We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've only been there for a short while, for a drink, but was truly fascinated by the level of sophistication this hotel offers. And the view over the port is truly amazing. While drinking coffee, we would enjoy a panoramic view of the entire "old port", with its ships and monuments.
The decoration of the hotel is very modern and is a great contrast with the surronding centuries old buildings and monuments every large windows gives you a view over.
A five stars hotel wich truly deserves each one of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Madam,
I’m deeply affected by your emphatic terms which are absolutely necessary for us in our quest for excellence. The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port appreciates that you had a pleasant time in our panoramic bar, and also the design which captivated you. Indeed, the new Hotel settings made by two architects, Marc Hertrich and Nicolas Adnet, pay tribute to our dear Mediterranean Sea.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    337
    100
    30
    18
See reviews for
142
662
73
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to this hotel several times. Good bar section at the pool in summer. Staff are helpful and courteous. Check thw lunch menu and take a walk to the vieux port and la canebiere ou take a ferry to Monte crito Island.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and for your nice comments about our ambassadors. When you eventually come back, do not hesitate to ask our concierges about other ideas for walks and wonders in order to discover the beautiful hidden places in marseille. We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port.
King Regards,
Marjory Lecuelle
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you have to stay in Marseilles, - and I personally plan to never return to that city, the only city I visitied in France to which I would never return - then stay here.
This is a beatiful hotel with gorgeous rooms, and friendly service. The hotel is an oasis in a dirty, grimy, and somewhat hostile to foreign tourists city.
Sleep quality, cleanliness were top notch. Breakfast in the restaurant upstairs was good.
Just stay away from their formal dining (Les Trois Forts) restaurant - terrible, overpriced food. (I wrote a separate review on that nightmare experience)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Guest Experience Assistant at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all we would like to thank you for your great comments about our hotel. We are deeply sorry that the city of Marseille seemed so awful in your eyes. We know that our city gives a bad image of itself with its problems of dirtiness and other defaults but we can assure you that some large investments are currently being made, especially now that Marseille has become the European Capital of Culture for the year of 2013, in order to reduce these defaults. There will soon be new museums; the old port is being re-fashioned in order to be more welcoming and new security measures are being taken in order to make the city much safer for everybody.
We thank you again for your comments and we hope you can come back to our hotel in order to discover the good sides of our city.
King regards
Marjory Lecuelle
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for four nights in august 2012. The hotel is really excellent. Staff is friendly, service-minded and very helpful. Rooms are great, and the view overlooking the Vieux-Port from our terrace is beatiful. Breakfast from roomservice at the terrasse were a treat.

The rooftop resturant is very expensive, but worth a visit. The tapas in the bar is good as well. There is also a lot of very nice resturants within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast in the Sofitel resturant did also meet all our already high expectations.

Rooms are great, and the bathroom and amenities fantastic. I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
It was with great pleasure and pride that we read your comments and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy that the hotel’s staff and services suited your desires and I can assure you that we will keep on working to keep our performances up and to keep your satisfied.
King Regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went there with my family, very good location
Beautiful view and there is also a balcony with loungers in the room , but you might ask for it i think
There is a lot of restaurant and even a beautiful park just behind this park the pharo has a big mansion offered to Napoleon'wife it is so beautiful to sit there and see all the ship come and go... loved it. be careful though Marseille is a nice place but the people not so nice!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a terrace or balcony with loungers and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel and were able to make the most of its stunning surroundings and explore the neighbouring historic sites. The people of Marseille are usually a warm and welcoming population, similar to most southern inhabitants. We therefore hope that if you have the chance to return to our city, you will discover this inner charm that may not be visible in everyone!
Thankyou for your lovely comments, we would be glad to see you very soon!
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port in June 2012 for two nights. The Reception staff were all extremely friendly, efficient and courteous and made you feel welcome. The Concierge was only too willing to assist us with any questions we had.
We had a room overlooking the Vieux-Port; views from our terrace were beautiful. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom well stocked.
Drinks and tapas in the bar were good and once again the staff we friendly.
The hotel is located in a good position with easy access to the Port.
We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the hotel to our friends and should we ever visit Marseille again would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Terrace room overlooking Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your great comments about our hotel. We are sincerely happy that everything we have to offer fitted your demands and we really hope that we’ll have the chance to welcome you again in our great city of Marseille.
King regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Decided to stay at this hotel because of good reviews and a view everybody was talking about. After my 2 nights stay in Marseille I would say that Sofitel is a right place to stay. Not forget the view – it was really to die for.

The hotel is located above Old Port providing magnificent views over that port. However one may need a taxi to get there from Marseille Train Station (Gare Saint Charles). The check in was fast and pleasant: the reception girl even showed us the way to the room to check if everything is okay. The room was modern decorated with large panno on the wall and window between shower and the rest of the room. That window allows seeing Vieux Port while taking a shower. For more privacy the window could be blinded by Venetian blind. Free Wi-Fi, not super fast, but reliable. For a faster connection a cable could be used (free) or special paid W-Fi service. What I like the most is a rain shower and the comfiest bed ever.

We made a reservation for a dinner at Sofitel’s restaurant Les Trois Forts. And dinner was above any expectation: wise wine list, luxurious service, attentive wait staff, and mouthwatering dishes with marvelous presentation. The chef mistakenly sent out medium well filet mignon instead of medium rare. Once I noticed that the new dish flew to me in a minute. And it was perfectly done. The breakfast the next morning was all about awe-inspiring views of gorgeous sunlit Marseille perspective and ultimate quality and cooking style of products. The scrambling eggs were just perfect. It was a Christmas time and there was a table aside with local Christmas specialties. Once you come to Sofitel try not to miss the breakfast!

The hotel features a spa with treatments, hammam, sauna and large Jacuzzi. During my visit this place was a bit crowded but still relaxing. Massage water pipe in the Jacuzzi was a good treat for my back. Sauna is large enough as well as hammam.

The lobby bar adjacent to reception was a smart place for an evening cocktail or quick midnight snack in French ambiance. The cocktails were quite creative both with ingredients and presentation. Live music performed by a nice couple gave unrivalled backdrop for a superb evening.

Room Tip: Vieux Port view is to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Quality Assistant at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am very happy that you appreciated your stay, the quality of services and of your equipments.
I would like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and especially about the restaurant “Les Trois Forts”. Our chef Dominique Frerard is passionate about his work and strives everday to make you discover our region’s excellents products. Our goal is to provide the best service possible to all our clients and to make you feel at home when you stay with us.
The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port, also thanks you warmly for the kindness of your words.
We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel in order to give you another wonderful “Provencal experience”.
King regards,
Marjory Lecuelle
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.