We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Florent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Florent to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Florent
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Mazeau, 84100 Orange, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Cornwall
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our experience didn't match the many poor reviews this hotel has attracted. It was perfectly fine. We found the owner polite and friendly. I can imagine he might be grumpy if people insist on speaking English to him which is plain discourteous. We had a good room on the second floor which had double bed, TV, air conditioning, shower room, free wifi. Yes, the artwork is kitsch but no more so than many boutique hotels. At breakfast, the owner was busying himself getting plates prepared and i didn't feel he was watching over us. At 70 euros it was less than half what Best Western was offering, and it couldn't be more convenient for Orange's historic sites and the many restaurants. We'll come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not bad value for money, though there is no possibility of secure parking. The patron (manager/owner?) seems to have been taking lessons from the Basil Fawlty School of Charm; he's very brusque and at breakfast seemed very worried about putting out too many slices of cheese or ham, too much bread or juice - and once it was out he went around the tables trying to persuade guests to take more, presumably in case it was wasted.

The hotel is very reminiscent of the sort of place that 30 years ago was everywhere in France - odd design elements (our washing basin was in a niche hacked out of the wall) and dark corridors. The bed was comfy and the room a decent size, though not enhanced by the dark grey net awning over the bed. At least the day of the 20W light bulb is gone now, and there was WiFi of a sort. It was clean enough, but the absence of a shower curtain over the bath meant the floor in there was inevitably flooded.

It is very central indeed, in a narrow street which opens onto the area in front of the Roman Theatre, and there is an excellent restaurant across the alleyway. Orange on a summer evening is a pleasant place to stroll, and we enjoyed our evening, but the only car park is five minute's walk away, which is not good for anyone who worries about security.

Room Tip: No suggestion of choice - you get what you are given!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at the afternoon, and an angry man came dragging out from behind some curtains. He was probably angry for being bothered. When it turned out we din´t speak french, we was really, really annoyed.
He called his wife, yelled at her in the phone, and gave it to us to speak to her.
Something wrong had happened to our booking so we had to book again, over the counter. He yelled at his wife again and we got a room. It was so ugly and dark that we wanted to get out in the street right away. I heard the man talking about us to another guy downstairs.
We decided to make the best out of our holidays and booked anther hotel.
L´herbier just around the corner was cheaper, soooooo much more nice. I know we payed for 2 rooms this night, but Herbier was worth it!

Do not stay here. It is a waste of your money, time, and energy. Life´s too short.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a small hotel which is very central and despite being a little grubby its value for money. I paid £105 for three rooms and had no problem with the stay.People will complain about this hotel but its not expensive so if you want luxury then its not for you but if you want something thats value and well located its fine.

Be careful where you park in the town as there are regular market days and you could find your car towed in the middle of the night. Check with the hotel but if you don't speak french it might be difficult. The owner is very helpful and friendly and the rooms all have murals in them I think painted by a relative of his.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Under new management since November 2012, the owner has started upgrading some of the features of this hotel (eg new carpet). It is superbly located, in a quiet street close to the Theatre and its museum and opposite a great restaurant (The Forum).

We were given a "winter special" of 70 euros for a night for two - an ensuite room with breakfast included. The building is extremely old and the rooms are quaint, with lovely old furniture. Bathrooms are adequate and there are plenty of wonderful thick towels provided.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

i was welcomed very warmly and courteous at the st florent.
the bed and shower all had fresh linen and towels, but the floor, walls ect were just very muggy, looked dirty. the toilet on the hall was not very welcoming, with damp carpet on the floor that came off at the edges.
i recomend this hotel because of its great location and good service and price, but its only for sleeping in the room. they should really take out the carpet and put in a floor thats higenic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This family owned hotel is four floors. Lobby and breakfast room on ground level and three floors above that with guest rooms. No elevator. The hotel has paintings by the owners family throughout the building including in each guest room, some of the paintings are wonderful. The rooms were clean and large enough though the issue with our room was that the bathroom walls did not reach to the ceiling so there was not audio privacy from the bathroom. The shower was very slow to drain which limited the shower time or the water would overflow the shower stall. The floors were not level nor were the walls, this is an OLD building. Bed was reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was fine for 6 Euros, no meat but cheese, yogurt, cereal and breads. Host family was wonderful and the location is great next to the Roman theater. We did not have any noise issues but there was almost no one else in the hotel with us. Price was right at 50 Euros. Internet kept going in and out in our room but in the lobby the signal was very strong. Orange was a great city to visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Florent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Florent

Address: 4 rue Mazeau, 84100 Orange, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Florent 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saint Florent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Florent Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Florent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.