We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Devine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Wow what a hotel, great location and staff and spa and pool and rooftop, sensational!! View is absolutely breathtaking over the harbour. Rooms are beautiful, whole experience is incredible. 5 nods out of 5.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
We warmly thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely happy that you spent a lovely stay among us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our house and all of its “sensational” atmospheres like our So Spa or our fantastic view over the harbour. We are also pleased to read that you liked our rooftop; this area is one of our last innovation and we are really glad that you had been seduced by this one. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We hope to welcome you again soon for another “incredible experience”.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    338
    100
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
662
73
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were first shown the rooms higher up, but there were small and did not smell so good. Then we got the biggest rooms on the 3rd floor with balcony. What a difference. Staff are very professional, service minded. Bar is a bit small and it is not so nice to walk downtown from the hotel due to traffic congestion, but view of vieux Port from room is magnificent.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you so much for taking time to share your comments. We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port and that you enjoyed our good location. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. For your next stay among us, do not hesitate to contact our reservation staff to know our room’s categories that we have to offer and to book the room perfectly matched with your needs.
Your feed back is very important and very useful to continue to offer high standards to our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The room was too small not what we usually stay in at this property, the receptionist was not responsive to our request to move us to a larger room even if it wasn't the same room that we normally stay in. We offered to pay more if we had to but she was ice cold with her reply. Our next trip to Marseille might be staying at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Your comments are very useful for us in order to improve the quality of our services. We are truly sorry to hear your stay was not as nice and pleasant as usual; we deplore to read that our receptionist had not been helpful, which is one of our most important value. However, during this season, our hotel is often full, that might explain our inability to upgrade you to a bigger room. We would love to have you stay in a room that matches your expectations.
We hope that in spite of your disappointments, you will give us another chance and that we will be pleased to welcoming you under better conditions.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked this hotel in advance through expedia, so got decent rates (still far expensive). However, the hotel, the location, and the service is top class.

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from Port Vieux metro and right next to Le Pharo.

We chose the non-port facing view (as it was additional 50 euros per day), the room was decent size, but the bath was enormous. Nice welcome gift for our daughter.

All staff without exception were smiling, courteous, and extremely helpful. Really made us feel very very welcome. Would love to stay again.

Two complaints though
1. The swimming pool wasn't working (it is at next door Novotel), but the reception wasn't aware. We went to Novotel and came back dry!

2. My wife wanted to book for a spa, but there were number of miscommunications (not because of language), between concergie, the spa attendant, and wife. My wife had to cancel the appointment once and then go back and forth twice the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated our location on top of the Old Port allowing you to discover Marseille. It is also truly a pleasure to read your words concerning the kindness of our staff; your satisfaction is our greatest reward. Nevertheless, we regret you didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy our swimming-pool, indeed it usually opens on mid-April. We also deeply regret the misunderstanding with the SPA which caused an impair to the quality of your stopover among us.
Your feed back is very important and very useful to continue to offer high standards to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you again under the beautiful sun of Marseille.
Best Regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The view from the top floor restaurant is outstanding - having breakfast on a sunny morning, it's difficult to tear yourself away. Location and service are very good, and the breakfast spread was excellent, with top quality bread and pastries, cheese, meats etc. The bed was also super comfy. So why only three stars? Other than the bed, the room was very average - pretty small, not much in the way of furniture, and while the bathroom had a huge bath, the decor was tired and the shower pretty poor. Wifi was patchy, and v little English language TV. If this was reflected in the price I would be more forgiving, but it's not - even a basic room is pricey for Marseille. So, if I come back, it's most likely to be for breakfast and the view, and I'll skip the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you so much for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled that you appreciated the location of our hotel giving on the magical panorama of the Vieux Port. It was also a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our staff’s helpfulness and the breakfast buffet which offers to our guests the French culinary experience with high quality products from the Mediterranean region.
However, we regret our room as well as the bathroom, didn’t match your expectations.
For your next stay, we invite you to take a look at all of our rooms categories. Indeed, some of them are specially designed with more space and a sophisticated decoration which may suit better your needs and desires.
We hope you will give the resort another chance next time you make your way to Marseille.
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Sofitel Marseille on a cold and rain drenched day. fortunately, we were upgraded to a beautiful room with a view of the port. Nice location..about a ten minute walk into the old town, shops and several great places to see. Breakfast was bountiful and the panoramic view was wonderful. Especially liked the shower with numerous sprayers!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated your "beautiful room" with the spa shower as well as our breakfast buffet, both providing you with a wonderful panoramic harbour view. Moreover, we are pleased that our location in the city center allowed you to discover all the hidden beauties of the phocean city.
Hoping to welcome you again, under the beautiful sun of Marseille this time,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.