We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating my wife's B'day week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Miramar

Le Miramar
12 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
04.91.91.10.40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #437 of 1,498 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $52 - $148
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cormolain France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Celebrating my wife's B'day week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good food, very overpriced although the service was excellent and the fish extremely fresh, We would not though visit again do to the cost

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    173
    120
    94
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

For a restaurant with so many certificates and awards hanging on its entrance wall, the experience was a total flop! Rated by many as the best destination for the famous bouillabaisse and seafood restaurant, Le Miramar does not live up to its reputation. The bouillabaisse is heavy and over spiced.
The staff's incompetent (serving white wine over the rose in the glasses, not replacing the glasses and saying it's "not a problem"), most of whom have a hard time speaking French! we had to call the maitre d, every time we needed something.
Terrible experience. should've gone for the Fish'n'chips for 15 euros next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother - disappointing and expensive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by the concierge at our hotel as it was suppose to have great seafood. The restraunt was packed when we arrived for our 10pm booking so it looked promising.

The hostess/waitress who seated us asked if we would like a drink when we arrived. I asked to see a list of cocktails and was handed the wine list. Tried to ask is they could make a gin & tonic or a mohito and was told to wait while she asked someone else. She never came back, so we decided to just order a wine off the menu when asked to order. The sommelier was young, but appeared to be well travelled throughout international wine regions so we took his recommendation. It was very average, dry like we'd asked for but completely unmemorable otherwise.

We ordered 2 mains, one beef which came with a potato cake and crepes with mushrooms. This main was ok, presented well with an effort to decorate the plate using the jus.

The second main was fish. They brought it over to the table cooked whole before taking it to the side table to de-bone it for you. The outer portions were well cooked but the body of the fish was cold. The side of French fries which accompanied this dish had clearly been sitting in a warmer for some time and were revolting. There was no effort to 'plate' this dish.

We had been watching the desserts go past while waiting for the main, and again they looked great. We ordered a crepe Suzette and a soufflé. The soufflé was completely undercooked and had caught a bit on the top. A bad end to a poor dining experience.

The crepes were ok, but disappointing due to standard expected from this restaurant & given what they are charging.

Had to ask for a cappuccino 4 times before I finally received it.

Asked for the bill numerous times also before hovering by the register so we could pay and just leave! All up, the bill came to approximately €160, which considering how average/crap the meals had been was just an added disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I went there with my bf because of the Bouillabaisse, but it was a terrible experience.

First, when we went in, no one served us and we had to look for the table ourselves.

Second, the serivece was awful and totally unacceptable. the waiter who helped us to take the order was so rude. after we took the order, no food arrived yet, he immediately asked us to take the dessert order. also he missed our order of the Bouillabaisse, so at the end we did not try the soup. we waited a lot for the main course, almost 1 hour, but no one brings us even a piece of bread.

the price is overpriced and totally not worth of it. the Bouillabaisse is euro 58 each and required to take at least 2 persons. the water is euro 8 each bottle. one of the dish we took was priced according to the weight. it was euro 9 for every 100g. at the begining the waiter showed us 6 fishes which is 400g, but we asked for 4 fish. first the waiter refused but we insisted, so he promised in front of us will do 5 fish for us. however, at the end we still got 6 fishes, and the manager said that they are 450g and reduced the price for us for 400g. they are cheater, first they did not weight the fish in front of us, second the waiter said only 400g but later the manager said is 450g.

overall, this restaurant is terrible, especially the service. most people go there are tourists, they dont know the quality. also this restaurant since is famous, so the staff there are so rude. they dont care about you, because even they dont do the bussiness with you, there are still lots of tourists which are misleading to this restautant, so they wont lost their business, thats way they are so rude. i hope they really can improve their seivece, and please show the respect to the customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced and bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went here especially to have the bouillabase. It was good (not perfect, but very good). Thr servings are huge - you could have fed 3 people with what they gave us for 2 - and it's a shame that they don't keep reasonable proportions because it's expensive and we left a lot on the plate. The appetizers were also special, truffle and a kind of fish pate.
I didn't like the service though. As a restaurant which clearly wants to impress they have a lot of personnel - a lady who welcomes and sits you, 3-4 waiters, a sommelier, and a lot of ladies in red who bring the dishes and clean the tables. You'd think service was perfect. It's just unorganized. They brought the starter drinks at the same time as the wine and the main dish dishand after being reminded. We had to send for the sommelier twice. They brought th dessert - twice. Long waits. I guess that's what happens when you don't have a singl person responsible for your table.
It was crowded with lots of people waiting for tables.
If I were reviewing based upon food alone it would get 5 starts. But I'm not, and the restaurant restaurant doesn't live up to its own standards.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Miramar also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.