We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46, rue Sainte, 13001 Marseille, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Basic, but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was there on my own for a sailing event. The hotel (soon to be redesignated an Ibis Budget) is close to the Old Port and 200m from the Metro. It is in fact two buildings, one on Rue Sainte and the other the lower level square, with a connecting 'bridge'. Room doors are opened by numerical code. My double room was basic but adequate - there was a TV (including BBC World) but no wardrobe or room phone. The bed was a large double, and comfortable.

The bathroom had a walk-in shower but no bath, Towels and soap were provided, but you bring your own shampoo.

There was some noise from the square below if the window and shutter were left ajar.

Breakfast was OK. Take a tray, and help yourself to bread, croissants, jam, orange juice and coffee or other hot drinks from the machine. Free copies of regional daily papers were provided.

On my first evening I found that the shower tray was filling up with water faster than it was draining away. I reported it on leaving the next morning, and it was fixed on my return.

If location is more important than the total hotel experience, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    320
    202
    78
    41
See reviews for
86
268
119
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Unfortunately my locked suitcase has been opened by force in the closed room and money have been stolen. This was very annoying since I had to go to the police and lost half day dealing with the consequences of that stealing and will need to follow-up with my insurance and Hotel insurance.
Overall the hotel was not very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It has a great location, almost downtown, near the port, the main street, the restaurants. The rooms are confortable, just the basic (the bed was a bit hard) but other than that very clean and well taking care. Bring your personal items as shampoo, hair dryer, etc, because in the bathroom you find the basic. Good breakfast for a reasonable price.They have an underground parking (reasonable price) with an elevator you bring the car down. The staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very good location, near the subway station, the old port and many good restaurants and bars. It was very easy to discover Marseille from that hotel. It is located on a very quiet street. The staff was very friendly and answered our questions about the activities we wanted to do in Marseille. The room is small but clean and the bathroom is very nice for that kind of hotel. A negative point would be that we have been woken up many times in the night by some travellers who were unrespectfull of others and would talk very loud, but this is not the hotel's fault. I would recommend this hotel if you are not too picky nor fancy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We fell in love with Marseille whilst staying at this incredibly central hotel so could almost forgive the hotel's shortcomings. We paid very little to stay there, making it affordable for a 3 night break, but everything about the room we had was below the standard of other budget hotels I've stayed in. The room was tiny and bare with room to hang just one or two items of clothing. There was no window, just a skylight so no view and felt very claustrophobic. The bathroom was old and dirty, with scratchy towels and terrible cheap toilet paper. Our door was difficult to use (it has a code system) and one day it was open when we returned (cleaners, dodgy lock, who knows?)!!! Next time we visit Marseille we'll steer clear.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 46, rue Sainte, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port 1*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.