We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Acanthes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marseille
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Acanthes
69 Avenue de Saint Julien, 13012 Marseille, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Marseille B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Spent one night at this amazing B&B: loved everything about it, starting from an ingenious combination of historic detail and modern conveniences, including a fantastic bed, with Society linens (the best bed during our 12 day trip to France and we stayed at some fancy hotels) and a great French breakfast served with home-made honey and jams by Odile while conversing about Russian literature:). We loved the intensity of Marseille and the relaxation of this peaceful villa tucked away within close proximity of all the action. For dinner, we walked to a local restaurant recommended by Odile--great Italy inspired cuisine. Hope to be back to Marseille and Les Acanthes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Staying in a 400 year old hunting lodge is quite an experience, especially when your host is so knowledgable, articulate, helpful and down-to-earth. The house is beautiful and speaks of its history without being at all pretentious; the grounds are private, well maintained and so peaceful. The dogs were a delight. But what makes this place so memorable and recommendable is the host(ess), Odile. She provided easy, straightforward directions, informative and considered commentary on Marseille and explanations on everything from French politics to European history.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

A lovely oasis, beautiful garden, charming old house. Odile is a very gracious, welcoming host. Her small dogs and cats are very much part of the household and are well-behaved. It is VERY quiet here, in spite of being in a busy neighborhood, because the house is well back from the street and surrounded by garden. We had the room on the ground floor; it is spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but well-prepared and presented. The fresh-squeezed orange juice was delicious. We parked overnight at the little turnaround just outside the gate; we were told that this was a safe place to park. In the morning we were stunned to see that all four wheels on the car had been stolen and the car left on cement blocks. It would have been nice if the host had offered us a discount on the room to make up for the trouble we had at her establishment, but she did not do this. We had to file a police report and deal with insurance--what a pain. So you should insist on parking inside the locked gates.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odile N, Owner at Les Acanthes, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
I'm really sorry about this situation, but just for information, in 67 years my familly and me parked our vehicles there, it's the first time that something like this happened.
Steals can arrive everywhere, but I can re-assure that this place is secure and quiet.
Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a marvellous place for a stay at Marseille. It is close to the city (10 min by car or metro), but Cassis, Les Calanques, Aix or Salon en Provence are easily reachable as the motorway is close.

The other reviews talked already about the atmosphere and flair of the house, there is only little to add. The house and Garden are a real Provence experience, all is nicely decorated (incl. real pieces of art). The appartment over two floors was excellent, well equipped, perfectly clean and a very nice place to stay. We were there with our kids, this works as well as long as the childs are old enough to safely climb the stairs.

Odile (the owner) offers a stumbling breakfast with daily changing variety of breads, croissants, fresh juice and real French coffee. She is always available for a chat and offers great recommendations for dining out or visiting Marseille.

We truly enjoyed the experience and will definitely return to Odile. We love the place!!! I recommended Les Acanthes to friends and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We have stayed this year at Les Acanthes for the 4th year in a row. We have been ecnchanted with this place from the first time on. It is a welcome oasis after spending a day, or morning in hectic Marseille. Very serene with a nice garden. Especially the apartment is recommendable, as it offers a living room, sleeping quarters, a bathroom, and a kitchen. On top of this all you can sit on the terrace and enjoy the quietness of the garden in the afternoon by sunset.
Odille, the owner and manageress is a perfect host(ess) caring a great deal for her guests. there is much to say for the breakfasts, outside on the big terrace, where Odille serves a variety of rolls, special jams and even more special teas.
When we visit Marseille, there is one place to stay: LES ACANTHES.!!
Especially if you consider that you have a nice place to stay, for about the same hotel as an average hotel would cost you!.
What helps is that there are shops within walking distance, including a traitteur, and a fine bakery. There is also a small centre commercial, so you can find whatever you need very close to Les Acanthes, including a metro station that takes you to the heart of Marseille ( the vieux port) in a matter of minutes.
Odille: keep up the good work, and give our regards to your lovely dogs!!
Mirto Henriquez.
dec. 2011.

Room Tip: The best option is the apartment. The room downstairs in the main building is also very well furnish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Les Acanthes is a pretty and quiet hideaway just out of the city, you'll need a small car to find it, but once you are there, it is lovely, especially for dog lovers, think that there is a cat too.... I have a cat allergy so I was uptight about this as the little kitty is a friendly one, but once I bought some drugs for this and some eye drops, I was OK. The house is lovely, and the hostess could not be nicer or more helpful, we were in the ground floor room, no stairs, (well a couple of them)
my only complaint (other than the cats - but this IS someone's home, and the allergies are my problem not the homeowners) would be that the shower had a smell a little like that of a tom cat spray. Honest, it did! Other than that, the B & B was very clean, as if it were not spotless the cat dander would have really done me in, and it didn't. We were a group of six couples, and there was plenty of room for our three rooms as well as another couple who were staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel Guelfo di Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hard to convey the real serenity and authentic beauty of Les Acanthes. Odile's intelligent and sensitive aesthetique extends to all aspects of caring for her guests; from beautifully appointed rooms and public spaces, to local olive oil-based soaps in the baths to simply elegant breakfasts, all wrapped up in her genuinely caring personality, staying at Les Acanthes is, in sum, therapeutic in the deepest sense of true hospitality. As a frequent traveler whose default lodging is usually the nearest Park Hyatt, this hidden, historic chambre d'hôte, nestled in a real neighborhood/Provençal village with its own metro stop and a 10 minute ride to gritty, teaming, wonderful Marseille Centre Ville, Gare St. Charles and beyond, has proved a healthy re-set.

Room Tip: For stays of more than a few days, recommend reserving the apartment with its own kitchen, clothes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Acanthes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Acanthes

Address: 69 Avenue de Saint Julien, 13012 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 15 minutes from the historic centre of Marseille’s Vieux Port(historic harbour), your choice of either a quiet bedroom or a small apartment awaits you.You will fall in love with the tranquillity and charm of our Bed and Breakfast in Marseille, a former hunting lodge dating from the XVIIth century.You may pass your time enjoying the myriad activities of the Provence, the sea, strolling along pebbled beaches, golfing…At night you may attend concertsin Marseille, Aix en Provence and la Roque-d’Antheron, go to the theatre in Avignon, the city of Popes, or if you prefer, spend a calm and relaxing evening in the garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Acanthes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Les Acanthes to your Saves list