We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected: okay but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Miramar

Le Miramar
12 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
04.91.91.10.40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #475 of 1,436 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $52 - $148
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“As expected: okay but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Let's add another review to the Bouillabaisse debate.

Miramar's classic bouillabaisse is not bad (but not great either: too salty and the fish is not skillfully scaled and served - many bones and overcooked flakes in there).

It's pricey though, at €60 per serving.

Luckily, during our late December visit, we were sitting outside, with plenty of sun and pastis to make up for the cooks' and staff's shortcomings!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    142
    101
    88
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Like the Parson's Egg... great in spots!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was late November and we were visiting Marseille for Seatrade Med - a trade show for people working in all aspects of the cruise industry. It rained solid for three days and nights. We dined in the Miramar twice, once for dinner and once for lunch. On both occasions were a large group. First let's talk about our dinner experience and I'm sure you'll wonder why we went back the following day for lunch!

Our dinner booking was for 18 people. When we arrived the restaurant was busy and there was a great buzz about the place; always a good sign. However, to our disappointment we were ushered up a narrow stairs to a room above the main restaurant. The low ceiling was not a problem however there was no decor other than plain walls; we were split into two groups; not a problem.However while our companions had their order taken and their food served we sat and waited... and waited... and waited! As they were being served dessert our order was finally taken. We were then presented with an amuse-gueule, delicious truffle on a thin pastry slice; if that had been my main course I would have been completely satisfied. Our colleagues at the favoured table were leaving as we were receiving our starters. I chose Lobster Canneloni and it was rich and delicious - my fellow diners were all delighted with their choices though we did discuss the notion that perhaps the food tasted so good because we were famished! It took forever to have our plates cleared and while we again waited we began to notice that people at other tables were also beginning to grumble about the poor standard or rather lack of standard of service.

For my main course I chose Sole Meuniere. It too was presented and then filleted; my sole was delicious though lukewarm. For wine we choose two of the least extravagant wines (rouge et blanc) on the list and they were superb. I can't remember the names!

Two colleagues had ordered Bouillabaisse (the Miramar claims to serve the best Bouillabaisse in Marseille, the place where this famous dish originated many centuries ago) and that arrived first. The liquor produced in cooking the fish was served as a starter. At the same time the large dish of whole cooked fish was presented and then removed to a side table to be filleted and prepared for eating; this procedure was a performance; when the fish was prepared it was plated with great aplomb and then covered in the rich liquor (sauce) that the fish produced in cooking. The liquor had been kept hot on a burner however the fish had grown cold in being filleted. The addition of hot sauce to the cold fish did nothing to enhance the dish.

For dessert I chose Souffle Grand Marnier and it was a classic; it was so fresh it had not even begun to collapse and it was served, as it should, with flaming Grand Marnier. I was in heaven and would have forgiven everything for that beautiful dessert and the gorgeous truffle.

The cost of my meal was 120 euro; outrageous considering the horrendous lack of service. As we left the restaurant I noticed that almost 5 hours had passed.

The following day we returned for lunch - partly because we knew the food could be good and we hoped that it would be great, perhaps even excellent.

We were a party of 8 for lunch and we were seated in the front of the restaurant where the previous evening the smokers had been seated; that worried me as I have an abhorance of smoking in the presence of food - and me! It proved not to be a problem. Perhaps because the restaurant wasn't as busy as the previous evening the service was excellent - then again perhaps it was because we were under the eye of staff who cared? The lunch menu was the same as the dinner menu so choosing was easy; I choose the dish that had been my second choice (or joint first choice) the previous evening. Lunch was excellent and it was everything that dinner should have been the previous evening. Being lunch I skipped the starter and chose for my main course Lobster Tortellini. Again we were served truffle and it was delicious beyond words; my main course was excellent. Because my dessert the evening before had been so memorable I knew I had to have dessert so I ordered a Millefeuille with Raspberries. I sat back to wait and to enjoy my wine; suddenly we were all served what I can only describe as a house dessert... it can't be described as a sorbet to cleanse the palate because it was what I can only describe as an amazing French Trifle in a cocktail flute; then my Millefeuille arrived and the presentation was breathtaking and from a hotelier that is some accolade! It tasted as good as it looked; one of my compainions had Souffle Grand Marnier and he was as happy as I had been the previous evening.

So there we are... this restaurant can be outstanding, memorable even fabulous but it can also be lacklustre, pretentious and outrageously expensive without a hint of service and hospitality - I suppose that all adds up to being inconsistent and that is a shame because this restaurant has the capability of being truly great. And few people are willing to eat the parson's egg in the hope that the good spots will outshine the bad. I would love to say be adventurous but the price is too great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Over rated & over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went here based on reputation and found that it really isn't that good. The staff are friendly but fairly pushy. The menu looks impressive and we both ordered bouillabaisse - when it arrived the preparation and presentation was unskilled and the flavours disappointing. Prices are very high for what is a very ordinary eating experience and we left feeling pretty ripped off. The best bouillabaisse in Marseille can be had at Restaurant Chez Michel and they really offer a gastronomic treat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK, if you are on a short visit and are willing to spend a bit of money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Le Miramar is allegedly the best place to eat bouillabaisse in Marseille - their bouillabaisse is certainly good and it is certainly a substantial two course meal (i.e fish soup followed by the fish that was used to make the soup) but the restaurant as a whole is not really good value for money.

The meals are expensive and the service is generally poor. I have eaten here three times now and although there has never been a problem with the food, I have come away with feeling slightly dissatisfied and with the nagging feeling of having paid over the odds.

OK, If you only have a short time in Marseille, want to spend an afternoon or evening sitting by the vieux port and don't mind splashing out a bit. Otherwise, look for somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely FANTASTIC Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Slow service to begin with and we were a little forgotten but then it was a very busy night and we were a large party. We did have to keep asking for a drinks order to be taken and then ask for water and then ask for our food order to be taken but once we accepted the french slow, relaxed way (and had some wine) we really began to enjoy it.
the bouillabaisse was superb although this was the first time I had it served across 2 courses - the stock comes first as a very filling bowl and then after that another course of the stock but this time with the fish meat in it. Lots of bones and no calamari but it was still delicious. Prior to each course we had little samplers of delicious foods - veloutee of celery; fruit and jams etc etc.
It is an expensive restaurant but i have to say I will go back time and time again without hesitation.
Try it and tell me you love it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Miramar also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.