We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worthy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hello Marseille Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hello Marseille Hostel to your Saves list
Hello Marseille Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hello Marseille Hostel
12, rue de Breteuil, Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Totally worthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

It's a nice hostel, very clean, one of the closest to Marseille center. There is a furnished kitchen where you can cook and a cute living room with TV, play station and a nice terrace. The staff is really nice... Go there! Its worthy! And its not expensive at all...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hostel was very clean, location was close to the port and metro. Had a kitchen, breakfast was simple with french bread and jam but it was really good. Only negative thing was we had to drag our luggage up 3 floors.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I would highly recommened Hello Marseille. First because it is located in the centre of Marseille, 2 minutes from the Vieux-Port, with lots of restaurants, bars, shops, buses, train, etc. Then because it is really excellent value for your money: at €17.50, you get a clean room, with clean sheets, and even breakfast with unlimited coffee and bread with Jam or butter (all included in the price). You can also use the kitchen and the fridge, so if you had enough of restaurant food, you can bring your own, cook it and store it in the giant fridge. I know that there is only two bathrooms, one of which you can only access through one of the shared bedrooms, but I can forget that because what really makes Hello Marseille different from other hostels, is the 5 stars service they provide, which I have never encountered before. The staff is friendly and helpful, and would put themselves out to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There is a great atmosphere, and it’s a great place to meet other travellers from around the world to exchange tips. You can use the wifi for free, and they also have a computer for residents to use. So if you are a friendly type of person who likes socialising and meeting new nice people, Hello Marseille is the best place for you. I know that I would definitely stay there again when I go back to Marseille.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

This new hostel is conveniently located 5 minutes away from the Vieux Port which makes visiting Marseille easy. All the staffs there were super helpful and friendly, and the common room is just an awesome place to hang. However, the rooms did not have AC, which was rather difficult during summer. I would recommend to stay here though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed at "Hello Marseille Hostel" for 3 nights with two friends and it was a great experience. It is in the center, so when you get there it may look strange because it is in a building with other offices and maybe even apartments but the hostel is definitely on one of the top floors!!! It has the feel of an apartment because it is very friendly and open. The staff is very helpful and engaged in helping those visiting Marseille see and discover the authentic places in the city. All of that for a great price! Have a nice visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This brand new hostel located a few steps from Vieux Port, so location can't be better for a hostel. The hostel is located on the third floor of a historic building (no elevator), but the interior appears brand new: new marble flooring, counter tops and tiles; new bathroom, new WC. There are 2 showers and 1 toilet (maybe there is another toilet, but I didn't ask). it is very small, only three rooms with about 6 beds each. You won't see any signs from the street, only when you get close to the door you'll see a small sign on the mailbox. I wish I had taken some pictures of the installations, since the managers don't seem to consider that a necessity for their website. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Very good quality hostel.. and for a very competitive price. At night it was very peaceful and all the mods and cons were to a very high standard. i would recommend the place to anyone who wants to discover the real Marseille!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hello Marseille Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Marseille Hostel

Address: 12, rue de Breteuil, Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Marseille Hostel is located in a safe area in the very center of Marseille, the "Vieux Port". Our HostelHello Marseille is a brand new concept in town. We opened May 13rd 2010 in fully renovated facilities within a charming typical 19th century Haussmanian building (marble floor, high ceiling with nice mouldings, large rooms). Note: Beware, we are a backpackers hostel ...On the third floor, no lift. So to our great regret, our hostel is unfortunately ​not convenient for - disabled persons or persons with limited physical abilities - minors under 18, even if travelling with elders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hello Marseille Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello Marseille Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.