We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but lacks little details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Bompard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Bompard to your Saves list
New Hotel Bompard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue des Flots Bleus, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice place but lacks little details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice hotel small with a lovely pool on a road with patisseries and supermarkets. Walkable to the port
lacked finishing touches like wifi that worked in the rooms, info booklet in the rooms etc
also were not told about city tax until we were checking out!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that the Wifi didn't work in your room. We will do our best to improve our service according to your comments. Hope to see you soon in the Newhotel Bompard, Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    158
    62
    27
    10
See reviews for
25
181
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend to others.
The staff wew friendly and tried to speak english to us whenever possible. The bellboy and other staff were helpful in tips on places to see around Marseille and local countryside.
We stayed in a garden view superior room which was substantial size, nespresso machine, bar fridge, LCD tv, great shower!! and lovely bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, walk into Marseilla was close and walk/drive to the local beaches also close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your nice comment.. We will be pleased to welcome you again for your next stay. Hope to see you soon in the Newhotel Bompard, Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel does not look much from the outside, and the surrounding don't look that great but behind the fence is a great hotel! We loved it, even though it was not that central. Fortunately we had a car to get around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We thank you for your comment and are very glad you had a pleasant stay. We will be pleased to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham england
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

this hotel offers a green oasis outside of the centre of marseille. It is located high overlooking the corniche and is well linked to the city by buses and steps down to the coast. The rooms with balconies overlook grass, trees and a swimming pool. There are rooms available in a small house which are smaller and stuffier as well as small family suites in small bungalows in the grounds. We enjoy taking our selection from the excellent buffet breakfast outside when the weather permits. At night returning from the centre the hotel offers the perfect spot for winding down with a quiet nightcap. This is part of a hotel chain that is used by a mix of business events as well as tourists the service is adequate it's the location and garden that makes it so special.

Room Tip: top floor of the main building looking down onto the trees and central garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for over a week - have a good view of its strengths and weaknesses.
Let me start with its strengths. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the elevator worked. Breakfast was OK, dinner was good but the alternatives were few. It was quite, no street noises. The price was right.
Some of the issues. The hotel is located next to nothing, and I mean nothing -- expect to take a bus (not convenient) or a cab (minimum of about 10 euros each way) to go anywhere. The staff support is thin at best. If you sit in the lounge and expect someone to serve you you can weight forever. When asking for help, the information is not always top notch. I asked where I could find a little store nearby to purchase soda, etc. I was told go out take a left and then a right and you will find such a store on the top of the hill -- there was no store. I asked directions to a nearby pizza/italian sitdown restaurant. I was told to go out, take a right, followed by a left and walk down the hill a little bit. We did it and instead of a restaurant we found a takeout pizza place. The day before I left I went to the desk to setle up the account for the group I brought to the hotel. I spent several hours going over things. First I could not get a list by person of ther nights -- eventually I did get it. Then one person was charged for two nights prior to her coming -- she had reserved the rooms for those nights but she maintained they had been cancelled. The desk staff person (the only one in attendance at the hotel) said no, that was not the case. I asked to speak with the manager, but there was no manager on site -- that person would come in the next day after I left. There was no way I could speak with the person. When I came back later I was told that my request to not pay for those two days had been denied -- no recourse to speaking with a human being. So I paid for the group bill and my personal bill. But then when I came to check out the next morning (at 4 am) I was told that I had not paid for two meals and then we went round and round about this as well - a real bother as the cab sat outside with the meter running.
Oh my God -- while their heart might be in the right place, their performance leaves much to be desired.

Room Tip: Expect a good price in an inconvenient location -- remember Marseilles is hilly and you are high up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Quiet location, away from it all - don't book it if you need to be central. Rooms are nicely done, beds fantastic, garden view / balcony rooms the best. Breakfast is mediocre for the price though. Service and evening meals are functional. Worth paying the premium for the peace and comfort but the hotel could be a lot more 'rounded' with minimal effort. I arrived too early for check in and waited three hours but still had no bath robe and the coffee machine had not been renewed

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

For me was verry difficult to find a nice 3* hotel at Marseille, at the time I would be in town, so we decided to stay at the Bompard. It was a pleasant surprise, the external area is adorable, feels like a "Villa", good restaurant, good team.
Room was confortable, and big, good bathroom (renovanetd), but realy has a ugly painting at the rooms (not a problem).
Not close to the port or the city, will need a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Bompard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Bompard

Address: 2, rue des Flots Bleus, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#25 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Bompard 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your New Hotel Bompard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Bompard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.