We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Really Outstanding About This Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN La Joliette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN La Joliette to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN La Joliette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Avenue Robert Schuman, 13002 Marseille, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
US
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nothing Really Outstanding About This Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked this room online in advance because it was suppose to be near the port.

This hotel is not really close to the port. It required a taxi to get to the cruise ship terminal. This hotel is not close to the old harbor. We walked to a restaurant near the old harbor and walked through some questionable neighborhoods.

Our room was small but clean. The room had a king size bed but we needed 2 beds. The receptions said she had no other rooms. We took the sheets off the bed and discovered the beds were zipped together, so we unzipped them and requested additional linens. The elevator required a key card to use which is not uncommon in France.

There was a breakfast available for 13 Euros, but we did not try it. There was no actual restaurant.

We only saw one hotel staff person the whole time we stayed- nite and morning. She was very personable and helpful, but did not have the resources available we thought she should have- like a choice of rooms. She found the linens for us and we took them up to the room and put them on the beds. She called us a taxi to get to the port.

Beware, the taxis charge from their location when you call them and not from the location they pick you up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for leaving a comment, and moreover thanks for your nice comment regarding the employee you met at reception.
As you already understood it was no way for her to give you a twin bed. Room maids finish their job around 3pm every day and receptionists can't leave the reception. We have some rooms with twin’s bed but we need to know that our guests want it before they arrive to do it for them.
If you plane to come back, this time make sure to book a twin room and not a double one.

I apologize the hotel is not as close to the port as you were expected for, but there is absolutely no hotel which do not required a car to get to the cruise port in Marseille.

Kind regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    14
    10
    0
See reviews for
5
43
13
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very standard hotel, the room was comfortable, well furnished and we had everything we needed.
Staff were very helpful, giving us directions and advice. However, we hated coming back to this area at night, it was intimidating and no fun at all, and quite a walk away from the rest of Marseille. We decided not to get breakfast because it looked very expensive for what it was.
I wouldn't stay again and I wouldn't recommend this place if you're on holiday in Marseille, its not special.

Room Tip: small but sufficient rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking from your time to leave us a comment. I'm sorry that the hotel didn't match with what you were expected for.
The hotel is just located 10 to 15 minutes away from the main part of Marseille, and the area will become in one to two years the second main place to visit in Marseille with restaurant, bar, shops... Opened late.
So I wish that we will greet you again in our hotel by this time, so you could try our 5€ express breakfast for our guests not interesting in eating much.

Wishing you a greet week-end. My best regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Front desk Eva was just excellent. Helpful interested in the customer professional . She made our stay. Circumstances meant we were not planing to stay an extra two nights in marseille and got the four star on Expedia. Four star for. business people but not the tourist. Too far from restaurants and cafes. Saying that, their breakfast express and full,was excellent value and in very pleasant surroundings. Rooms typically small ...not enough room for two suitcases and two tall large Australians. Too many pastries ! Clean modern and fresh. Thank you Eva!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello,

Big thanks for leaving us a comment and a special one for Eva and your kind comments about her!
If you plane to come back to see us I'm sure you will love it: the area is changing a lot and many restaurants and shops are about to opened just near the hotel.
You should also try our superior rooms, which are much bigger than the comfort and will probably deal better with the "two tall large Australian" you describe me on your comment.

I wish you a nice and sunny day!

My Best Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Very simple hotel in a good location but not so cheap! In case you're driving it'll be a big issue as they don't have parking arrangements. Average and expensive breakfast, if you can avoid going for something else it'll be a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for leaving a comment on tripadvisor.com.
I apologize for your experience regarding our parking and breakfast, but you had wrong information.
Actually, we do have special parking arrangements with a public parking nearby (2minutes walking); however we have a 5€ express breakfast served every morning for the guests not interesting in having a full buffet breakfast.

I really hope that we have the opportunity to greet you again at the Best Western la Joliette.

Best Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrevieja
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I paid for a Premier Room. The toilet was in a cupboard and the bathroom in another cupboard. Could not shut the toilet door as there is a gap of less than 2 inches between the door and the bowl. This hotel is on a busy road and there is no porter so getting luggage inside is a bit of a nightmare. The frontage of the hotel is scruffy and the bar is two chairs and a table off the entrance area - no alcohol is served. Room service is offered but the rooms are too small to be comfortable and no desire to stay in it longer than absolutely necessary. Wi-fi did not work however the girl on reception was very helpful and booked our forward hotel. I have stayed in better 4 star hotels in Marseille and elsewhere than this one.

Room Tip: The rooms in this hotel are just too small - certainly for a 4 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hello,

I'm sorry for the bad experience you had staying with us. Even so, I wanted to let you know that we do have superior room much bigger than the comfort room (premium) you slept in.
However, we are still waiting for our alcohol license, so you can't sell alcohol for the moment at the hotel.

Despite all that, you noticed the helpfulness of the hotel staff, thank you for the remark.

Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just got back from a weekend at this hotel. The location was convenient, the staff was super friendly, the breakfast abundant, and the amenities were great! LOVED having free wifi, and a safe garage for our car. The only criticism we would have is that the size of the room was small. We knew this when booking the property, but it should be noted for people who need room to spread out. We just cannot say enough about the friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful staff. If you are looking for something reasonable and safe in busy Marseille, stay here. You will not be disappointed. Do note: Marseille is undergoing a major revival process. Please be advised if you drive into town or around town, there is much construction and road closures. It can be frustrating, but this hotel lets forget this mess. It is an easy 15 minute walk to the Old Port, or you can take the tram.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello,

What a pleasure to read such a comment! The all Best Western la Joliette is always trying to do it best to make guests enjoying their stay. And it's really pleasant to read that it works.

If you plane to come back at the hotel, you should try this time a superior room, much bigger than the comfort one, I'm pretty sure you will like it. And above all that, construction will maybe be overed this time.

Kind Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you'v ever been to south of France you probably know, that finding good place for reasonable money is quite a challenge. This hotel is a bingo!
Located close by to City Center of Marseille - with around 10-15min walk to old port nearby Metro station and several buses available I believe it's a good location,
Hotel has been nicely renovated and interiors are fresh, clean and very modern, that is unique in France. Hotel rooms are quite small, for most of us very small especially if you compare it to US standards, but on again, if you have ever visited Provence this is a regular size hotel room.
In some opinions I found some complaints about neighborhood hotel is located in in particular in evenings and at nights. Again, if you know France, you should know, that this is usual. If you want to stay in big city like Marseille, you need to get used to it, and remember that on Mondays there is not much choice of open places in the city. Hotel has 24/7 roomsevice available.

I can easily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good price for a modern, clean, renovated place, close to city center. If you spend your time outside, checking out the city go for it. If you need a big comfortable room to spend time in - that is not a place for you.

And one more thing. Exceptional, helpful, nice, English speaking reception available 24/7. If you need anything I am sure they will helps you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Greetings,

We are glad reading you spend a nice stay with us, and even more to read your staff comment. Many thanks for them !

It sounds like you're used to travel in Marseille so please do not hesitate in coming back at teh Best Western la Joliette, it will be a pleasure to receive you agin !

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN La Joliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN La Joliette

Address: 49 Avenue Robert Schuman, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN La Joliette 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of Marseille, between the Vieux port, the harbor and down town, it become so easy to get into la Joliette, by any way choose.Underground and tram stations put on the hotel at only 5mn to St Charles station, and 10mn from the Vieux port. Many monuments as the Littoral boulevard, La Major Cathedral, the Docks of Marseille are both part on making this area plenty of live.The Hotel la Joliette is a charming and standing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN La Joliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN La Joliette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.