We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic, historical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle of If

Castle of If
1 Quai de la Fraternite, 13000 Marseille, France (Saint-Victor)
33 04 91 59 02 30
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 104 attractions in Marseille
Type: Historic Sites, Islands, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This famous fortress, standing on a rocky island off the coast of Marseille, was immortalised by Alexandre Dumas in The Count of Monte Cristo as the prison where the novel’s hero, Edmond Dantes, was incarcerated before ultimately escaping. The castle was built by Francois I in 1524 and over the centuries it gained a fearsome reputation as many opponents of royal power were jailed and died in the fortress. The Castle of If has been perfectly preserved and is one of the most impressive historical sites on the Mediterranean coastline. Open:> 15th May to 20th September: from 9.30 a.m. to 6.15 p.m.> 21st September to 14th May: from 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. The last visit depends on the timetable of boats, information at the tourist information center, on our website monuments-nationaux.fr or on Frioul If express. Closed:> Mondays from 21st September to 14th May.> 1st January, 25th December and subject to bad weather. Admission fees: Adults : 5,50 €; Concessions (18 to 25) = 4 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“romantic, historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is not too far from the Marseilles old port by tourist boat . it is on the island on the hill. it is beautiful, historical, quite desereted look in some places, makes great pictures of surrounding islands.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    139
    51
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A short boat trip and a short visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Maybe regular trips to the Castle of If leave you more time than we had, but on our tour we were only left 45 minutes on the island, and that was too little. The castle itself is interesting and give you a good view of the area. It is not a big castle, but for its history it is worth a visit. It was a bit windy and some waves made the landing of the boat difficult and leaving it was quite risky. We actually had to jump from the boat down to the quay, helped and supported by the staff. The weather was so rough that the boat had to wait for us out in the open sea while we visited the castle. It came back to pick us up practicing the same jumping procedure as when we arrived. A special event!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“superb view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we visit it in family, go there when it is sunny not too much wind because the boat will be a nightmare, but apart of this nice place nice cultural visit

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Historic site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Perfect place to visit, especially after watching The Count of Monte Christo.
Castle to defend, turned into notorious prison. Worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not the castle but the ferry tour and view of Marseille...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Return boat trip 10,10 Euro. Entrance fee is 5,50 Euro. Free for the Marseille City Pass owners. Nothing special in the castle and probably you won't find what you want. You don't miss anything if you don't see the castle and the cells. If you want a fantastic view of the city from the ferry and castle you can go. And of course you might enjoy the ferry journey itself. That's all...At the end, I can say it is a ripping of the tourists.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle of If also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Castle of If? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle of If, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castle of If to your Saves list