We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A triumph of style over substance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUPER SALES : 30% OFF
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“A triumph of style over substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the Renault Velsatis of hotels . Has all the things to tick all the boxes looks pretty good but in reality the whole place fails

Firstly valet parking , tiny area jammed up with taxis waited 20 mins for anyone to take the car.

Checkin slowed up by IT failure

One of three lifts doesnt work so endless wait for lift

The shower everything counter intuitive.....very French you turn taps wrong way and getting hot water extremely difficult

Lumpy bed

But yes the toiletries we very nice

For over 300 euros a night i will give a miss next time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely saddened to read that your stay among us did not meet your expectations. We are deeply sorry for the disappointment caused by some of our services. We have well taken into account your remarks and have transmitted them to the departments concerned. Regarding our bedding Mybed, which is usually appreciated by our guests, we regret that you could not enjoy a moment of rest in the little cocoon of sweetness we wanted it to be.
We hope that, despite these inconveniences, you spent a pleasant stay in the heart of Marseille. Hoping to welcome you again soon to prove you that your experience is totally unusual in our home.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    333
    99
    29
    18
See reviews for
142
658
73
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow. Just finished a two day trip to marseille staying at the Sofitel and I could not be more impressed.

We had a room with a balcony looking directly down the port. The view is amazing. With so much going on there you could spend a lot of time on the balcony just watching life of the port.

The rooms were spotless and the bathrooms well stocked. Towels were always replaced in the evening and the room freshened. Staff were also very helpful.

We ate at the restaurant which was also very good (and an even better view). The cheese at the end was probably the highlight with a large selection of regional cheeses to choose from.

Overall it's tough to fault the Sofitel and will certainly stay there if given the chance.

One more thing, Marseilles seems to get an incredibly bad view from people who have not been there. This just is not the case! People were warm and friendly and would all speak English if required. The port is picturesque and the view from then basicalla is amazing. We always felt very safe there too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Madam, Sir,
We warmly thank you for this lovely review. We are sincerely happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us and that you enjoyed our beautiful city. We are glad that our panoramic view amazed you and that you appreciated the ballet of boat going in and out of the old port…
Moreover, we are proud that our staff incarnates the values of helpfulness and courtesy which are standards of Sofitel. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
Looking forward to impress you again,
Warm regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The most perfect spot in town, wonderfully styled and so so comfortable - we had room with balcony looking onto harbour, the bathroom was the best ever seen - Hermes goodies, fluffy towels and the biggest deepest bath. Staff are helpful and polite, if a little to helpful in pushing the food and drinks offers within the hotel at check in.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you appreciated our location in the heart of our sunny city, the comfort and the style of our hotel, inspired by the Mediterranean Sea. Besides, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your balcony room in front of the magical sight of the harbour. We are also very touched by the kindness of your words about our bathroom, which was for you “the best ever seen”. Every detail has been studied to ensure your well-being, like if you were in a cocoon out of time.
If our staff has been helpful and polite, we are sincerely sorry if you felt like “a push” to the food and drinks offers; we just want our guests’ to be well welcome and informed on the hotel’s services.
Hoping to welcome you again soon for a new moment of relaxation, with the smell of the Hermes products, in our “biggest deepest bath”…
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent position , sharing the pool facilities with the adjoining Novotel was unexpected (perhaps we didnt read the info well enough) but worked ok - although perhaps the pool area is a little small in consideration of the size of the combined hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Madam, Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you appreciated our location, in the heart of Marseille’s 2600 years history.
Nevertheless, we regret that the size of the swimming pool did not meet your expectations; our concierges will be delighted to guide you towards a private sport club adjoining the hotel, to enjoy a privileged moment. We hope that despite this, you spent a pleasant moment among us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here in late July for 4 nights. Had booked a harbour view balcony room after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The usual excellent Sofitel room, including THAT bed, plus very comfy seating and a great bathroom, with a huge bath and rainfall shower; very nice indeed. And an excellent tea/coffee machine.
The hotel confused me at first, as it's on the side of a hill so we went down to our rooms, which I didn't notice, so got in the left, pressed down and ended up in the garage! Soon got my bearings though. It's a 15 minute walk into town, around the marina, but is a nice stroll. Being a 5 star everything is quite expensive. Couldn't bring myself to pay 26 euros for breakfast, no matter how good the reviews, so a walk into town and 8 euros for a continental breakfast did us nicely.
I think the most annoying thing about the stay was that the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. Why does a top-class hotel, with a renowned restaurant, close during the busiest time of the year? Surely they could have waited until the low season? One night we were very tired and decided to eat in and the food, although ok, was very limited in range and extraordinarily pricey. It was very disappointing. However, the staff at the hotel are fantastic, and I still love the Sofitel brand. I have stayed at many and will continue to do so.
We travelled from the UK by train, Eurostar to Paris and then duplex TGV to Marseille. It's only 3 hours from Paris to Marseille and is the most relaxing way to travel that I can think of. First-class, top deck, table for two, with pastries, baguettes, wine and a good book. The best way to pend 3 hours I can think of.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms with a harbour view are wonderful. There's always something going in or out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and its unique view on the Vieux Port. We are thrilled that you could enjoy the panorama from your balcony with the ballet of boats, going in and out of the harbour… Besides, we are elated that you liked the comfort of your room, the rainfall shower for a moment of relaxation, and our bedding MyBed which is for us a promise of a sweet sleep. Our teams were very touched by the kindness of your words mentioning that they “are fantastic”; your satisfaction is their best reward!
Neverthless, we understand your disappointment and are saddened that you could not have the possibility to taste the cooking of our Chef Dominique Frérard because of the refurbishment. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon to experience the Mediterranean flavors of our restaurant Les Trois Forts, in front of the beautiful view,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Responsable Qualité
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a mixed stay here. It started off as a 1 night business trip and became 2 nights. We changed room from 'classic' to 'superior' on the second night as we were told there was a 'noisy' party that night on our side of the hotel. That would have been good except in fact they moved us to the noisy side. Stiil at least they tried. Anyway the 'classic room is good enough with the usual sofitel excellent bed and a large double bathtub. No view though. The superior room is a little bigger with a killer Port view. No bathtub though and a slightly odd window between the shower and the room so you can perv your mrs showering if you wish. Not worth the nearly €200 extra for the superior room in my opinion unless the view really bothers you. Otherwise the room etc all good, although Sofitel are pushing the edge of what they can reasonably charge for this product. The receptionists are useless and all appear to be ex McDonalds except one called Olivia who was excellent. The other staff try very hard. The rooftop restaurant (reviewed separately) is excellent and the lobby one very mediocre with waitresses who proudly announce they're new. Nice enough, sure, but really the service is well below standard, and the food is ordinary. The valet service takes ages to bring your car (as their car park is in Toulon) and the spa (excellent) / pool / terrace appears to be shared with the Novotel which is attached. We had trouble with the movies on the Tv and the hot water was off for planned maintenance for 4 hours. The laundry service is great, quick and cheap. Still a comfortable hotel and overall a good experience, although I wonder if I am there again for work, I might save the company €500 and stay in the Novatel and go to the roof in the sofitel for dinner! If you are there recreationally, the sofitel is probably the way to go. Be warned, this is not a 5 star hotel in the Grand style but does have all the necessary amenities for that rating, and Sofitel regulars will have no surprises. I will rate it V Good with a few reservations!!

Room Tip: Dont upgrade to a superior room unless the view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to read that you had a “good experience” in our hotel and that you appreciated its comfort. Besides, we are glad that you enjoyed our rooms, the double bathtub and our bedding MyBed which aim at offering a cocoon of sweetness for a peaceful rest. We were also thrilled to read your note about our So Spa and laundry, your satisfaction is our best reward! Finally, we were elated that you liked our restaurant Les Trois Forts (we will also answer to your separated review). Nevertheless, we deeply regret that your experience at our bar Le Carré and with the valet service did not meet your expectations. These departments usually enjoy a good reputation; we regret that you did not have this feeling. Please believe that these situations are exceptional as we set high standards for all our services. Likewise, we were saddened that you did not feel in our receptionists the professionalism and the efficiency which usually characterize this team. Lastly, we are sincerely sorry for the mistake concerning the “noisy side” of the hotel during your stay; we hope that despite this fact you had an pleasant sleep.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a stopover without any reservations and offering you irreproachable services!
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Luxurious, modern hotel with every amenity except a proper swimming pool or outdoor terrace. Imagine the world and his wife around a postage stamp of a pool which actually belongs to the adjacent Novotel. Bit of a poor show and very disappointing for a five-star hotel in this location.
However, the rooms are excellent, wonderfully comfy Sofitel signature beds, great Hérmes toiletries and an exceptionally good buffet breakfast, luckily included in our room rate, otherwise 26€ per person. Fantastic views of the old fort and harbour from the 7th floor breakfast room, but the restaurant in the evening is very expensive and there are a lot of other options around the old port. Nice spa/gym area, but a bit on the small side.
Staff all very friendly and courteous, especially the conciegerie and valet parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,
We warmly thank you for this lovely review. We are sincerely happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us. We are glad that our panoramic view amazed you and that you enjoyed the ballet of boat going in and out of the old port…
Moreover, we are proud that our staff incarnates the values of helpfulness and courtesy which are standards of Sofitel. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
However, to make up for your disappointment regarding the pool, our concierges will be happy to guide you towards a private sports club, adjoining the hotel for a relaxing moment for a new trip in the south of France.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.