We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence du Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence du Vieux Port to your Saves list
Residence du Vieux Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was lucky to be at La Residence on Bastille Day and had the amazing and private view of the Old Port filled with firework displays from my room's balcony. It was such a great way to celebrate the beginning of my holiday in France and I am glad that I chose to stay at this hotel. The interior design of the communal area and the rooms is really sweet in a retro modern style. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. A great found in central Marseille.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    137
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
60
199
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I loved every single thing about this hotel. I booked the room months in advance, knowing that I would be there on Bastille Day and wanting a view of the Old Port with a room that had a balcony, on a high floor, that would afford this. I emailed back and forth with the hotel to ensure that I had the room that I wanted and it did not disappoint! We enjoyed a great night of firework viewing sitting on our wonderful full porch and enjoying a glass of wine.

I have to also thank the staff member that was on duty when we checked in at around 8pm that evening. We were tired from traveling all day, as well as hungry. Going out into the fully crowded port was not an option so we had resigned ourselves to no dinner that night. Guess what - the person that checked us in showed up at our room with a full tray of snacks/sandwiches! I was floored! This is a hotel that cares about it's guests! The same person made our dinner reservation for the next night as I wanted to have "authentic" bouillabaisse. He called me the next day to make sure that I was happy with my meal. I had sat next to two locals who said this was the only place that was authentic in the port area and that the rest were for tourists. All I can say is my bouillabaisse was wonderful.

This hotel is different. If you want a full balcony where you can sit out in the morning with your coffee and watch Marseille come to life this is your place. Your should note that the vast majority of the hotels facing the old harbor don't have full balconies - either just windows or juliet balconies. The balcony and the staff (and the room was wonderful as well) made the difference here for me.

Room Tip: Rooms with the full harbor view and a full balcony. Have your early morning coffee there (coffee ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,196 helpful votes 1,196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This location is about the best anyone could ask for. Right on the port and within walking distance of a million small shops and store chains, eateries, bars and so many things to do. The action in Marseille is right here. The hotel is very nice, well maintained and well equipped. I am very sure the hotel is quite old but kept in pristine condition as it appears to be some kind of landmark. Quiet, clean and fantastic service. Not a better place to park while in Marseille for shopping or touring.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a very nicely appointed room with a balcony and magnificent view of the old port. The room was quite large, even by America standards. The breakfast was a buffet with many items, including a nice selection of cheeses, although perhaps a bit pricey. Parking was in a municipal garage a couple of blocks away. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here before and after our week long stay in Roussillon. After picking up our rental car at the Marseille airport we found the hotel easily just by using our iphone maps. Parking was available nearby at an underground municipal parking lot. The location was in the center of activity of the old port.....scores of restaurants, shops, interesting sights, and more boats in one marina than we have ever seen before!
Both of our rooms had marvelous views of the old port and the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde. The staff were always courteous, friendly, and very helpful! One our favorite hotels in France!

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a view of the old port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in early July at the end of a nearly 3-week long trip. We had booked a harbor-view room that did not disappoint. Our 7th floor room was a good size - a bit small by US standards but larger than most other French hotels we've seen. The full wall of windows and the balcony made the room feel more spacious, and the view of Notre-Dame de la Garde and the old port were fantastic. The port and street are loud on weekend evenings (our stay coincided with Gay Pride, so there was a big street party going on just outside the hotel) but the balcony door did a good job of blocking noise.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurant or the breakfast. The front desk staff arranged for our early morning taxi and were generally pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Rates are higher than what we usually like to spend, but for the location and the views, it was worth it for a few relaxing nights at the end of a long trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fantastic hotel on the Rue du quai. Right on the Harbour, with all the sights within walking distance- The market, the town Hall, all the local tours start within 300 meters of this hotel. The view from the room was terrific. The Notre dame on the Hill opposite was great viewing from our bed through the windows that overlooked the harbour. The forts, and all the eating places within a shout of the hotel. The air conditioning was really effective, The outside temperatures on the days that we were there were about 34C. Great breakfast everyday, the restaurant below has excellent food rather limited menu but good. The Reception staff were exceptionally helpful and most informative, really made an effort to assist and make ones stay pleasant, more than most 5 star properties that we have stayed at .Wonderful place would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence du Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence du Vieux Port

Address: 18 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marseille
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#6 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence du Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Residence du Vieux Port Marseilles" is on the south bank of the famous Old Port, and offers stunning views of the waterfront whatever the time of year.At the rear you can see the breathtaking Notre-Dame de la Garde cathedral, perched on the top of the hill overlooking the city.Every room in our hotel has been newly renovated with a chic 50s retro feel, blending style and comfort. Most of our rooms have a balcony overlooking the Old Port and the Basilica.... Big flat tv, International channels, mini-bar, spacious bathroom, with L'Occitane en Provence products.And if you are looking for delicious food with high quality service, you need only to step into our adjoining restaurant Le Relais 50.It is the perfect hotel for your stay in Marseille: Ideally, a very good standard and a high quality service that have won our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence du Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Residence Du Vieux Port Marseille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence du Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.