We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Train Marseille

Petit Train Marseille
Harbour + Notre Dame de la Garde, Marseille, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 80 Activities in Marseille
Type: Scenic Railroads, Adventure
Attraction details
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

brilliant to go up the notre dame de la garde and to visit, it looks a bit touristy but this is what we are!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    116
    33
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Liked - good value (7 euros); English commentary; excellent route - along the Corniche and then up to the Notre Dame de la Garde. Trip duration includes a 20-25 minute stop at the church.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely route to Notre Dame and 25 minutes to look around before returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We used it for the circular route via Notre Dame. The route covered outbound took us on the coastal road, giving us a great view of the beaches and bays on that part of the coast.
We then had 25 minutes at the Basilique which for a general look around was enough.
The train stops running for a couple of hours in the middle of the day, so we didn't have the choice of waiting for a later train to return, but generally I believe that's an alternative for those who would like longer at the top. At the time of writing it costs 7 Euros for an adult
Would recommend

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Rude, bumpy, dangerous - avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We rode Le Petit Train as part of an excursion from our cruise ship. it seemed from the description like a pleasant way to learn about the city, and get a lift to the church on the hill. However, despite supposed to have been an exclusive train for the cruise ship, the proprietors insisted on cramming 4 to a bench (despite many being elderly people with sticks), and then crushed another group of people onto the train. The trip itself is a bumpy ride through some run down parts of Marseilles, with a recorded commentary barely audible above the traffic. Eventually the train arrives at the church - which is worth the view, but far better to pay a taxi to take you up direct. Then on the return journey, another train, also supposed to be exclusive and pre-booked, was also crammed full of people. Our local tour guide protested with the boarding controller at the church, but he was incredibly rude.

P&O quite rightly refunded all people on the excursion, and immediately suspended all further use of Le Petit Train for future cruises pending full investigation.

Save you money, spend it on a taxi.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OMG I went on a tourist train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ha ha, not usually our style, but it was an easy way to get to Notre Dame on the hill and just watch the ocean views. The annoying voice overs in multiple languages kind of ruin the ambience, but no way was I walking up that hill! Fun in a totally touristy way

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Train Marseille also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Petit Train Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Train Marseille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.