We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel within walking distance of the old port. It looks a bit worn from the outside but sparkles inside and offers superb customer service. Check-in and check-out was extremly smooth, with the most smiles I have seen at a French hotel. My room did not face the port, which I knew before, but was not much of a problem. I would have probably been tempted to book a port-view room if it had had a balcony. The room was nicely appointed, and especially the bathroom with the rainforest shower was a hit. Wifi was fast and reliable, and free. My only concern was the bed, which was on the supersoft side. This made sleeping a bit tough for me. The pool was great; duirng my stay, there were ample empty chairs available to pick and chose.

Taxi from and to the airport on weekends or during night hours is about €60; a bit steep but very fast.

The "Trois Forts" restaurant is very good. Breakfast costs are too high though; I always walked to a cafe/bar half a block away where I could enjoy a good coffee and croissant, for €4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and its unique view on the Vieux Port. For your next stay in Marseille we hope that you will choose a room with a balcony offering a magnifique panorama with the ballet of boats, going in and out of the harbour… We dispose of various room’s categories: classics, superiors with view, suites and deluxe with balcony or terrace. Do not hesitate to contact our Reservation Manager who will be delighted to guide you. Besides, we are elated that you liked the comfort of your room and the rainfall shower for a moment of relaxation. Our teams were also very touched by the kindness of your words mentioning that we were the hotel with the most smiles in France; your satisfaction is our best reward!
Nevertheless, we are really disappointing that you did not like the bed and we propose you for your next stay to tell, during the reservation, that you will preferred a harder bed and we will change the mattress for you to be sure that you will pass a beautiful night.
We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next visit in the south of France.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    330
    99
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
647
71
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is definitely a place to stay, it is modern with beautiful view, the staff was professional, helpful, friendly and courteous. Everything was well presented and spic 'n span from the lobby to the room.
The bed was with an extra thick and soft goose down mattress which was so comfortable just like sleeping on clouds:-). The towels and bathrobes were white and clean without any dust and smells form the cleaning products. The bathroom was well stocked with Hermēs products and new towels were provided and room was tidied up at turndown service.
Our room didn't have the great view of the port but we sure enjoyed it at breakfast though. Their breakfast buffet tables were abundantly filled with so many fresh items and very pleasing to the eyes. But best of all, the panoramic view of the old port from the breakfast room, made me enjoyed breakfast even more than usual.

Having said all that, there were two things I didn't like: firstly it was the valet parking, they were not on top of things when we pulled up and waited behind 2 cars and they didn't even notice our arrival until I got out the car and flag one of the guys down, not very classy like the place I must say. However, once we got their attention, they were very prompt at taking care of our luggage and car.
Secondly, the hot water in the shower was not hot enough, it was lukewarm even though we turned it to the max. Luckily the weather was not cold otherwise it would have been disastrous....

Apart from those two things, everything was superb and highly recommended.

Double room runs €300 and breakfast is €26.

(Marked the Spa by mistake, couldn't unmark it:-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very thrilled to read that you appreciated your stay among us with the beautiful view on the harbour.
Our teams were very touched by the kindness of your comment evoking their professionalism, helpfulness, friendliness and courtesy. They work harder everyday to offer you the best quality of services. Your satisfaction is their best reward!
We are also very happy that you enjoyed our bedding MyBed and that you found it so comfortable you felt like you were “sleeping on clouds”. We must admit that we have designed it to provide a little cocoon of sweetness, so we can not be gladder after reading your note!
Finally, we are pleased that you liked our breakfast and bathroom. We hope that these experiences will leave you with beautiful memories of your stopover in Marseille.
Nevertheless, we regret that our valet service did not meet your expectations. In this period, there is a high demand and they are sincerely doing their best to avoid waiting times; we are very sorry for this inconvenience.
Besides, we are saddened that the water temperature did not provide you with the best comfort. We want every guest to spend a moment of relaxation in our facilities and deplore when it does not occur. We invite you to contact our technical staff during your next stay if it happens again.
Hoping to welcome you again soon for a new trip in the south of France,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the Renault Velsatis of hotels . Has all the things to tick all the boxes looks pretty good but in reality the whole place fails

Firstly valet parking , tiny area jammed up with taxis waited 20 mins for anyone to take the car.

Checkin slowed up by IT failure

One of three lifts doesnt work so endless wait for lift

The shower everything counter intuitive.....very French you turn taps wrong way and getting hot water extremely difficult

Lumpy bed

But yes the toiletries we very nice

For over 300 euros a night i will give a miss next time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely saddened to read that your stay among us did not meet your expectations. We are deeply sorry for the disappointment caused by some of our services. We have well taken into account your remarks and have transmitted them to the departments concerned. Regarding our bedding Mybed, which is usually appreciated by our guests, we regret that you could not enjoy a moment of rest in the little cocoon of sweetness we wanted it to be.
We hope that, despite these inconveniences, you spent a pleasant stay in the heart of Marseille. Hoping to welcome you again soon to prove you that your experience is totally unusual in our home.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow. Just finished a two day trip to marseille staying at the Sofitel and I could not be more impressed.

We had a room with a balcony looking directly down the port. The view is amazing. With so much going on there you could spend a lot of time on the balcony just watching life of the port.

The rooms were spotless and the bathrooms well stocked. Towels were always replaced in the evening and the room freshened. Staff were also very helpful.

We ate at the restaurant which was also very good (and an even better view). The cheese at the end was probably the highlight with a large selection of regional cheeses to choose from.

Overall it's tough to fault the Sofitel and will certainly stay there if given the chance.

One more thing, Marseilles seems to get an incredibly bad view from people who have not been there. This just is not the case! People were warm and friendly and would all speak English if required. The port is picturesque and the view from then basicalla is amazing. We always felt very safe there too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Madam, Sir,
We warmly thank you for this lovely review. We are sincerely happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us and that you enjoyed our beautiful city. We are glad that our panoramic view amazed you and that you appreciated the ballet of boat going in and out of the old port…
Moreover, we are proud that our staff incarnates the values of helpfulness and courtesy which are standards of Sofitel. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
Looking forward to impress you again,
Warm regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The most perfect spot in town, wonderfully styled and so so comfortable - we had room with balcony looking onto harbour, the bathroom was the best ever seen - Hermes goodies, fluffy towels and the biggest deepest bath. Staff are helpful and polite, if a little to helpful in pushing the food and drinks offers within the hotel at check in.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you appreciated our location in the heart of our sunny city, the comfort and the style of our hotel, inspired by the Mediterranean Sea. Besides, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your balcony room in front of the magical sight of the harbour. We are also very touched by the kindness of your words about our bathroom, which was for you “the best ever seen”. Every detail has been studied to ensure your well-being, like if you were in a cocoon out of time.
If our staff has been helpful and polite, we are sincerely sorry if you felt like “a push” to the food and drinks offers; we just want our guests’ to be well welcome and informed on the hotel’s services.
Hoping to welcome you again soon for a new moment of relaxation, with the smell of the Hermes products, in our “biggest deepest bath”…
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent position , sharing the pool facilities with the adjoining Novotel was unexpected (perhaps we didnt read the info well enough) but worked ok - although perhaps the pool area is a little small in consideration of the size of the combined hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Madam, Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you appreciated our location, in the heart of Marseille’s 2600 years history.
Nevertheless, we regret that the size of the swimming pool did not meet your expectations; our concierges will be delighted to guide you towards a private sport club adjoining the hotel, to enjoy a privileged moment. We hope that despite this, you spent a pleasant moment among us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here in late July for 4 nights. Had booked a harbour view balcony room after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The usual excellent Sofitel room, including THAT bed, plus very comfy seating and a great bathroom, with a huge bath and rainfall shower; very nice indeed. And an excellent tea/coffee machine.
The hotel confused me at first, as it's on the side of a hill so we went down to our rooms, which I didn't notice, so got in the left, pressed down and ended up in the garage! Soon got my bearings though. It's a 15 minute walk into town, around the marina, but is a nice stroll. Being a 5 star everything is quite expensive. Couldn't bring myself to pay 26 euros for breakfast, no matter how good the reviews, so a walk into town and 8 euros for a continental breakfast did us nicely.
I think the most annoying thing about the stay was that the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. Why does a top-class hotel, with a renowned restaurant, close during the busiest time of the year? Surely they could have waited until the low season? One night we were very tired and decided to eat in and the food, although ok, was very limited in range and extraordinarily pricey. It was very disappointing. However, the staff at the hotel are fantastic, and I still love the Sofitel brand. I have stayed at many and will continue to do so.
We travelled from the UK by train, Eurostar to Paris and then duplex TGV to Marseille. It's only 3 hours from Paris to Marseille and is the most relaxing way to travel that I can think of. First-class, top deck, table for two, with pastries, baguettes, wine and a good book. The best way to pend 3 hours I can think of.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms with a harbour view are wonderful. There's always something going in or out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and its unique view on the Vieux Port. We are thrilled that you could enjoy the panorama from your balcony with the ballet of boats, going in and out of the harbour… Besides, we are elated that you liked the comfort of your room, the rainfall shower for a moment of relaxation, and our bedding MyBed which is for us a promise of a sweet sleep. Our teams were very touched by the kindness of your words mentioning that they “are fantastic”; your satisfaction is their best reward!
Neverthless, we understand your disappointment and are saddened that you could not have the possibility to taste the cooking of our Chef Dominique Frérard because of the refurbishment. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon to experience the Mediterranean flavors of our restaurant Les Trois Forts, in front of the beautiful view,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Responsable Qualité
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#2 Family Hotel in Marseille
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Otel, getaroom.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.