We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“superb view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went there with my family, very good location
Beautiful view and there is also a balcony with loungers in the room , but you might ask for it i think
There is a lot of restaurant and even a beautiful park just behind this park the pharo has a big mansion offered to Napoleon'wife it is so beautiful to sit there and see all the ship come and go... loved it. be careful though Marseille is a nice place but the people not so nice!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a terrace or balcony with loungers and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel and were able to make the most of its stunning surroundings and explore the neighbouring historic sites. The people of Marseille are usually a warm and welcoming population, similar to most southern inhabitants. We therefore hope that if you have the chance to return to our city, you will discover this inner charm that may not be visible in everyone!
Thankyou for your lovely comments, we would be glad to see you very soon!
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    329
    99
    27
    17
See reviews for
138
647
71
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port in June 2012 for two nights. The Reception staff were all extremely friendly, efficient and courteous and made you feel welcome. The Concierge was only too willing to assist us with any questions we had.
We had a room overlooking the Vieux-Port; views from our terrace were beautiful. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom well stocked.
Drinks and tapas in the bar were good and once again the staff we friendly.
The hotel is located in a good position with easy access to the Port.
We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the hotel to our friends and should we ever visit Marseille again would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Terrace room overlooking Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your great comments about our hotel. We are sincerely happy that everything we have to offer fitted your demands and we really hope that we’ll have the chance to welcome you again in our great city of Marseille.
King regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Decided to stay at this hotel because of good reviews and a view everybody was talking about. After my 2 nights stay in Marseille I would say that Sofitel is a right place to stay. Not forget the view – it was really to die for.

The hotel is located above Old Port providing magnificent views over that port. However one may need a taxi to get there from Marseille Train Station (Gare Saint Charles). The check in was fast and pleasant: the reception girl even showed us the way to the room to check if everything is okay. The room was modern decorated with large panno on the wall and window between shower and the rest of the room. That window allows seeing Vieux Port while taking a shower. For more privacy the window could be blinded by Venetian blind. Free Wi-Fi, not super fast, but reliable. For a faster connection a cable could be used (free) or special paid W-Fi service. What I like the most is a rain shower and the comfiest bed ever.

We made a reservation for a dinner at Sofitel’s restaurant Les Trois Forts. And dinner was above any expectation: wise wine list, luxurious service, attentive wait staff, and mouthwatering dishes with marvelous presentation. The chef mistakenly sent out medium well filet mignon instead of medium rare. Once I noticed that the new dish flew to me in a minute. And it was perfectly done. The breakfast the next morning was all about awe-inspiring views of gorgeous sunlit Marseille perspective and ultimate quality and cooking style of products. The scrambling eggs were just perfect. It was a Christmas time and there was a table aside with local Christmas specialties. Once you come to Sofitel try not to miss the breakfast!

The hotel features a spa with treatments, hammam, sauna and large Jacuzzi. During my visit this place was a bit crowded but still relaxing. Massage water pipe in the Jacuzzi was a good treat for my back. Sauna is large enough as well as hammam.

The lobby bar adjacent to reception was a smart place for an evening cocktail or quick midnight snack in French ambiance. The cocktails were quite creative both with ingredients and presentation. Live music performed by a nice couple gave unrivalled backdrop for a superb evening.

Room Tip: Vieux Port view is to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Quality Assistant at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am very happy that you appreciated your stay, the quality of services and of your equipments.
I would like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and especially about the restaurant “Les Trois Forts”. Our chef Dominique Frerard is passionate about his work and strives everday to make you discover our region’s excellents products. Our goal is to provide the best service possible to all our clients and to make you feel at home when you stay with us.
The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port, also thanks you warmly for the kindness of your words.
We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel in order to give you another wonderful “Provencal experience”.
King regards,
Marjory Lecuelle
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Magnificent view of the port both from the room and the rooftop restaurant; great location by the conference center and easy access to the Vieux-Port area; rental mopeds for touring around. This Hotel could be magnificent! But, taken as a whole, the experience was just above mediocre. For example, the poolside restaurant is "owned by someone else" and the rudeness of the staff was "out of our control". The outdoor pool was dirty and small. The room felt crowded even for a hotel in France. The staff was pleasant but distracted. We left after two nights and spent the rest of our time at a wonderful hotel a mile away on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our short stay at this Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port was very pleasant. Valet service was efficient. The young lady at Reception was professional and courteous.
Our room with a terrace was spacious, clean, well appointed, overlooking the Vieux-Port... what a beautiful view!
They told us they won a price for best breakfast in France - it was indeed excellent.
We have only good comments about this hotel and - if in Marseilles again - we would consider staying there once more.

Room Tip: Room facing the Vieux-Port (Old Port) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great world-class hotel, perfect location, stellar views of the Old Port (Vieux Port) at sunrise and sunset, and sympathetic and genuinely helpful concierges. The Sofitel also has a superb rooftop restaurant.

However, if you a non-smoker and get a room with a outside terrace, note that only the ROOM is non-smoking. After a couple of nights spoiled by other guests smoking on their adjoining terraces, I specifically asked if smoking is permitted there--it is.

I travel enough to understand that attitudes about smoking are different in different parts of the world but it would have been nice if this was disclosed ahead of time. Not sure how Sofitel can get away with calling the rooms "non-smoking" when smoke drifts into the room if you leave the door open even a crack.

I would definitely stay here again, but would not pay the big bucks for a terrace room again.

Room Tip: Get room with a water view, just not one with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Gree
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is really hard to say something negative about this hotel. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, the restaurant is great, and is situated on a perfect spot if you are a runner!
The only negative comments I can have is about the breakfast (only had 1 cheese!!!) that does not have a wide choice of products, the eternity it takes to get a taxi, the poorly equipped gym, and the "late" opening hours of the Spa.

To get a better price for your room....use the web!

Room Tip: Pay the extra Eur. 50 to get a port view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel’s services. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay even though you did find negative things. First of all for the choice of cheese for our breakfast, it is true that we offer a single type of cheese each day, but do know that if your wish to have more, you can ask our staff and a whole platter of different cheeses can be presented to you. Regarding our taxi service, we work with an outside company which means we are dependant on them being on time and it is true that sometimes, due to the traffic, taxis, can take a few more minutes to arrive. There again, if you wish you can order your taxi in advance in order for us to plan its arrival better. Thank you again for pointing these problems these problems out. It will help us to improve our service and we hope top welcome you in Marseille again.
King Regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#2 Family Hotel in Marseille
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.