We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Marseille hotel with lots of charm and character.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Peron to your Saves list
Hotel Peron
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Corniche du President John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Marseille hotel with lots of charm and character.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

If you are looking for a unique, funky, affordable hotel with a great view of the water and a wonderful staff, you likely can't do any better in Marseille than Hotel Peron. We were offered water, maps and suggestions when we first arrived and met at the door each time we came in. Yes, it is old (that is part of the appeal) but it is perfectly clean, the rooms are actually larger than many in Europe and, although there is some noise from the street, it is not bad. Breakfast is bit pricey, perhaps, but better than most we've experienced. Ignore the negative reviews, this place is a real gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    78
    22
    17
    13
See reviews for
24
83
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I visited Hotel Peron four times for the past year, on my own as well as with my partner, for business as well as for leisure. I would never dream of booking any other hotel in Marseille. The hotel is perfectly situated with a stunning view over the sea. All the rooms I have stayed in were clean and had their own charming decoration. The staff is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Last but not least, the breakfast buffet is great, which I find rare in France.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I notice that the best Hotel Peron reviews here are European. By Europeans. Perhaps only non-Americans, non-British/English speakers can appreciate the total eccentricity of this fabulously unusual, CHEAP and right-on-the-water hotel. Each room is completely different, each very artful and oddball, perfectly clean and quiet. If you rent the corner rooms in the 20s, you're on the second floor facing the water. I dare you to find any place like it for the price. Climb over the railing and swim in the ocean within minutes of waking up. One note: forget the complementary breakfast, it's useless. There are nice places to have good coffee nearby and you can walk back from the center of the city and have a nap very easily. I think of this hotel at least once a month and have a big, poster-size photo of it my bedroom. I'm from New York City, with in the Hotel Peron.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended by Lonely Planet as their TOP place to stay in Marseille. Unfortunately, we were driving around France and didn't have access to the internet - otherwise we would have seen the reviews here and never gone. It was probably a very beautiful hotel at some point, a long time ago... but now it's just run down, dirty and weird. Lonely Planet describes it as a museum like view into Art Deco: this actually means that it's just very, very outdated and nothing has been changed in the rooms (including the sheets) since the 1920's. It was the most expensive place we stayed during our week in France, and the worst. The walls are paper thin - you can hear every tiny noise in the room next door - we were woken up at 3am by two women who had just come back and were having a normal conversation. It was like they were in the same room! Stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

worst place in the world filthy, he addams family house has more appeal,silly girl at the tourist office recommeneded it stayed one night couldnt wait to get out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany/Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I made the mistake of booking Hotel Peron after reading about it in a Lonely Planet book. Wish I'd read the reviews here first!

Let's start with the good things. The rooms have great views of the sea. The staff can be helpful at times. There's free wifi.

That's it for the good, now for the bad. Our room was dirty with sand on the floor and chairs; there was hair in the bed (uh... it was far too curly for our liking); and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned, underwear from the last guest had been left on the floor. Given that the shower had no screen we used our towels to mop up the water on the floor and put them in the bathtub to be replaced. They were just hung back on the towel rail. The hotel is on a main road on the seafront so there's lots of traffic noise.

We asked for a car park to be reserved and were told that would be ok but upon arrival were told there was no space available. So we had to drive around to find a park and lug our luggage to the hotel. Finding a park was not easy given that it's a seaside area.

We stayed for two nights and I spent the second night awake from 4.30am from the traffic noise, music coming from somewhere and also because I couldn't wait until it was daylight so I could get out of there. It was skin crawlingly dirty and not at all worth 85 Euros per night.

Oh yeah, and if the people in the room next to you are having a good time (why they would want to take their clothes off when it's so dirty is beyond me, but anyway) you will hear all about it.

Awful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Just returned from a weekend in Marseille, unfortunately as there was a marathon on and very few rooms available near the seafront. Although Hotel Peron was classed as two star, I am convinced there must be a special category for a hotel of this kind - it was so laughably bad like something from a very bad B movie. Stuck in time from around the 60's - the decor was grotty and bizzarre but I wouldn't mind that if the place had been cleaner. Beds were like sleeping on blocks of wood with the bedding visibly threadbare. A nasty dog awaited your arrival at the bottom of the stairs and had pleasure in biting anyone within his vicinity, something that didn't bother the owners in the least. Considering we were in France, the home of the croissant - there is no excuse for a breakfast where they're so hard they could be used as lethal weapons - probably yesterdays leftovers. Adding insult to injury we were charged 230.00 Euro from 1 adult and child for 3 nights. We hadn't even bothered with breakfast after the first morning so I would consider this price crazy ( I can get a fine 4 star back home in Ireland for the same price). But beggars can't be choosers on the weekend we picked - bad choice. It was an experience to say the least. A Bad One !

  • Liked — The door out.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Peron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peron

Address: 119 Corniche du President John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peron 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Peron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.