We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Provence Hospitality and Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 123 hotels in Marseille
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Superb Provence Hospitality and Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Decided to stay at this hotel because of good reviews and a view everybody was talking about. After my 2 nights stay in Marseille I would say that Sofitel is a right place to stay. Not forget the view – it was really to die for.

The hotel is located above Old Port providing magnificent views over that port. However one may need a taxi to get there from Marseille Train Station (Gare Saint Charles). The check in was fast and pleasant: the reception girl even showed us the way to the room to check if everything is okay. The room was modern decorated with large panno on the wall and window between shower and the rest of the room. That window allows seeing Vieux Port while taking a shower. For more privacy the window could be blinded by Venetian blind. Free Wi-Fi, not super fast, but reliable. For a faster connection a cable could be used (free) or special paid W-Fi service. What I like the most is a rain shower and the comfiest bed ever.

We made a reservation for a dinner at Sofitel’s restaurant Les Trois Forts. And dinner was above any expectation: wise wine list, luxurious service, attentive wait staff, and mouthwatering dishes with marvelous presentation. The chef mistakenly sent out medium well filet mignon instead of medium rare. Once I noticed that the new dish flew to me in a minute. And it was perfectly done. The breakfast the next morning was all about awe-inspiring views of gorgeous sunlit Marseille perspective and ultimate quality and cooking style of products. The scrambling eggs were just perfect. It was a Christmas time and there was a table aside with local Christmas specialties. Once you come to Sofitel try not to miss the breakfast!

The hotel features a spa with treatments, hammam, sauna and large Jacuzzi. During my visit this place was a bit crowded but still relaxing. Massage water pipe in the Jacuzzi was a good treat for my back. Sauna is large enough as well as hammam.

The lobby bar adjacent to reception was a smart place for an evening cocktail or quick midnight snack in French ambiance. The cocktails were quite creative both with ingredients and presentation. Live music performed by a nice couple gave unrivalled backdrop for a superb evening.

Room Tip: Vieux Port view is to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Quality Assistant at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am very happy that you appreciated your stay, the quality of services and of your equipments.
I would like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and especially about the restaurant “Les Trois Forts”. Our chef Dominique Frerard is passionate about his work and strives everday to make you discover our region’s excellents products. Our goal is to provide the best service possible to all our clients and to make you feel at home when you stay with us.
The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port, also thanks you warmly for the kindness of your words.
We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel in order to give you another wonderful “Provencal experience”.
King regards,
Marjory Lecuelle
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    263
    67
    20
    13
See reviews for
108
506
60
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Magnificent view of the port both from the room and the rooftop restaurant; great location by the conference center and easy access to the Vieux-Port area; rental mopeds for touring around. This Hotel could be magnificent! But, taken as a whole, the experience was just above mediocre. For example, the poolside restaurant is "owned by someone else" and the rudeness of the staff was "out of our control". The outdoor pool was dirty and small. The room felt crowded even for a hotel in France. The staff was pleasant but distracted. We left after two nights and spent the rest of our time at a wonderful hotel a mile away on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our short stay at this Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port was very pleasant. Valet service was efficient. The young lady at Reception was professional and courteous.
Our room with a terrace was spacious, clean, well appointed, overlooking the Vieux-Port... what a beautiful view!
They told us they won a price for best breakfast in France - it was indeed excellent.
We have only good comments about this hotel and - if in Marseilles again - we would consider staying there once more.

Room Tip: Room facing the Vieux-Port (Old Port) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great world-class hotel, perfect location, stellar views of the Old Port (Vieux Port) at sunrise and sunset, and sympathetic and genuinely helpful concierges. The Sofitel also has a superb rooftop restaurant.

However, if you a non-smoker and get a room with a outside terrace, note that only the ROOM is non-smoking. After a couple of nights spoiled by other guests smoking on their adjoining terraces, I specifically asked if smoking is permitted there--it is.

I travel enough to understand that attitudes about smoking are different in different parts of the world but it would have been nice if this was disclosed ahead of time. Not sure how Sofitel can get away with calling the rooms "non-smoking" when smoke drifts into the room if you leave the door open even a crack.

I would definitely stay here again, but would not pay the big bucks for a terrace room again.

Room Tip: Get room with a water view, just not one with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Gree
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is really hard to say something negative about this hotel. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, the restaurant is great, and is situated on a perfect spot if you are a runner!
The only negative comments I can have is about the breakfast (only had 1 cheese!!!) that does not have a wide choice of products, the eternity it takes to get a taxi, the poorly equipped gym, and the "late" opening hours of the Spa.

To get a better price for your room....use the web!

Room Tip: Pay the extra Eur. 50 to get a port view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel’s services. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay even though you did find negative things. First of all for the choice of cheese for our breakfast, it is true that we offer a single type of cheese each day, but do know that if your wish to have more, you can ask our staff and a whole platter of different cheeses can be presented to you. Regarding our taxi service, we work with an outside company which means we are dependant on them being on time and it is true that sometimes, due to the traffic, taxis, can take a few more minutes to arrive. There again, if you wish you can order your taxi in advance in order for us to plan its arrival better. Thank you again for pointing these problems these problems out. It will help us to improve our service and we hope top welcome you in Marseille again.
King Regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Sofitel is an excellent hotel. You get value for your money..great breakfast and that view is simply magnificent.

This has been the fifth time I have stayed un this hotel and my experience has always been a great one.
The cost is not cheap,but your experience and amenities are well worth your stay.

Had a great stay.

Will definitely go again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well located, wonderful view and a kind staff. The bar has great tapas at excellent price. The room is big, stilysh and modern. They received us with regional candies in the room. The bathroom is enormous and has Hermes samples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelGG, Chargée de qualité at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Madam,
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the quality of our hotel's services. The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port warmly thanks you for the kindness of your words. Your comments are very precious to us. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the South of France.
Best regards,
Quality Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port
Sofitel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel
Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#1 Family Hotel in Marseille
#1 Business Hotel in Marseille
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.