We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Classic just off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Louis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue des Recollettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
evansville, indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quaint Classic just off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just a few short blocks from the Vieux Port and the Train Station, this lovely hotel was a perfect launching place for exploring Marseille and Provence. Up the narrow steps to the 2nd floor is the small reception and breakfast area overlooking the street below.. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable, the price fair and the breakfast was good as well. We were very pleased with the location and neighborhood which seemed quite safe and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    90
    31
    14
    6
See reviews for
34
67
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Booked a room last year for 2 people for few nights. the price was around 80 euros, without breakfast. The room was clean but the deco was so dated and the hotel had an odd smell all over -- smell of damp I think, as soon as we sat on the bed, it collapsed and there was a bed side lamp hanging off the wall. For that price, one can rent a studio or a small appartment right in the centre of Marseille.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

An ok hotel in a good Centrallly located part of the City.
Old fashioned French building.
Fairly clean friendly hotel & you basically get what you pay for in that we just wanted a cheap hotel in central Marsielle as we stayed there with loads if blokes to see Chelsea play and it didn't bother us where we stayed as long as it had a bed to lay your drunk head!
So if you want a posh hotel and want to pay big money then don't stay here!
The only slight off putting thing was that right outside the hotel was a shop that sold a whole host of guns and flick knives!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

From the sidestreet, the front of the St Louis Hotel is grand. Inside, the grandeur has faded. Nevertheless, in an expensive area such as Vieux Port (where all tourists want to be), it has all the basic facilities for the low to low-medium budget traveller. Hot water, WiFi (only in some rooms, but ok in reception), clean room and bathroom if slightly shabby and somewhat faded. Helpful staff in reception. Best of all, fantastic location for the money - just a couple of minutes down the main street to the waterfront ! Bad point: Breakfast, weak and pricey. Better get some fruit and bread off the street. Hotel was very difficult to find by car without GPS in the maze of extremely narrow, crowded and blocked streets. Hotel is not too far to walk from Gare St Charles, apart from the 100 steps down from the station to the steet. We paid 67Euros which we were quite happy with. For that money, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room on an upper floor facing the street. It was quiet enough on an upper floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

A have never written a bad or negative review before but this hotel errs on the side of
a negative review. Having checked in and shown to our room I was horrified. It was very tiny with tiled floors one would not want to put bare feet on and was to me just plain awful. The age of the tiles made it appear dirty although my husband insisted they were clean, me, I was not so sure. Having been in the room 3 minutes we left to do some sightseeing during which I persuaded my husband to ask for a better, bigger room. When our request was made he said there was another room we could have but it would only be available for one night and we would have to move to yet another room for our 2nd night. We checked out the second room and couldn't believe the difference. Yes, so much bigger and with a much larger bathroom. Modernised it was but done by a very poor tradesman as discarded pipes were just cut off and left hanging out of the wall. A closet had hanging space but the depth was about a foot so am still wondering what you could possibly hang in it. It did appear clean though. The room was still one where you check the linen etc to see if there is anything moving. I must admit though we slept reasonably well. The next day we had to pack up again to move. Our new room wasn't ready and our request to stay in the room we had was denied. We were told to leave our luggage in the room and it would be moved when our new room was ready. We were spending the day sightseeing so didn't return until after 6pm. Once again we were given a new room key and this time the room was even better than the last. Still had problems but better. Only problem was no luggage in our room. Our luggage was still in the vacated room just where we left it. They had cleaned the room around our luggage and left it there. Thankfully no one had checked into it and we were not actually sure if anybody did as we noticed the key was still there quite late in the evening. Still wondering why we had to change rooms as we had booked over 12 months earlier and yet they still tried the bad room test on us. I just wonder how many people fall for this and accept the first room they are given especially when there is no price difference at all. Location can be quite alarming to some although wasn't a bother to us but if there was ever a need to go back to Marseille this would not be the hotel or location I would pick.
Breakfast runs from 7am to 11am so both mornings we went down at 10am to find very little left and uncleared tables making it difficult to find somewhere to sit and there were only 2 of us. All in all not our best hotel stay but I guess you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We (two female friends in our late-20s) spent 2 nights at Saint Louis. The reception staff were friendly and helpful when we needed it. Great location; 5 mins from the tourist info, only a couple more minutes to the old port and in the opposite direction it's an easy walk to the train station. For 2 stars you don't expect much, but we were really (pleasantly) surprised! It was clean, the room was lovely (and quite big!), quiet enough at night and had a good view. Good local bakeries for breakfast as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Found this hotel to be shabby and in a rather undesirable area, ie. vagrants sitting outside hotel during the night and day. We paid extra for a superior room and it what we got was superior I would hate to see a standard room. We had the room shown on the various websites, with the four poster bed. The bedding was none too clean and the tiled floor was cracked and uneven. The only upside was that the bathroom was clean and the towels were changed regularly.

In it's favour I would say that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is good, as it is very near the port and about a 10 minute walk from the railway station.

On the whole, we found Marseille very expensive, ie restaurants and public transport. We usually go to Nice and we thought Marseille would be similar, however it was more expensive.

We would not go back to either the Saint Louis Hotel nor to Marseille. There were certain areas where we felt very unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Address: 2, rue des Recollettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.