We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Marseille Timone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Marseille Timone to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Marseille Timone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Chemin de l'Armee d'Afrique, 13005 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

From booking the hotel to leaving the experience was excellent. Camille gave me the exact details of how to arrive from the airport via bus and train with the prices. On arrival Clarisse gave a very warm welcome and I got my room straight away. the room was spotless - modern and colourful. very clean and comfortable - windows very clean too - flat screen TV - free wireless internet with fast connections - safe - lots of power points - free water and chocolate - nice bathroom - comfortable bed and cosy bedcovers. Breakfast room was small but breakfast food quality very good - have no faults - staff very nice and hotel very clean and comfortable. 5 mins walk from Metro, and 5 stops to Marseilles central ( 10 mins - cost 1.60 euros. )

Many people commented about noise - there is no noise - My room faced the large hospital and with your window closed you are noise free - perfect room as a/c and heat.

Negatives - was asked at checkin to call down to say when I was coming to breakfast - strange I thought - I didn't - I went at 730am and no problems !!! Housekeeping is not constant - first day my personal soap was taken !! Plastic cups were not replaced. Second day all my toilettes were moved to a different place and no water or chocolate. I think house keeping should be constant but no real complaints - when a hotel is so good you have to look deeper and find little things to improve on .....

Well done Ibis Styles - you sure have STYLE and wonderful staff ! Thank you !

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
32
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

In a odd part of Marseille but close to another Ibis and a big hospital I am never quite sure what to do in Timone. Metro 5 minutes walk, as is a couple of supermarkets and a big hospital but nothing else of interest in this area. Nothing to eat in the evenings unless you like kebab or pizza or eat from the supermarket.
Possible to walk to the old port in about 30 minutes or catch a tram also about 10 minutes walk away.The beach took me a bit more than a hour by foot.
Hotel a good class of Ibis, everything you would expect and includes breakfast although if you are not French after a week or two you are going to get really bored of the same breakfast every morning.
If you have a smart phone the internet will drive you crazy by logging off every 10 minutes but the laptop stayed logged in ok, the internet slows down in the evenings but still runs for most things.
Staff super friendly, free tea, coffee and sometimes some cake or some such available next to reception round the clock.

Room Tip: Try to get low floors, lift is slow and a queue in the morning will have you waiting but the stairs...
See more room tips
Green Features: Has a new policy of if you don't get your towels washed they will plant a tree somewhere, otherwise a normal hotel.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A little bit out of the way - but close to metro and short ride into the centre. Really very comfortable, clean and cheery - amazing what a little thought and design flair can do without putting the cost up - and still leave room for some nice little touches like free croissants and coffee...would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It was our first stay in an Ibis Styles, but we were positively surprised. The check-in went quick and friendly. The rooms where clean and had enough space. The beds where very comfortable. The location is good. Of course it is not the city center, but the metro is just a short walk away.
The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room is a bit tiny.

Room Tip: We had a family room, which means two rooms that share an separated hallway. So you can leave the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Ibis Styles Marseille Timone for one night as a stop over of our trip to French Riviera. The hotel is situated in an average area, next to 2 big hotels and it's about 3.5 km away from the Old Port. The best way to move around is by metro ( nearest station 5 min on foot). Our room was rather small, but clean and the bed was very very comfortable. The stuff was polite and helpful. The breakfast surprised us pleasantly: big range, very fresh and tasty, great bread, overall much better than you would expect in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A very nice budget-friendly hotel, as you can expect from a chain like Ibis.

The staff wasn't too exited but helpfull when needed.

The rooms and hallways live up thanks to the funky colors and nice paintings.

What parking is concerned: this isnt directly at the hotel, but a street away at the official Ibis Timone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I really don't have any complaint about the hotel. Good, clean and comfortable, near a subway station, so convenient. We were there just overnight for a concert. No restaurant on site (although sister Ibis hotel down the road does) but continental breakfast was included and OK. I'm glad I was there with my husband, because the neighborhood is...well...not leisure walking friendly. While in the daylight it's obviously not your family friendly spot, late at night, it's definitely not the kind of place I would feel comfortable walking alone. FYI, the nearest restaurants area is about 10-15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Marseille Timone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Marseille Timone

Address: 1-3 Chemin de l'Armee d'Afrique, 13005 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Marseille Timone 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the comfort and design, the newest hotel in Marseille Timone welcomes you 24/24. it has 51 design rooms, air-conditioned with safe. Upon awakening, a buffet breakfast, served at will, waiting for you to start the day, and the unlimited wifi. a modern and refined design, the hotel will be for you a comfortable and pleasant, situated in the heart of the wheelhouse. Our hotel is 10 minutes to the cycling stadium, 10 minutes dome marseille, 5 minutes from the palace of skiing, 15 minutes from the old port and 4 km from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Marseille Timone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Marseille Timone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.