We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Vieux Port to your Saves list
New Hotel Vieux Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Bis Rue Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good location, but never again. There was no hotel restaurant, no parking and a lack of sockets in the room for business use. There was a market hall open across the way, but closed at 22;00, so not much use to the business traveler. It would have been better to have stayed in AIX.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest, we thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you don't keep a nice memory of your stay. However, we hope to welcome you again so as to show you we can be better hosts. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    228
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
37
239
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A great location in this bustling city. Lovely old building, even if called new, with suitable furnishings. We didn't have a view of the port but had a delightful sitting area. Hotel staff were welcoming. Breakfast was good and served in a grand room.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your nice comment about your stay. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Marseilles. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

and what a view we had from our room of this hotel......and WOW, what a perfect location! Right at the Harbor, and the best thing was walking to anywhere you wanted to go, great restaurants, shopping, etc. out your front door....literally. My travel companion found it on the internet, because they had an excellent price point, which was of concern to us (six ladies travelling) to
conserve dollars for shopping of course. The three rooms we had were all large, with nice large bathrooms. We all thanked our friend for doing the research, because it was a great hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the Plaza across from the Harbor, and the Harbor itself, so you rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Madam, we thank you for your great comment about your stay. We are glad to learn that you keep nice memories about it! All the staff is waiting to receive you again for your next stay. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

You won't find a more convenient hotel in Marseille for enjoying the Vieux Port, accessing waterfront activities; metro transport around town and to the Gare; or nearby parking, restaurants, laundry, and upscale shopping. Its all right outside your front door! The hotel and rooms themselves are unexceptional but clean, well maintained (if a little dark and cramped), and served by a vintage but elegant lift; and security is above average, with front end service 24/7. Very helpful multilingual staff with maps, recommendations, and strategies for negotiating this thriving port city. Most rooms won't match the photos you have seen, but leverage the strengths of this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: the more you pay, the nicer the view; but the rooms are a bit tired nonetheless
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that you keep nice memories about your stay. Regarding the pictures, as you could see in the hotel, each floor has a different theme and thus, rooms have different styles that we present on our website. We are waiting to welcome you again! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Rozas, Spain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This his an honest small hotel, with an affordable price in the best location in Marseille, close to the Vieux Port. Nothing special, but the rooms and service are OK. A bit difficult to find, in a pedestrian street. If arriving by car I recommend to go straight to the near Lafayette parking (unless you have a lot of luggage, in which case you have to enter a bit the pedestrian street to unload.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear guest, we thank you for your nice comment about your last stay with us. We hope to welcome you again for your next trip in Marseille. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This is an excellent address. The hotel is located right in the New Port and only 1 metro stop from the central railway station. Staff is very friendly, customer oriented and efficient.
We had a lovely, big and well equipped room with partial view of the port. The perfect location to visit the port, MUSEM and the new shopping mall (take your credit cards, it's very tempting).

Room Tip: aks for an upper level room with view of the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your great comment about your stay on Newhotel Vieux Port. It's a pleasure to read a nice comment! We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern Mittelland District, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located, my room was nice and quiet. The staff was very helpful, especially for mailing items back to me I had forgotten in my room.Thank you! The breakfast is good, even though you might get it cheaper with a nice view on the harbor elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear guests, thanks for your nice review! It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 3 Bis Rue Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.