We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, but there's a caveat for non-smokers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2 enjoy 3
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northern California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, but there's a caveat for non-smokers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great world-class hotel, perfect location, stellar views of the Old Port (Vieux Port) at sunrise and sunset, and sympathetic and genuinely helpful concierges. The Sofitel also has a superb rooftop restaurant.

However, if you a non-smoker and get a room with a outside terrace, note that only the ROOM is non-smoking. After a couple of nights spoiled by other guests smoking on their adjoining terraces, I specifically asked if smoking is permitted there--it is.

I travel enough to understand that attitudes about smoking are different in different parts of the world but it would have been nice if this was disclosed ahead of time. Not sure how Sofitel can get away with calling the rooms "non-smoking" when smoke drifts into the room if you leave the door open even a crack.

I would definitely stay here again, but would not pay the big bucks for a terrace room again.

Room Tip: Get room with a water view, just not one with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    348
    105
    30
    20
See reviews for
147
696
76
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Gree
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is really hard to say something negative about this hotel. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, the restaurant is great, and is situated on a perfect spot if you are a runner!
The only negative comments I can have is about the breakfast (only had 1 cheese!!!) that does not have a wide choice of products, the eternity it takes to get a taxi, the poorly equipped gym, and the "late" opening hours of the Spa.

To get a better price for your room....use the web!

Room Tip: Pay the extra Eur. 50 to get a port view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersende G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel’s services. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay even though you did find negative things. First of all for the choice of cheese for our breakfast, it is true that we offer a single type of cheese each day, but do know that if your wish to have more, you can ask our staff and a whole platter of different cheeses can be presented to you. Regarding our taxi service, we work with an outside company which means we are dependant on them being on time and it is true that sometimes, due to the traffic, taxis, can take a few more minutes to arrive. There again, if you wish you can order your taxi in advance in order for us to plan its arrival better. Thank you again for pointing these problems these problems out. It will help us to improve our service and we hope top welcome you in Marseille again.
King Regards,
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Sofitel is an excellent hotel. You get value for your money..great breakfast and that view is simply magnificent.

This has been the fifth time I have stayed un this hotel and my experience has always been a great one.
The cost is not cheap,but your experience and amenities are well worth your stay.

Had a great stay.

Will definitely go again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well located, wonderful view and a kind staff. The bar has great tapas at excellent price. The room is big, stilysh and modern. They received us with regional candies in the room. The bathroom is enormous and has Hermes samples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelGG, Chargée de qualité at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Madam,
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the quality of our hotel's services. The entire team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port warmly thanks you for the kindness of your words. Your comments are very precious to us. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the South of France.
Best regards,
Quality Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The sofitel at the vieux port is an ideal hotel for a visit to marseille. The location is exquisit, and especially the view from the hotel restaurant makes you more emotional than watching the notebook tree times in a row (girlfriend loved it)!

The room was cozy but it was a bit grotty. The best thing about the room was the bed, which makes it even harder to get out of bed!

Don't worry about bad wheater because there is a spa with sauna, turkish bath and a small swimming pool to relax! Our a fitness to work out!

wifi acces is very annoying! You have to log in almost every hour, you would expect in 2012 that a hotel like this would have a more userfriendly system.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early October for a work conference. It is about 25 minutes taxi ride from Marseilles airpot but is not situated in the most salubrious part of Marseilles. I have stayed in several Sofitels for work meetings/conferences and I know what to expect, so this is good in some ways.

Staff - very attentive and helpful.

Room - bed very comfortable and bathroom had an interesting bath and rain shower. TV was a bit disappointing, they wanted to charge for any UK channels that wasn't BBC news. My iPod did not work in the Bose docking station and I've had the same problem at other Sofitel's I have stayed in. Hairdryer is included. My room faced the back of the hotel. I did get woken up one morning by early food deliveries but apart from that one morning, I slept really well.

Food - Great food! The restaurant on the top floor offers great views over Marseilles and the food is fantastic. The bar on the ground floor have a good menu too and the food was delicious.

As with any Sofitel, I think their food and drink and mini-bar is priced to high but they make up for it with excellent service and a clean, well-kept hotel.

TIP: If you are British and really like your tea, take some tea-bags. The tea here is good but you get either herbal or earl-grey, so I would definitely take some tea-bags on my next trip to France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The fact that this hotel had a spa was the deciding factor for choosing it. The hotel was perfect, but it was worth paying the upgrade to have a superior room with terrace and view onto the old port; otherwise the view at the back is rather grim and on a busy road. The spa is very nice but it is also open to the public, which means that it can get very full; although they have a booking system to reserve slots although one would expect the hotel guests to have precedence especially as some of the locals at the spa were quite annoying. The staff at the spa is very friendly and will try to accommodate you but it's still a pain to have to call in advance. It's the first time I've stayed in a spa hotel and had to go through this palaver. In the end all worked well though (but October is definetely the end of the seaons so less busy). Last downside of the spa, considering that we went for a romatic week-end, is that it is actually closed on Sunday afternoon and only opens late on Monday morning. Since the opening times are not indicated on the hotel website this is really potentially deceptive as one would expect normal access throughout the day, any day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36, boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#4 Family Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the L'Odyssée piano bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.