We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal for short-term stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles

Save Saved
You added Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 rue Honnorat, 13003 Marseille, France (Formerly Citea Marseille Saint-Charles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #49 of 123 hotels in Marseille
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Not ideal for short-term stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Adagio Access St Charles is great if you need to be in town for a while, but in my case, it was just four days and I would have appreciated a "real" breakfast and having at least a couple extra towels around. Location is great for the train station but a 20-30-minute walk to the rest of Marseille, like the Vieux Port or the Opera district. The area is not the best but better than one would imagine next to a train station. Rooms are rather small but come with kitchens fully stocked! As others have said, there's no cleaning for stays over 4 nights, not even fresh towels or toilet paper. Also, there's no WiFi in the rooms - only cable internet that is very fast when it works, but it stopped working on two occasions. Otherwise, the room was well-appointed, clean when I arrived, and the people downstairs were always helpful and friendly. Most importantly, the hotel is quiet and you don't hear the trains outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    57
    25
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
35
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a 1-bedroom apartment. The aparthotel was located directly next to Marseille's St Charles station. We took the train to several places in Provence, including Avignon. St Charles also has a bus station with regular services to Aix and other places. There is also an airport shuttle services. In short, very convenient for getting around when using public transport. The room was very spacious and we were happy with the standard of cleanliness throughout. The shower was not very practical and convenient, as it was a wet room with no shower curtains or shower doors. Also, the sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable. Although the hotel was pre-paid, we were charged an additional eur12 on arrival, and it was never clear what it was for. But it wasn't a big amount to moan about, as generally we were quite happy with the accommodation, especially for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed there for 10 nights. The room itself is not bad. But ! They only clean the rooms once a week: they don't change the towels, don't clean the trash or even provide toilet paper ! And this is not a case of a bad employee, it's written hotel policy.

You are also expected to clean up yourself and take out the trash when you leave. What kind of hotel does that ?!

The breakfast was very basic, just milk, coffee, croissants, jam, bread, yoghurt and corn flakes/muesli. No eggs, no ham or cheese, no fruits etc. And even these frequently are finished and are not refilled. We had to ask for water and bread only to hear "it's finished, sorry", half an hour or more before the breakfast closing time. Eventually we asked for our breakfast money back for the remaining days.

The location is right by the side of St. Charles train station. I can imagine that it might be convenient for some people but frankly, it's an awful place to live.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is just a few hundred metres from the TGV station and there is a Metro station there too, so arrival access and local transport couldn't be easier. There is 24 hour reception too which helps if your train arrives late.
The rooms have a kitchenette and are quite roomy and there is lift access. The WiFi didn't work very well in our room but there are couches in reception where is does work. However there is an Ethernet connector in the room. The staff were very helpful.
The area has little in the way of cafes though there is a great pizza / kebab shop just down the road where they are friendly, speak English and make fantastic food for tiny prices. There is a small super market one block away and a patisserie across the road from it so if you want to prepare your own food, these are quite convenient.
The hotel is ideal for a short stay of a few days but it is not the nicest area to stroll looking for cafes, but it is certainly a convenient location for transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived in Marseille on a Saturday night at 11pm. I’d rung in advance to notify our late arrival, but it appears that reception is available all night (at any rate, when we came back at almost 1am one night, there was still someone. We found the young gentleman who worked the night shift to be very friendly and welcoming, and most helpful in giving us directions. The daytime staff was constantly changing, and the service was slightly less consistent – sometimes we were greeted, sometimes we were not acknowledged. When we left, the housecleaning staff was very kind and offered to take our trash out for us when she saw our mountain of baggage.
We took a studio room, which had an en suite bathroom and a fully-equipped kitchenette. Having stayed in several different styles of apartment-hotels before, I really enjoyed the fact that this kitchenette was separate from the sleeping area. There was a microwave and a coffee machine in addition to the stove top. We even found a wine bottle opener much to our relief, as we had forgotten to bring ours. The double bed was comfortable, although possibly insufficient for people who need plenty of space when they sleep. The curtains blocked out the sunlight adequately, and the room was bright and airy when those were drawn back. Air-conditioning worked very well. There was a working TV, telephone (we didn’t use it) and cable internet, and a spacious wardrobe. The bathroom was large and clean, and the vanity lights were a nice touch. There was instant hot water in the bath, much to my delight.
The hotel maintains a high standard of cleanliness. The general areas (lobby, lift, corridors) were clean and well-lit. I cannot fault the cleanliness in the room either.
For an apartment-style hotel, the price we paid was good value. It would probably cost more in peak season (July/August) but Marseille is lovely in May.
The hotel is situated right next to the Marseille St Charles train station for travellers coming in by train. I think the interstate bus depot was just next to it too. In the train station there is a metro stop, although the hotel is walking distance from Vieux Port, Le Panier, La Canabiere and all the touristy areas.
I would definitely recommend this apartment – it is suitable for couples, business travellers, and families with children as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 708, facing the residential side. Despite our close proximity to the station, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Maybe I didn't pay enough attention when I booked a room but I didn't see any info that WiFi works only in the lobby and you have only an internet cable in the room so I was rather disappointed when I arrived there - we didn't have a laptop with us so had to go down to the lobby every time we needed internet. I think they could have routers on each floor for the money you pay per night. Me and my boyfriend stayed in the hotel for 5 days. For this period you can have your room cleaned only for an additional payment. And as the cleaning was not included we couldn't have a new towel. I think that an absurd. If you don't pay for the cleaning you have to throw all garbage by yourself when you leave the place.
But there are good things about this place. It's very close to the train station which also has an airport shuttle stop. When the window is closed you don't hear the train station at all. And the room has an air con. The bathroom is large enough and the kitchen is fully equipped but is rather small. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles

Address: 23 rue Honnorat, 13003 Marseille, France (Formerly Citea Marseille Saint-Charles)
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 123 hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.