We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day break in Marseille” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Vieux Port to your Saves list
New Hotel Vieux Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Bis Rue Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Marseille
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 day break in Marseille”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The location of the hotel, close to the vieux port,the metro, the tourist information and a multitude of good bars and restaurants was excellent.
On our arrival, we discovered the air conditioning was not working in our room and we were given another room.The second room was a lot better size, my only real complaint with the room was that there was not a proper shower.
The public areas of the hotel are looking very tired, and hence first impressions are not great, but bedrooms had been refurbished and gave a better impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you to leave us a review! We are happy to learn that you have a good stay in Marseille. We hope to welcome you for a next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    228
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
37
239
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice now. The first time in a standard room and the second time, we upgraded to a superior room. We were pleased with both choices. If you want more room and luxury, it is worth paying for the superior as it is at 4 star quality. If you are on a budget, the standard room is actually quite nice too but obviously smaller.

There were nice views of Vieux Port from our bedroom window. We could even see the escalator going down into Metro. So a very well located hotel with access to bus stops and metro literally just round the corner, right in the heart of Vieux Port. Lots of amenities within walking distance.

There is a church clock nearby that chimes every half hour but stops at 8pm.

The escalator was a beautiful old style gated design. Can only fit two people with their luggage comfortably. Any more will be a bit intimate!

Room Tip: The top floor has no lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for this nice comment! We are delighted to know that your second stay with us is a pleasant memory. We are waiting to welcome you again in the New Hotel Vieux Port! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was a bit disappointing. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious but old and not very clean. First night we were in the room on the top floor and the noises during the night made it impossible to sleep. We change the room for a better one but still it was not as good as it could have been. The location of the hotel is very convenient – close to restaurants and sights. Overall it was alright but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Directrice at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken time to post a review. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed by your stay in our hotel. Your comment will certainly help us to improve our services, cleanliness and confort. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of Nov 2012 in a superior room with a smallish balcony.

The location of the hotel was excellent, within easy walking distance of the old port, main shopping streets and places of interest. The St Charles train and bus station is only a 15 min walk away.

The superior room was large and spacious on the 4th floor with an Indian theme and a very nice view of the old port (which we requested before we travelled). Other rooms face pedestrianised streets. The room was fairly modern but could do with some updating, and we had to keep requesting extra towels as the bathtowels were not sufficient in size.

Breakfast was included - basic but good - choice of cereals, yoghurts and fresh juice.

There was a bit of noise from outside as the road was being repaired but as it was not so warm we could sleep with the windows closed.

Be aware that the lift only goes to the 4th floor and not up to the 5th floor.

We would recommend this hotel as it was very well located for the city centre and port area.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on higher floors with a view of the Old Port are very nice (floors 3-5). The lift onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Responsable relations clients at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for having posted a review. You're right, the hotel is lucky to have such a central location, near restaurants, shops, train station and tourism office. At this time there is a huge construction on the port but in few days we will have a new port! We hope to welcome you again in this new town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in the New Hotel Montpellier was great so I was expecting the same kind of service in Marseille. But the room were dissapointing, the lamp and the walls look dirty and used.
The hotel manager was nice, and the beds as always very confortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Responsable relations clients at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest, Thanks for having taken time to post a comment. We are sorry you were disappointed by the hotel cleanliness. Your review will help us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel had potential but the standards in Marseille are so low that you can't find better unfortunately. If you stay there make sure you find a special rate because it will make it worth your while as their above average rates will make you think twice before going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here a few times in the last few years, they theme the floors by continent or something, have stayed in africa and arabia, nice rooms - slightly quirky, central location and very close to the subway too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Directrice at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review! We're always pleased to hear good comments from ou guests. Hope to see you back to Newhotel Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 3 Bis Rue Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.