We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt myself like home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port to your Saves list
Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
38 rue Fort Notre Dame, 13007 Marseille, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,405 reviews 1,405 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
606 helpful votes 606 helpful votes
“I felt myself like home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 1 night in a double room.
I was greeted by the reception staff so warm and even they also spoke my language.
The atmosphere is modern, well furnished and clean you feel the property is very well maintained.
The hostel is large and divided into two sectors, both areas got numerous rooms and dining areas and kitchen.
The friendly staff took steps to accompany us in our room, a room with two double deck beds very large and spacious strictly clean.
As soon as we got on the bed a strong music stemming from a nightclub downstairs it was impossible to sleep so we went downstair at the reception to complain and they immediately gave us another quieter room without any noise.
The next morning we took advantage of a good breakfast and we did check-out very quickly.
I highly recommend this hostel to everyone, both young people and adults, the location is very central in fact you can walk to the Vieux-Port (old harbor) about 300 meters away and from here also the best restaurants and pubs all around the area close to the harbor.
Perhaps it is for this reason that this hostel boasts numerous awards at national level in accordance with the hostelworld website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After reading so many nice reviews, I was very disappointed in this hostel. The room (especially the bathroom) smelled of urine and did not strike me as especially clean. I will grant that the location is very good, and the staff were very friendly, but ultimately disorganised - at first they claimed to have no record of our reservation, and later in the night, they made a mistake assigned another group of travellers into our occupied room. It gave me serious doubts about how secure our things were. (The security lockers they claim to have don't actually have locks, by the way.) The icing on the cake though was that I woke up covered in what look suspiciously like bedbug bites. I am absolutely grossed out. The sound insulation is also non-existent, and I heard every sound from the neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hostel is brilliant - clean, fantastic facilities. The location is also really good for getting to the Vieux Port. The staff are friendly and helpful. By all accounts, this is a stellar hostel.

My only qualm is that at €27 a night, it's really pushing the boundaries of affordable accommodation for your average budget traveller, making Marseille not especially affordable as a destinatin. Furthermore, the only other hostel is in Bonneveine, and although you pay less to stay there, you would have to spend about the difference just in bus tickets to get to the city centre! So, if you're coming alone to Marseille to experience the city, Vertigo really is the best option. Bonneveine is great for the beach location. If you're in a group, I'm sure a hotel would work out more affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very good WE there, better than I expected. Helpful staff, clean place, confortable beds in the twin bedroom, 2 kitchens with many facillities, good french breakfast in the morning, good location. Several common rooms with different atmospheres. Many foreign travellers to meet and celebrate St Patrick's day nicely. The best hostel in France so far. A few minus with the noise on Saturday night, coming from a local bar, and the leaving time too early (10am). I RECOMMAND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was one of my first hostel experiences and I was very impressed! From the minute we arrived, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and modern, ours had a loft and private bathroom. The common areas were really nice and we met a lot of new people. The city itself was dirty and not somewhere I would visit again, but I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Marseilles!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The location is close to the port and easy to find. The rooms in the hostel were great! They felt like log cabins and were spacious with nice showers. The common area feels like a home and the staff there is very helpful about getting you information about the city. I really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you are coming to Marseille on a budget, then this is where you should stay. The staff were amazing, available, and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and modern with private bathrooms. The hostel had a number of other pluses such as sound barriers between the rooms and common areas, numerous common areas for those who want to party and for those who want to read a book, lockers in rooms, and a good breakfast. The location was also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port

Address: 38 rue Fort Notre Dame, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.