We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, good VFM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Marseille Centre Prado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Marseille Centre Prado to your Saves list
Mercure Marseille Centre Prado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Avenue de Mazargues, 13008 Marseille, France (Saint-Giniez)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #63 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, good VFM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I liked the Mercure Prado, although it was away from the happening Vieux Port. But walking distance from the metro and offering a decent breakfast. The polite staff that could speak in English and understand my broken French :)

When they realised that I had skipped dinner and reached the hotel past their fixed dinnertime, the chef was kind enough to go out of his way to send me a lovely mini-loaf of hot bread with some salmon. On the house!

I enjoyed my two days here.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    73
    64
    25
    7
See reviews for
18
73
21
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Want a hotel that has uncomforatble beds, lack of sound insulation, poor attention to detail, and even runs out of butter and hot dishes for breakfast! Then this is the place for you!
We were woken up every morning by movement in the corridor and general road noise outside, not that we slept as as the beds were between " rock and a hard place" with pillow cases that were too small for the pillows so therefore like laying your head on rolled up newspaper.
With breakfast the manager really didn't have an eye on the detail, from un ironed table cloths, running out of butter, cereal dispensers not working, hot food being cold or even not available!
Were not complainers and it wasn't one thing that spoilt our stay, just a general accumulation of bad points. I'm sure the're better places to stay out there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed there twice in early August. The corridor carpet on the 4th floor was disgusting, but the one the 3rd floor had been replaced. Both rooms were clean and did not smell of smoke - not bad for France. The AC could not cope with 30+ heat outside. Breakfast was very good. I would not have been amused if I had paid the rack price, but it was fair value for what I paid. Guest computer did not work, Very important in the days of forced airline web checkin - staff most unhelpful and told me to find a cybercfe in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

A very overpriced hotel, with insufficient maintenance.
To sum up my findings:
- Non-smoking room smelled like smoke, being blown in via the ventilation system in the bathroom from elsewhere in the hotel.
- Aircon did not respond to any of the buttons pressed.
- Thick layer of dust on shelves on the wall.
- No free WiFi or cable internet. Still had to pay (high!) fee per hours of use. For a room this price, you'd expect it to be free.
- Very low waterpressure in shower, shower head leaks and sprays against the wall, bathroom floor becomes swimming pool.

All little things perhaps, but to sum it up: For €150,- a night, one would expect a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

If you are going to a sporting event at the Velodrome - as we were - the hotel is in a good location and less than a 5 minute walk. We picked it based on this.

Check in staff generally helpful. Agree with the last review that the corridors are dirty - there was a pile of empty water bottles left on our floor through out our 3 night stay. Sheets are changed daily which is a plus points and rooms aren't too bad a size.

Where we were hugely let down was pure greediness of the hotel. I had booked over 1 year ago before they clocked on that it was the rugby world cup and had been quoted the normal rate of €120 per night. The night before we arrived I had a phone call from the hotel saying that they would be moving us to another hotel in Marseille as they hadn't received confirmation - I had called the central reservation number in the UK to double-check my booking prior to this - clearly the hotel were not informed and anyway their policy is that rooms will be held up until 18.00 on the day of the booking. Now Marseille is not a small place and they wouldn't tell me where .... I suspect it was out near the airport. I stuck to my guns and after numerous phonecalls to customer services they honored my booking.

Upon arrival to check in it became very apparent why they wanted to move us - they were now charging €250 a night! Yet another phonecall to customer services as they also tried to charge me the same rate.

Watch out for this and get a written communication rather than just a reference number.

I remained firm and got the rate that I had been quoted.

  • Liked — Location to the Velodrome
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from May 18th until the 21st of this year. The location, although away from the action (Vieux Port), is ok. The metro station is just 5 minutes from the hotel (walking). There are plenty of little pattiseries and restaurants closed by. Le Prado is a very nice residential area, and you can go for a stroll at any time (very safe to walk at almost all times). But aside from the location, the hotel is not really nice. For the price you pay there, you can get something better closer to the Vieux Port or within the Le Prado neighborhood. The aspect of the hotel is not good. I would say it looks dirty and somewhat wore out (it needs repairment quickly). The room is small, but it has a fairly big bathroom (France standards). The hallway is very dirty and it stinks like hell!!
Personnel is ok, they make an effort to speak to you in English and they do not mind talking to you in French, which is fine taking into consideration that I am a tourist with a very chapy French.
Breakfast is very very good (this is the best of the hotel) and is complimentary (better yet).
I wouldn´t recommend anyone staying at this hotel. Try to find something else.
Marseille is a very special city of France. I am sure you will find something else better.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — It is wore out and dirty
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Marseille Centre Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marseille Centre Prado

Address: 11 Avenue de Mazargues, 13008 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Saint-Giniez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marseille Centre Prado 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel featuring 100 airconditioned and soundproofed rooms. Ideally located only 200m from the Parc Chanot Conference and Exhibition Centre and the Rond Point du Prado metro station, the hotel is also within walking distance of the Prado beachesand theVelodrome Stadium. Meal service is available in rooms or even on the terrace. Other features include meeting rooms, business centre and indoor public pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Marseille Centre Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Marseille Prado Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Prado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Marseille Centre Prado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.