We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views but disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views but disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Magnificent view of the port both from the room and the rooftop restaurant; great location by the conference center and easy access to the Vieux-Port area; rental mopeds for touring around. This Hotel could be magnificent! But, taken as a whole, the experience was just above mediocre. For example, the poolside restaurant is "owned by someone else" and the rudeness of the staff was "out of our control". The outdoor pool was dirty and small. The room felt crowded even for a hotel in France. The staff was pleasant but distracted. We left after two nights and spent the rest of our time at a wonderful hotel a mile away on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    402
    128
    36
    26
See reviews for
175
821
93
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our short stay at this Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port was very pleasant. Valet service was efficient. The young lady at Reception was professional and courteous.
Our room with a terrace was spacious, clean, well appointed, overlooking the Vieux-Port... what a beautiful view!
They told us they won a price for best breakfast in France - it was indeed excellent.
We have only good comments about this hotel and - if in Marseilles again - we would consider staying there once more.

Room Tip: Room facing the Vieux-Port (Old Port) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great world-class hotel, perfect location, stellar views of the Old Port (Vieux Port) at sunrise and sunset, and sympathetic and genuinely helpful concierges. The Sofitel also has a superb rooftop restaurant.

However, if you a non-smoker and get a room with a outside terrace, note that only the ROOM is non-smoking. After a couple of nights spoiled by other guests smoking on their adjoining terraces, I specifically asked if smoking is permitted there--it is.

I travel enough to understand that attitudes about smoking are different in different parts of the world but it would have been nice if this was disclosed ahead of time. Not sure how Sofitel can get away with calling the rooms "non-smoking" when smoke drifts into the room if you leave the door open even a crack.

I would definitely stay here again, but would not pay the big bucks for a terrace room again.

Room Tip: Get room with a water view, just not one with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Gree
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is really hard to say something negative about this hotel. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, the restaurant is great, and is situated on a perfect spot if you are a runner!
The only negative comments I can have is about the breakfast (only had 1 cheese!!!) that does not have a wide choice of products, the eternity it takes to get a taxi, the poorly equipped gym, and the "late" opening hours of the Spa.

To get a better price for your room....use the web!

Room Tip: Pay the extra Eur. 50 to get a port view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel’s services. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay even though you did find negative things. First of all for the choice of cheese for our breakfast, it is true that we offer a single type of cheese each day, but do know that if your wish to have more, you can ask our staff and a whole platter of different cheeses can be presented to you. Regarding our taxi service, we work with an outside company which means we are dependant on them being on time and it is true that sometimes, due to the traffic, taxis, can take a few more minutes to arrive. There again, if you wish you can order your taxi in advance in order for us to plan its arrival better. Thank you again for pointing these problems these problems out. It will help us to improve our service and we hope top welcome you in Marseille again.
King Regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Sofitel is an excellent hotel. You get value for your money..great breakfast and that view is simply magnificent.

This has been the fifth time I have stayed un this hotel and my experience has always been a great one.
The cost is not cheap,but your experience and amenities are well worth your stay.

Had a great stay.

Will definitely go again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well located, wonderful view and a kind staff. The bar has great tapas at excellent price. The room is big, stilysh and modern. They received us with regional candies in the room. The bathroom is enormous and has Hermes samples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelGG, Chargée de qualité at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Madam,
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the quality of our hotel's services. The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port warmly thanks you for the kindness of your words. Your comments are very precious to us. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the South of France.
Best regards,
Quality Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The sofitel at the vieux port is an ideal hotel for a visit to marseille. The location is exquisit, and especially the view from the hotel restaurant makes you more emotional than watching the notebook tree times in a row (girlfriend loved it)!

The room was cozy but it was a bit grotty. The best thing about the room was the bed, which makes it even harder to get out of bed!

Don't worry about bad wheater because there is a spa with sauna, turkish bath and a small swimming pool to relax! Our a fitness to work out!

wifi acces is very annoying! You have to log in almost every hour, you would expect in 2012 that a hotel like this would have a more userfriendly system.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#2 of 124 in Marseille
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Marseille Palm Beach
#13 of 124 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Residence du Vieux Port
#5 of 124 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
#24 of 124 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.