We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fuxia l'epicerie

Fuxia l'epicerie
27 rue Saint Saens | Place Thiars, 13001 Marseille, France
+33 4 91 55 02 63
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Fuxia l'epicerie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #479 of 1,448 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $20 - $62
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We choose the place because it looked better than the surrounding restaurants, however, the food was a bit disappointing. Our entre, of Italian delicatessen and marinated vegetables, was icy cold, and tasteless - yet there was a lot of everything. THe vegetables all tasted the same.
The pasta and lasagne tasted better, yet the food was nothing more than average.

The staff was friendly and english speaking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    60
    53
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very friendly service and accommodating for an english speaker. Speed of service was great from ordering to between courses and the vin du mois was a great Sicilian wine; light yet robust and the perfect accompaniment to my scallopine Fuxia. Presentation was good and the food was very tasty. I especially enjoyed the cafe gourmand dessert which was three mini portions of tiramisu, creme caramel and chocolate fondant served with an espresso - I needed another espresso to recover from the rich, sweetness of the desserts. In all it's a pleasant location, good value for money with friendly service and I'd happily return to try the pasta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good ambience, but not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just one of a host of very ordinary restaurants in the Vieux Port area. First impressions are actually very good, as the ambience is excellent - high ceilings, nice furnishings and walls lined with wine and various pastas. There is also a very pleasant outside terrace. But I am afraid that that is where the good news ended for us. The menu is fairly basic Italian fare; our lasagne was stodgy and luke-warm, and our salad a tasteless mountain of rocket. The service was pleasant enough, but very casual and inexpert. The wine list was OK and reasonably priced (mainly Italian).

We left disappointed at potential largely unfulfilled.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had dinner here recently with my wife, ate at one of the tables on the terrace which was very nice. We enjoyed lasagne and bolognese, good portions, great service and very prompt attentive staff. The chianti was great and was reasonably priced. Locaton is central but in a relatively quiet area. thoroughly recommended

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and good price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate here on our last night the food was reasonably priced and of a good quality, we had bolagnese and a lasange followed by chocolate pud and tarte au citron which all were polished off and clean plates all round.

The meal was not very expensive and cost £35-£40 for two and with beer and plenty of bread! the staff were great and my pigeon french was enough to order and the waiter saw the funny side when he viewed my iphone and french app open, service was very good and it was busy also!

Romatic and good place to eat if you fancy some good italian food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuxia l'epicerie also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Fuxia l'epicerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuxia l'epicerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.