We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Vieux Port to your Saves list
New Hotel Vieux Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Bis Rue Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Scot58
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff at hotel are excellent - very prompt service.

The area around hotel would make it an ideal location but Marseille is undergoing a huge construction project to be ready for City Of Culture 2013. The roads at the Port and surrounding area are being dug up and the noise is horrendous. Work started at 7am and goes onto around 6pm. I was in Room 208 and you can hear it.

Found hotel difficult to find - maybe near metro but the street sign is hidden by a piece of street furniture (ad sign). As soon as I stepped in to hotel, my heart sank - in my experience if reception is in need of refurbishment it does not bode well on rest of hotel.

I can only talk about room 208 -

I only stayed one night. The room is now in need of refurbishment - bad scuff marks on walls - quite dark and dingy. The furnishings and furniture are dark. Horrible blue carpet (I prefer tiles or some time of hard flooring for hygiene reasons)). WAlls are thin - appeared to be 2 or 3 French girls in room next to ours - and boy where they noisey, but did quieten down after 12pm. Bathroom OK -

Appreciate hotel cannot do anything about construction work - but in view of state of room, would not consider going back.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a quiet side at this time - due to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for having posted a comment. You're right. At this moment, the Old Port area is noisy because of a huge construction project and due to works, the hotel is difficult to find. We regret that you don't keep a good memory from us and your remarks will help us to improve hotel cleanliness and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    228
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
37
239
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were in Marseille for a day and stayed in this hotel in a double room with twin beds. The rooms are nicely decorated and have a different theme on each floor. The entire hotel looks classy (including the stairway and the breakfast room), but isn't incredibly expensive. The room we had was big, as well as the bathroom. We had a small balcony, but not much of a view. We had a mini-bar, T.V. and free WiFi in the room. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice and, as mentioned, the room was stylish.

The hotel is locate right at the old port, which is one of the main tourist areas of the city. When we were there, there was a lot of construction going on (which will probably continue until 2013), but we still saw some nice things. There is a metro station just around the corner of the hotel and there are quite some shops and restaurants nearby. The tourism office is near as well. All in all a good location!

I can definitely recommend this hotel when you're staying in Marseille. One point of warning is that you can only check in quite late and since the reception is very small you will have to leave your luggage pressed in a corner if you arrive early. Other than that, no other remarks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your very good comment! It's always pleasant to learn our guest had a nice stay and appreciated the hotel and its services. The hotel has a central location for visits. Even if, at this time, there is a huge work all around the port, this area is still the main touristic one and there's always something to do or see. Hope to see you during a next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

New Hotel Vieux Port has a perfect location! Next to the Vieux Port and central to all interesting places of Marseille. Many bars and restaurants around the corner.
Nice building from the outside. Inside a little bit "old fashion"-decorated, but clean. Rooms are rather small, but doable for 1 or 2 nights. Comfortable rooms for it's price!
Ideal hotel for a short citybreak!
Staff speaks french and english.
We did not take the breakfast from the hotel, rather expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was huge and decorated from the plains of Africa. Large well apointed bathroom and the room was was air-cond. Very close to the port with good security.
Our room was on the 3 floor and having a elevator was a welcomed facility.
Will stay here when next in town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for your kind comment. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel very close to Old Port, metro and the main street full of shops etc. Confortable rooms, by the way we were upgraded in a better room - "superior" - with lots of space and spacious bathroom. Every floor has amain topic for decoration: I was in 2nd floor (Arabian nights), the 3rd is named "Ethnic", the 4th India the 5th Mexico...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for your kind comment. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The receptionists were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel seems to be open all night which was great for a midnight check-in! The room was huge and clean with extra bedding in the cupboard. The location of the hotel is excellent with most attractions within walking distance including the metro and St Charles train station. My only very minor complaint is that the hotel does not have hair dryers which I found slightly odd. Breakfast is also expensive at 11 Euros/day/person plus tax. You can get the same fare at one of the restaurants in the Old Port for half the price. Other than that we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We would be back here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Actually the hotel does have hairdryers, but unfortunately, the one in your room was missing. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel a few days ago. Loved the hotel. Just next to the Viux port metro and the port. Very convenient to do all sorts of local activities including seeing the calanques, ferry ride, walking trails and shopping. It is also convinient for travelling to local region. We caught the TGV to Avignon and spent one day over there and came back in the evening. The reception was especially helpful and obliging and all spoke excellent English. The room was quite big and I loved the bathroom which was spacious and clean. They had a separate toilet which was good. The best part was still the location! Belive me, on these hot summer August days, it's so nice to be able to just go back to your air conditioned room and relax in between your planned activities or just have an afternoon nap. This hotel serves this purpose for us very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anais_Videau, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you soon again in Marseille. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 3 Bis Rue Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.