We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh I miss this room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fernie, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Oh I miss this room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in a suite overlooking the port. The room was amazing. The entry had plenty of room for storage. Then entering the living room there was ample room to lounge, host a meeting, or have dinner in the room. As for the adjoining bedroom and bath it was all very luxurious and definitely 5 star. The bed was extremely comfortable and exactly what I expect at the Sofitel. Then the bathroom was lovely with heated towels, big oval tub and large glass enclosed separate shower. The hotel also supplies little extras like a candle, bath salts, and bubbles.

We were treated well. Each night the hotel treated us to some little treat at turn down.

The location was perfect for our conference next door at the Palais de
Phara. Plus the view from our room was stunning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 619
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Madam,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for the kindness of your writings. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort and the view on the Vieux Port from your “amazing” room. We are glad that you appreciated the hotel’s good location. Also, we are thrilled that you appreciated your suite and that you were sensible to the attentions that our hotel had for you. The whole team was touched that you felt well treated.
We hope to see you soon again in our phocean city.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    354
    106
    30
    21
See reviews for
154
709
78
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Aesthetically, I liked the polished, clubby vibe of this hotel in contrast to the grittiness of the Vieux Port. Views from the lobby and the pool to the port are amazing. Our room did not have a port view, and there is not anything at all to see on the other side….so if you are staying a while, I’d recommended springing for the view. We stayed on July 4th 2013, and the pool was gorgeous. It has a nice top tier where you can sit high above the water. The pool area does function a bit as a café, and lounge – so there were always a good amount of people dining and chatting on the pool-deck. (Fun vibe, but not zen) The gym was very nice, and empty – attached to the spa. The view from the gym looks into the port and there are some secret lounge chairs on the deck outside the gym. Its a good spot if you want a view all to yourself. It is a bit of a walk into the port itself – I’d say 15 to 20 min. Our visit was short, but yes, as other people mentioned, it could get a bit tiresome if you had to do the walk multiple times a day. It was easy and felt safe to walk to Rue Fortia for dinner. We did enjoy a disco-y, synth heavy lounge singer one evening in the lobby. On our second day, I enjoyed walking around the market stalls on the north end of the Old Port. In the evening we had a very pleasant walk west of the hotel, away from the Old Port to Restaurant Peron. (A ridiculously amazing meal at which I actually got a sunset-burn.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
We warmly thank you for this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you appreciated your stay in Marseille and our unique panorama over the Harbour. Our location, combining the advantages of being close to the city center while enjoying the calm of the Vieux Port is the perfect start for any visit… Moreover, we are happy that our pool and gym areas allowed you to spend some relaxing moments among us.
Looking forward to welcoming you for another “contemporary dig in the Old Port”,
Sincerely yours,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights & really liked the hotel. Very modern, clean & elegant. Service was super & installations very nice. Great spa, swimming pool & beach. Walking distance to the port restaurants & shopping. Great place to stay. The restaurant was fantastic with beautiful views of Marseille! The lobby bar has a jazz signer & good ambience.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
The whole team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port joins me to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for the kindness of your writings.
We are happy to know that you appreciated your stay in our “great” home. Our staff was very touched that you found the service “super”. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
Our chef Dominique Frérard was happy to know that you loved the quality of his cooking and the beautiful views of Marseille.
We are also delighted to know that you liked the proximity of the hotel from the restaurants and the shops on the Vieux Port. Finally, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the spa and the swimming pool, as much as our lobby bar.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for a few nights in late September. The room was a good size, well appointed and clean, pretty much as we expected. The view was lovely, as other reviews have mentioned.

We only had one meal in the hotel, so can't comment on the breakfast or dinner services. Our lunch experience was a little disappointing as we were limited to the pool side bar for lunch. The menu was fairly limited and the chairs weren't particularly comfortable.

What helped to make our stay at Sofitel such a good start to our holiday was the warm welcome from reception on arrival and the excellent service that the reception team provided. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Madam,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our “lovely view” on the Vieux Port. We hope that this situation allowed you to discover all the beauty of the harbour, curled up and relaxed in the comfort of your room.
Our receptionists were touched by the kindness of your writings which put their quality of service and their warm welcome forward. We think that our hosts deserve the best we can offer and we really want to create a unique relationship with every guest. You satisfaction is our best reward!
Nevertheless, we are sorry if your lunch at the Novotel’s restaurant did not meet your expectations; we can assure you that we will transmit your remarks to its management. During a future stay, we invite you to discover our bar Le Carré or our restaurant Les Trois Forts which belong to our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a new stopover in the heart of 2600 years of history.
Best regards,
Gersende Gueit, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of October 2013. Underground parking was included in the room rate. The hotel looks newly renovated. Rooms are well-laid out, very clean with spacious and modern bathroom facilities. Located within walking distance from the harbor and downtown it was a pleasure to get up in the mornings and stroll downtown for sightseeing and to have a bite to eat. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, making an effort to accommodate guests. We liked the Hotel and city and ended up extending our vacation stay for an extra night.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the web for the best deals. Our rate was 100 Euros below Hotel advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated our location in the heart of the city, which allowed you pleasant walks downtown. We are also thrilled that you liked your room where you were able to rest after long days of discoveries, as much as the bathroom and its spaciousness. Our staff was very touched by the kindness of your comments which highlighted their friendliness and helpfulness. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We hope to welcome you again soon to let you discover the rest of Marseilles’ treasures.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Travelled at the end of July. the swimming Pool was not very Clean. The staff in the near pool restaurant were Rude and not very accommodating. Main restaurant was closed with no prior warning. We're told our room was not ready then neglected after numerous requested to tell us it was ready. Having stayed at a lot of Sofitel's this was a great disappointment. Will not be returning a real shame!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
We regret to read about such a disappointment regarding your stopover in our hotel. We always attach a high importance to our customers’ feelings. We are sincerely sorry if your experience at the pool as at the restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please believe that we have transmitted your remarks to the Novotel’s management that takes care of these services.
Also, we are deeply saddened that you have experienced a long wait for your room and that our teams gave you the impression of being neglected. We want every guest to feel special and welcome; we regret that you did not feel these engagements. We hope that one day we will regain your trust.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel and facilities. Staff are lovely and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and lovely views.

Very Expensive but you get what you pay for and this lived up to the cost.

OH, The restaurant and Breakfast which are held in the same place are out of this world with loads of choice.

Room Tip: ASk for a port view as its the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay in our home and that all our services suited you needs, especially our buffet breakfast in our restaurant “Les Trois Forts”.
Thanks to its panoramic view on the Vieux Port of Marseille, sitting in a relaxing atmosphere, this trip makes one, who desires to start his day “out of space time”, travel.
Therefore we are very delighted that you were touched by the hotel’s atmosphere, as well as by the kindness of our ambassadors who take great pleasure in welcoming guests from around the world.
Hoping to welcome you again in the South of France,
Sincerely,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.