We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just next to the harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port to your Saves list
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43, quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just next to the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a nice and friendly little hotel. Very centrally located at the harbor. The rooms are rather spacious and very clean. Bathroom with bathtub and shower. The bathtub is slightly elevated so people who have problems with their balance should be careful when stepping in or out of the bathtub. There was a small staircase leading up to the bathroom which was elevated maybe 50-60 cm above the bedroom. That was quite original and a nice design. The included breakfast is great. Scrambled eggs etc., pancakes with maple syrup (real syrup), yoghurt, bread of various kind, ham, cheese etc. I would stay here if I would return to Marseille. It is not a luxury hotel, but it is great for business people as well as for families.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the street, which I guess are more noisy. My room was facing the back side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    97
    58
    40
    23
See reviews for
21
106
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kerry ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

How this hotel got 4 stars I'll never know
Location right in the heart of Marseille is it's selling point and unfortunately the owners know that
This hotel is nothing more than a convenient crash pad
No bar service or gym and or pool facilities.
Not that I would know but I'd hazard a guess that jail cells in most democratic countries would have a better decor than the rooms there
Bed was cosy but the bathroom again was incredibly pokey to the point one could use the toilet, shower and wash basin all at the same time if needed
Use this hotel if you get stuck for accommodation at the last minute as we did
Outside of that shop around !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked room with Port View which is worth the extra, why stay on the waterfront if you can't see it. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room was big as advertised, excellent bathroom and very clean. Should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book the Port View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Location is excellent, close to bars, restaurants and harbour?

The bedroom was poor, with marked walls, small beds, old furniture and one of the dirtiest bathrooms I have seen in a hotel for years. The housekeepers and managers should be ashamed of the mould on the ceiling and tiles. The towels were also old and not very luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel on my first visist to Marseille. The location of the hotel is excellent, close to the Vieux Port Metro station. Although there is a lot going on right outside the hotel, our room was surprisingly quiet - but it did not face the harbour, but a side street. The room's size was ok, the bed was very good and the bathroom was clean.
We did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

First visit to Marseilles and booked a one night's stay at the Grand Tonic Hotel -it was so very disappointing. Room was advertised as "superior" however on arrival we were shown to a very small back room which was anything but "superior". Small, shabby, dark and dingy are the adjectives that spring to mind.
When we complained the receptionist said that had we wanted a better room we should have asked for a "privileged" room and not "superior" !.
Room was supposed to be suitable for disabled access - however the bathroom was so small I would be most surprised if you could manage to move a wheelchair around.
Hotel is situated at an excellent location at the Vieux port - but for the price they charged and the room/outlook we got - for me it was not value for money.
Breakfast was reasonable but staff seemed a bit over-worked.
Would definitely not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: At this hotel - Superior rooms actually mean basic - Privileged must mean slightly better ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in April 2013. We paid for a superior room, but the room was extremely small and 'tired'. Finish on furniture was chipped and burn marked and there was biro/pencil scrawl on the wallpaper above the bed. There were also fitments on the toilet seat missing. No problem with the staff, they were very pleasant and helpful and the cleanliness was fine. For a four star hotel, however, we felt that it did not come up to standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 43, quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the HEART of Marseille, on the Old Port, the Grand Tonic Hotel proposes to welcome you in 56 design rooms equipped with high-tech equipment: flat-faced screen LCD, Wi-Fi access, individual safe deposit box, mini bar, air-conditioning. In each bathroom, a whirlpool bath-tub invites you to the relaxation. In 16 of these rooms, with view, you can add the old port blue to the screen. You have also at your disposal at the Tonic Hotel 2 rooms of seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.