We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Ferreol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Ferreol to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Ferreol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue Pisancon, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, it is in a great location, very close to the port and the metro (which is then only 2 stops from the main train station) room was not huge, but big enough, decent sized bathroom. Avoid room 26 as the outside lights are really bright and make the room pretty bright at night! We got a deal through booking.com so it was good value for money

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
55
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

my friend and i were looking for a last minute hotel in Marseille. this one is well located, a few minutes from le Vieux Port, and easy walking distance from the train station. the room was not very large but large enough for 2 people with a clean bathroom. the area is quiet at night. can't say the staff was particularly friendly but all in all, i would recommend the place. only negative is breakfast is not included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

All 3 members of staff that we met during our stay where extremely friendly. If your looking to avoid the middle of the road, over priced tourists eateries and wine & dine where the locals eat at the reasonably priced restaurants which cook up some delcious meals then let the friendly staff at Saint Ferreol be your travel guides!!!

They are very happy to help and advise (infact they seem to take great pleasure in providing their local knowledge).

The room was clean, cosy with wi-fi at no extra cost. If I ever return to Marseille this will be the first location on my itenary due to the friendly nature of the staff, comfortable room, reasonably well situated location and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here four nights in January. It's a great location, and I felt very comfortable here as a solo female traveler. The family-owned ambiance is nice, and the service was very friendly. Wifi worked well in my room. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Perhaps a bit pricey, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I thought this was an excellent hotel. It was very clean and comfortable and the service was very good. I found the price very reasonable considering the quality of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and I had no language problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and three of her friends spent three nights in Marseille in the middle of October. Looking at various mid-range hotels they decided to try out the Saint Ferreol. If you're looking for a tranquil but still very central hotel this is the place. Located on a pedestrian street the city noice is not disturbing at all. If shopping is on your agenda you will find Lafayette across the street and a multitude of shops next to the hotel. The rooms are small but clean, some already refurbished and some not. If possible, go for a refurbished room when you book. The others are ok but nothing more. Staff provides an excellent service, very attentative and helpful, always with a smile. The girls decided to have breakfast at various patisseries nearby instead of at the hotel. Not because the hotel breakfast wasn't ok, just to get closer to the Marseille lifestyle. There are several great restaurants in the close surroundings. If you're looking for a Michelin star restaurant there is one called Peron approx ½ hour walk from the hotel. However, the food and seaview from the restaurant is well worth the walk (and the money). There are currenly lots of restoring going on in Marseille preparing for the 2013 Capitale Européenne de la Culture. That includes some of the museums being closed as well due to this. Still Marseille is an interesting city to visit.

Room Tip: Try to book an already refurbished room. Seems to be level 3 and below, check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I found this hotel to be comfortable and welcoming, and definitely good value. It has a great location, very near the Vieux Port and Le Canebière, but on a small side street that isn't very noisy. The double-paned windows offer pretty good sound insulation as well, sufficient even during the Fête de la Musique. The standard room, while not huge, was larger than I'd expect for a French hotel at this price, and the shower would accommodate someone up to ~6'4" without problems (not always the case in France).

The staff were all welcoming, and kindly allowed me to use my mediocre French during my entire stay. (I did see one of the two primary mangers speaking with another guest in English, so I know he at least spoke good English.) The hotel does follow the annoying (but common in France) custom of making you drop off your key at reception any time you leave, but reception is staffed 24/7 (impressive for such a small hotel), so this isn't really a limitation. I didn't feel unsafe at night in this area, but obviously you'll want to take normal precautions for a big city.

The breakfast is nothing extraordinary, but is perfectly good: usual selection of hot drinks, bread, croissants, yogurt, cereal, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. I found it worth taking most days, and it's nice that they serve it for so long (7-11am), allowing an early start for a Calanques hike, or a lazy morning after a night out. One warning: if you make a reservation for a room including breakfast, they will charge you for breakfast every day, even if you don't take it. This was not made clear to me ahead of time.

WiFi reception was great in my room, and though there was a minor annoyance in having to get a new password for it every day, it worked fine, with good download speeds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Ferreol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Ferreol

Address: 19 rue Pisancon, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Ferreol 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint Ferreol hotel is situated in the very heart of Marseille, in the pedestrian street Saint Ferreol, close to the old port and nearby numerous shops.Central location for business trip : "Parc Chanot” convention center is very accessible either on foot or by bus (n°21) and underground ( Noailles line 2). “Palais du Pharo” convention center can be reached either on foot or by bus (n°83). You will be welcomed in our 19 recently renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saint Ferreol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Ferreol Hotel
Saint Ferreol Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Ferreol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.