We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and best Ibis for me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles to your Saves list
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Square Narvik | Esplanade Saint Charles, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    383
    126
    28
    11
See reviews for
73
305
124
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this location last year and again late April. It is just beside the main square outisde the train station for Marseille. A regional bus station is also attached to the train station. We met our river cruise transfer bus just outside the door.
Staff are fluently bilingual and eager to help. There is a bar on the main floor and restaurant with a breakfast hot and cold buffet for approx. 8 Euros
Rooms are small but adequate and the hotel is clean and tourist style, perfect for an overnight or short stay
The old port or Vieux Port as it is called is down the steps and about a 10-15 minute walk

Room Tip: Join the Accor hotels email mailing for specials and join their frequent visitor club even if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is close to the railwaystation. Nice rooms. THere is a bar close to the reception for drinks and snacks in the late evening. I can recommand the hotel very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This Ibis is at a very nice location, which is just 100m away from the exit/entrance of station's platform A. But also because it's closed to the train station, it's very noisy especially when every other things quite down at night. Our room is right next to the station's loading decks (cargo, cars and etc). You can hear workers shouting, station broadcasting and stuff loading every minutes except between 12am - 6am. Wait a minute, that's my sleeping hours...

There are a couple other hotels next to station but in the 'right' side of the station. But considered it's price and friendly staff, I recommend this hotel if you have no problem sleeping under a not so quite environment.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms face the Marseille Port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what we needed.
Immediately next to the train station (an enormous plus)
50m from th Avis car rental place.
Not expensive, with a very good buffet breakfast.

It was also what I expected.
Small, really small. Thin towels. Not close to the nicer areas of Marseille.
But you can't always have everything.

It served the purpose , but I was glad it was only for 1 night.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Ibis surely is different from others. The only good thing about it is it`s location an polite staff. The is very very little like a cage. Very old and not so clean. Same is the bathroom little an not clean. The lamp in our bathroon didn`t work from the first day and we had to tell them 4 times and got help on the last day of our visit. They compensated it with paying us back one night. The breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in Ibis. People were really nice! The room was big, very clean and had a great view! The breakfast was also very good, plenty of options to choose. The only bad point I would mention is the dinner. I asked for a burger and he served me an over-cooked burger, at the first sight it looked well presented but once u turn it upside down it was all black..yuck! The dessert was really good, i would recommend the caramel one!

Room Tip: The last floor has the best rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles

Address: Square Narvik | Esplanade Saint Charles, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
#16 Business Hotel in Marseille
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe au pied de la Gare Marseille Saint-Charles, l'hotel Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint-Charles propose des chambres climatisees et confortables. Ideal pour vos deplacements professionnels ou loisir, sa localisation facilite l'acces aux principaux sites marseillais : Le Vieux-Port, La Canebiere, le MuCEM, les Plages, le Stade Velodrome, le Quartier du Panier qui a inspire la serie << Plus Belle La Vie>>... Chambres equipees de la nouvelle literie "Sweet Bed by ibis" et d'un acces wifi offert. Pour vos reunions ou journee d'etude, nous disposons de 6 salles equipees pour seminaire, reunion de travail, formation, recrutement. Notre Hotel est ideal pour les croisieres en Mediterrannee au depart de Marseille (Terminal J4 a 15 minutes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Marseille Gare Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.