We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Save Saved
You added Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 La Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 123 hotels in Marseille
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Was welcomed by very nice and friendly lady upon check in. Room was OK. Not too big - but convenient. Clean. No alarm-clock, wake-up button on the remote control of TV does not work. Room was hot: although aircooling system set to lowest temperature, it kept on blowing warm air. Seemed a problem in more rooms. Opening the doors was only option for fresh and cool air. Construction works going on - from 07:00 AM until 00:00 PM. Noisy (even with doors closed) - but OK with earplugs.

Location is good: close to port, close to underground. Short walk to shoppingstreets.
Breakfast: at a first glance; it looks like a dessert buffet (pancakes, cakes, pies). Is simple but OK. Wireless internet works fine.

Check out went smooth. All together - you pay a fair price for a convenient stay,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Dircteur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear customer,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Escale Oceania Marseille. The wake-up is done by the phone, not on television. There is no air conditioning in November, only heating ... or nothing if you do not want heat.
All this is explained in the room directory in 4 languages ​​arranged on your desktop (brown binder) and the Reception is at your disposal for any information.
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    159
    29
    2
    6
See reviews for
35
158
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

At the edge of the Vieux Port, and literally beside the Metro Station, the location is unbeatable. Our room faced a side street, but it was still very noisy at night as we slept with the window ajar.

The rooms are spacious enough, and looks quite new and clean, though a big downside was the lack of an in-room safe.

The receptionist, Catherine, was extremely helpful, changing our dining reservation and providing advice on how to get around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel and we are pleased that your stay it is fine. Of course you have a safe deposit box at the front desk if you would like to place objects safe.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent 45 minutes driving around all the construction of Sept 2012 at the base of the old port Marseilles. Very frustrating especially since the 'map' sent with the reservations seemed to point to a location 2 blocks away. Thanks a lot, Hotel Escale Oceania. So, it wasn't cheap, it was difficult to get the key card to open the door, and the free internet access wouldn't work for 15 minutes. No breakfast included. The view is indirect; the hotel does not front on the port. The phone in the room had no directory and the 4 dedicated icon keys were ambiguous. The rooms were newly remodeled, but with pretty economical materials. Location was good right at the apex of the port. Easy walking, except for major construction, to many restaurants. Mixed emotions about staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear customer, we thank you for giving your opinion about the hotel.
We are sorry that you had trouble finding the hotel as it is located on the Canebière, Marseille's main avenue, in front of the tourist office as indicated on the plans, but maybe work in the area you have somewhat disoriented?
Wifi in hotel oceania call is free and will work and a few minutes after check-in.
On the desktop you have a room directory in four languages ​ that tells you useful numbers and services of the hotel.
In France, the breakfast is rarely included unless you go through a travel agency.
Hope to have helped you, we will be happy to welcome you during your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is situated right next to the subway. Great location if you want to travel by foot around most of the tourist spots.

Pros:
+ location (obviously)
+ clean
+ excellent staff

Cons:
- Nothing that comes to mind.
(-) The breakfast was no great. Not too much to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear customer, we thank you for giving your opinion about the hotel.
Our breakfast has evolved considerably in recent years and we will endeavor to improve, he went to Continental American buffet.
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This three star hotel feels more than that. Every staff member that we faced during our two days stay was exceptionally welcoming and ready to help. They all spoke good english and gave us a bunch of useful advises on touring the city. The location is five star (or will be when all the renovations in the city are over).
While rooms are very basic, the bathrooms are modern and stylish, while beds are comfortable. I liked that my room (and i think every room in the hotel) featured a big French window with a little balcony. Mine was overlooking the city and i think it was just as good as ones overlooking the bay. Was a little puzzled by the absence of a mini fridge and a teapot that this kind of hotels usually have.
The buffet breakfast was worth the money, it was simple but boasted everything that you need. If you are in the city for a couple of days and want to see as much as possible - Escale Oceania is highly recommended. For a longer stay you might want something a bit more cozy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The team thank you for your comments and hope to see you caring soon in Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

solo female traveler. so, i picked the hotel based entirely on location + convenience. it is right in front of vieux port metro station. Less than 5 min walking to all the restaurants. I recommend the hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear customer, we thank you for giving your opinion about the hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location was great. I went to Marseille by train from St. Charles station and tried to take a cab but the driver refused to take us probably because it was too close? and told us to take the metro instead. It was only two stops and the hotel was right infront of the metro exit so it was ok. The room was clean and modern with minimum space and amenities. If you're travelling alone and come back just to sleep, it's enough but I was traveling with a family member so we had to get another room. We had a booking through expedia cheap but we had to pay double that price for the second room. The female staff was friendly and helpful but another male staff was not helpful at all. I asked about the Calanque excursion which was on the city map ad that the hotel offered, but the guy just said "I don't know" and didn't try to make any effort to find out for me.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is on the 5th floor so if you don't want people walking by your room, you sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear customer, we thank you for giving your opinion about the hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 5 La Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marseille
#7 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#16 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.