We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedrale de la Major

Cathedrale de la Major
Place de la Major, 13002 Marseille, France
04-91-90-53-57
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 94 Attractions in Marseille
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Merthyr Tydfil
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Enjoyable visit although could not find any information on the history of the building inside nor the usual postcards you tend to be able to buy. Looked it up when I came home and found out it was built around the largely demolished earlier cathedral and that this one dates from 1852 to 1896. Near port and restaurants worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    145
    43
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful building inside and out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We seen this beautiful cathadrel from our boat to the island of If. It looked fantastic. After our boat trip we we went up to notredame cathadrel by bus there and back and bus dropped us off right outside Cathedrale de la major. It looked just as fantastic close up. They are doing a lot of work outside which looking at the plans its going to be spectacular. We enjoyed our visit inside which was beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Only bother if you've time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

While its size is undeniably impressive, the building disappoints close up. Other than mosaic floors it is almost utilitarian inside. Not a great deal of atmosphere. Go to Notre Dame (on the hill) instead, it's in a different league.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“So..So...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Marseille was our first destination of Euro-trip on first week on June. As we seen in late evening, to be honest nothing special, But if you are in Marseille you have to see, just to tick in your travel map that you been there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Go here if nowhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

So beautiful and what I remember most of our walk through Marseille. Definitely worth a visit and so impressive. Even if you've seen a hundred cathedrals in Europe (and I've seen a lot) you will still be impressed by this magnificent place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedrale de la Major also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Cathedrale de la Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedrale de la Major, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.