieille Charite, the House Diamantee , the Cathedral of the Major, the MUCEM, castles St John and St Nicolas, the Palais Longchamp, La Canebiere. Open 24/24, reception on the 1st floor welcomes you. From there, a lift takes you to your floor. All rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, with bath, flat screen TV, air conditioning, double glazing and free WIFI. All rooms and public areas are non-smoking. Breakfast is served from 6: 45 to 10: 00. Departures before 11: 00, and arrivals, from 14: 00. Luggage storage is available, free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Sud Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.