We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality hostel, perfect location, nice staff, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hello Marseille Hostel

Hello Marseille Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hello Marseille Hostel to your Saves list
Hello Marseille Hostel
12, Rue Breteuil, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great quality hostel, perfect location, nice staff, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

You certainly can´t expect more for that price: Super nice (volunteer) staff, okay beds, super clean, own shower in one of the rooms, nice community living room. People get in contact quickly at breakfast/community dinner or hanging out in the living room.
Only disadvantage: as the staff are international volunteers who only stay for a while, many of them don´t know much about the city. But tourist information is close (as everything), not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
7
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff were OUTSTANDING. It feels like you're staying at your friends' flat (both in size and relations with the staff). Cute, tiny but functional (the showers and sinks were separate so more than one person could be getting ready at once). The location is great. Recommend !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's one of the best hostels. I've ever stayed in, and believe me I've stayed in a lot of hostels. The staff go out of a way to make sure you're at home.
I love the city Marseille so much that I will be will be going back soon and when I do I will be staying at Hello Marseille

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located right at the Vieux Port, the Hostel offers easy access to the all of the city life. The Hostel is tiny, but well equipped and very clean. Together with the fun, outgoing and helpful staff you'll find a familiar and intimate vibe. Staff will organize (or help you) organize fun trips and activities. Really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location very close to the port. Staff were very friendly and more than happy to give recommendations and directions for places to go. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Community dinners were available, as well as a simple breakfast in the mornings. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a short visit last year I wanted to come back because I really liked staying at Hello Marseille. The staff is just awesome and the location of the hostel is great. The staff is very helpful if you want to plan a trip to the Calanques, the beach or the city. The community dinners with staff and guests together made me feel like I was part of a big family. I made a lot of friends and got inspiration for new trips all over the world. I highly recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Every room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

As this was our first time ever staying in a hostel we were not too sure what to expect. Upon arriving we were greeted by the very friendly travelling staff that worked there. They showed us our room and explained everything needed to know. The hostel has a very home feeling to it, as there is your room and then a main lounge/common area. We found it nice and easy to get along with the staff and fellow travelers and enjoyed socialising/drinkning at nights there. The location is super close and easy to the train station/port etc. Facilities were nice and clean! I would definitely recommend this place to other young enthusiastic travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hello Marseille Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Marseille Hostel

Address: 12, Rue Breteuil, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Marseille Hostel is located in a safe area in the very center of Marseille, the "Vieux Port". Our HostelHello Marseille is a brand new concept in town. We opened May 13rd 2010 in fully renovated facilities within a charming typical 19th century Haussmanian building (marble floor, high ceiling with nice mouldings, large rooms). Note: Beware, we are a backpackers hostel ...On the third floor, no lift. So to our great regret, our hostel is unfortunately ​not convenient for - disabled persons or persons with limited physical abilities - minors under 18, even if travelling with elders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hello Marseille Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello Marseille Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.