We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst renovation ever...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Marseille Prado Plage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adagio Marseille Prado Plage to your Saves list
Adagio Marseille Prado Plage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46, rue des Mousses, Prado Plage, 13008 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #66 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“the worst renovation ever...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I am writing this review after a very big disappointed experience in this apart hotel;
I just want to add some real picture from this hotel which is calling itself "new renovated..."
Additional to these pictures, if you add the stinking smell of the air conditioning, the dirty corridors of each floor, the peeled paint of the walls in and out of the building and the "new" furniture of the rooms you have the whole picture of the hotel.
I definitely do not recommend this hotel, at list until a full renovation...

Otherwise, good location, nice area and friendly stuff, but this is not enough for the money you pay...

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotiris P, Directeur général at Adagio Marseille Prado Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments.
We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment, and in particular with the renovations.
Please accept our sincere apologies.
It is necessary for me to add that, the renovations concern only the appartments and not the building.
We hope in the near future to solve this point.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    78
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
66
67
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The area is nice and quiet, apart from a noisy fellow guest that thought that at midnight is ok to talk loudly on her mobile phone sitting in her balcony so everyone could hear her.
The rooms are ok, nothing too special. Ours was clean and with a small kitchenette - the bathroom is very tiny and only one set of towels left for two people. I called reception and they had another one for me (towel, not set).
The swimming pool is ok, however no towels.
We didn't have breakfast, but we were quoted €11 each.
There is normally free car parking available on the street, however be aware in Marseille people drive like lunatics, and someone reversed onto our rental car and dented the rear side door whilst we were in our room (I guess it was reversing). Obviously no note was left, good job we had the full cover!!
The outside of the building needs urgent attention (photos to follow). Flaking paint everywhere and rusty railings, don't make it an attractive property to look at. Accorhotels should invest a bit more in the tlc of this property, especially being in France!
In a nutshell: it's ok for one or two nights. Not a hotel I would book again from choice when in Marseille.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotiris P, Directeur général at Adagio Marseille Prado Plage, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments.
We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment, and in particular with the outsides.
Please accept our sincere apologies.
Our recent renovations concerned only the appartments and not the building.
We hope in the near future to solve this point.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was the second year running that my wife and I stayed here. While the accommodation could benefit from a little bit of TLC and a new coat of paint, it is excellent value for money. Our room has aircon, a full kitchenette, a balcony and free WiFi! It is only a 5 minute walk to the beacj and the local supermarket is along the way with a large selection of choices. 10-15 minute walk gets you to the restauerants and bars along the beacjfront near the large 'Prado eye' wheel on the beach. We didnt go to any of these since we preferred to keep the cost down and buy our food at the supermarket and cook it in the room, and then eat it along with enjoying a good bottle of wine on the balcony.

Almost opposite the hotel (opposite side of the Ave Prado) is Parc Borely, which has a large stone mansion (now a museum) set within a huge park that has a number of lakes, grass areas, a cafe, a coupld of childrens areas, waterfalls, rose garden, running tracks, roadways - and peacocks! A lovely place to spend a few hours whether you are there for an active holiday or just as peaceful and relaxing as you can make it. The park was a lovely discovery.

The beach at the end of Ave Prado is a small grade gravel beach so you wont get into any mess from the sand and is fronted by another large park area and parking spaces but if you turn left (toward the big wheel) and walk over the bridge you will find a few sections of sandy beach which is really nice too.

Room Tip: If you want sun on your balcony in the evening you need a room at the side of the hotel. And there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Impressed with the facilities for the price, room has a fully fitted kitchen, but no complimentaries, so bring your tea bags! Nice pool and breakfast area, short walk to beach with restaurants and shops. Room was quiet - and I'm quite fussy about noise in hotel rooms - but note that wooden floors may result in footsteps from above, I'll be requesting top floor next time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was concerned when I saw the reviews on Tripadvisor regarding this hotel, but couldn't do anything about it as we had already booked the place. Maybe the hotel has had a facelift in the year since the last review, because I thought it was a great place!

The room was not small (typical for France), very clean, there was ample hot water, a lovely balcony, a fridge, hot plate, dishwasher, microwave and all crockery. The staff were amazing and so encouraging of me practising my French! The hotel is in a very good area in Marseille (safe and well to do, but not a lot of people. We felt safe though) with good bus service (that ends pretty early...but that's the city's fault!). There's a nice pool and you are steps away from the beach and a good supermarket and bakery. There were no nice restaurants in the area though. Be sure to take the bus to the vieux port that takes the coastal route - very pretty! By bus, it's about 20-30 min from downtown but it's a comfortable ride.

I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Marseille Prado Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Marseille Prado Plage

Address: 46, rue des Mousses, Prado Plage, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio Marseille Prado Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adagio Marseille Prado Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Marseille Prado Plage Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Marseille Prado Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.