We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vertigo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vertigo - Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vertigo - Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Vertigo - Centre
42, rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vertigo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hostel is neat, clean, quiet and homey. It's also 2 minutes from the St Charles Train Station in Marseille, a big plus in my opinion. I always try to get a 4 bed room as I find this usually equates to a good nights sleep. (Their other hostel is a 15 minute walk away down by the port which I've also stayed in - both offer exceptional quality).

Room Tip: If your on a budget and want somewhere central - you can't go past this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
29
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff were really accommodating to the fact we brought bicycles with us. We were able to lock them in the courtyard. Rooms basic but clean and 1 bathroom between 4 was pretty good. Courtyard nice setting. The city its self is alright for a day or 2.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hostel is literally across the road from the train station.

It is possible to walk to the Old Port from the hostel however some of the streets seemed a bit dodgy and the people there didn't look the friendliest. There aren't too many food options nearby except a kebab shop and the McDonalds and other fast food options at the train station.

The reception were helpful in giving us tips on what to see in Marseille.

There is a kitchen if you prefer to cook your own food, and a lounge area as well as an outdoor area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here as a young woman travelling alone. On my first night I ventured out of the hostel to the train station (only 100 metres away) and was yelled at, approached and followed by 6 men. Returning to the hostel I found that a woman had walked in off the street and moved into my dorm room, and it took until after 1am (and two police officers!) to get her out. The staff were very apologetic and I was reassured that "It's ok, it was just a psychotic woman."
The rooms were plain but functional, as was the kitchen, and the best feature was the outdoor courtyard where you could sit and chat. There were also free computers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was booked because I arrived on a late train and knew that Marseille could be "questionable" in certain areas late at night. The location was excellent, less than 5 min walk from the train station. I only stayed for around 9 hours total so cannot comment on a longer term stay but my impressions are like so: Location of hostel was on a street with busy cafes very noisy until at least 3am.. even with earplugs could hear the noise and had problems sleeping. maybe if you are the back part of hostel it would be quieter. If you are used to accommodation in nice quiet areas of town then maybe the impression is that area of hostel was seedy but I liked this aspect and it was not like red light district / drug taking area. Stayed in 2 person dorm, room itself was fine, en suite shower was fine and roomy, pretty good for price paid (at around 24 euro per night possibly at the high end of budget hostel accomm?) Main problem was in the kitchen: although the hostel was quite big there was one single cooking ring for everybody. I managed to slip in before a group of 6 Koreans who seemed to be preparing fish feast of the century. Otherwise common areas ok, clean and tidy, pay for breakfast. Generally hostel ok especially the location if you need early train or arrive late, it's ok but definitely not standing out for me in any way.

Room Tip: Back of hostel is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

For a hostel, this place was just abut perfect. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Clean and large rooms (we stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm). It is in a fantastic location - 2 minutes walk to the old port.

No aircon in rooms - but who expects that in a hostel!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by a receptionist who offered us an "upgrade" to the twin room. This was certainly no upgrade - more like a demotion to the housekeepers basement cleaners closet! During the night dead flies would appear in the room, the window opened to the dirty street and there were hairs everywhere!! The room only came with a small fan. We stayed for two nights and each morning I woke up very ill. On the plus side, their toilet roll was very satisfying!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vertigo - Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo - Centre

Address: 42, rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Vertigo - Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vertigo - Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.