We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise that enhanced my visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Glacier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Glacier to your Saves list
Hotel Le Glacier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46, Cours Aristide Briand, 84100 Orange, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Orange
GreenLeadersBronze level
Correze
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise that enhanced my visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Visiting Orange in August fo the music festival - La Choregie - I had the luck to choose, quite at random, this lovely hotel perfectly situated for visits to the "Theatre Antique" for the events.
In this visit I went on two successive evenings - first for a concert by Patrizia Ciofi and Leo Nucci (magnificent!) and then for "Un Ballo in Maschera" (wonderful even though interrupted by a short rain storm!).
It was my first visit to Orange and, as always, there is a degree of apprehension on such occasions. This was immediately banished upon my arrival at the hotel.

The greetings were cordial and utterly natural with no sign of any forced politeness. There was an instant warmth and feeling of welcome that continued throughout my, all too short, stay.

Natalie and Philippe who own, and run, the hotel are genuinely interested in one's welfare. Nothing is too much trouble. As evidence of their genuine kindness I must report that - on the second and, sadly, last evening - a Japanese friend (who was staying at another hotel further away due to having decided, quite late, to make a visit) came to meet me as 'Le Glacier' is so convenient for the events and for the pre-opera dinners in the open air around the amphiteatre..

Soon after we had eaten, she realized that she had left her ticket in her hotel room. Taxis are not easy to obtain (due to the road closures around the Theatre) and so in a spirit of some concern I went to the conveniently situated 'Le Glacier'and asked for advice andhelp.

Philippe explained our predicament to numerous taxi concerns but, due to the difficulties of access (as already mentioned above) we could not access any transport.

Without hesitation, Philippe took us to his garage and, by a circuitous route, saved the evening by enabling Naoko to retrieve her ticket and he returned us to 'Le Glacier' in ample time for the opera. The only reward he would accept was our grateful thanks! Service way above expectation for which I, and Naoko, wish to provide him a public "Thank You".

I wish to make clear that this immensely kind act has in no way changed the veracity of my report. It is over and above the fundamentals that I describe with a subjective honesty below.

The hotel is well equipped with everything one requires for comfort and a totally pleasant stay.

I recommend Le Glacier without reservation and shall - ceteris paribus - be there in 2014 for the events of La Choregie.

This was however, I must repeat, a visit enhanced by the kindly helpfulness of Natalie and Philippe at "Le Glacier"

Graham Harris

Room Tip: Book early as there is great demand for good accommodation (as my Japanese friend found ou to her co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    63
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
93
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stopped at Le Glacier for many years on our way South. It's a family run affair that clearly takes pride in the service it provides. Rooms are excellent, with many recently refurbished. Parking is available at the front of the hotel, but the area is closed off twice a week on market days. If your visit happens to clash, you can book a place in their secure parking area (4 - 6 cars, depending on their size) for 9 Euros per night. Excellent breakfast served from 0700 hrs. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but as you are just about in the centre of the town, you are spoilt for choice. We will return again next year - it's now very much a part of out holiday.

Room Tip: Watch out for market days if you have a car with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is my second time in this hotel. A good hotel, great location in the city centre and near the antique Roman theater.
My room was small but very well appointed and clean. The air conditioner wasn't working (they sad that a previous guest had broken it), but it wasn't too hot anyway.
I loved to have breakfast on the sidewalk in front of the hotel.
I was there with a cycle tour group - The Chain Gang, and that fact made the experience even more special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent one night in the hotel in a quick stopover. It was in a good location, very close to the amazing Roman theatre and plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. Hotel was fine, nice old building, quirky furnishings etc. Our room on the top floor was tiny but quiet, sunny and had nice view over the back lane. All clean and reasonably comfortable. There was a lift for the first couple of floors but we had to carry luggage up one flight of stairs. Good option for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello,
Very sincere thanks for the advice left on Tripadvisor. This is always a very good way to inform travelers about hotels and restaurants worldwide. Unfortunately, we have not managed to find your name to see what room and what date you have been in our house.
The only part of the hotel is not accessible by the elevator is the front with 21 to 24 rooms which are very large and comfortable rooms.
All our rooms are pictured and described on our website that allows our visitors to really choose their room.
Thank you again for leaving a good opinion of our house and wish you much happiness in your travels ... Philippe & Nathalie, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a pretty bad time in this hotel's "superior room". The aircon did not work and so temporary solution was provided which was inadequate. The parking was also very tight and not up to standard. But the worst of it was our room (56) had a really awful view of the bakery chimneys which were on all night and therefore windo could not be opened because of the smell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello, we read the notice you left on Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel in room 56. You do not at all appreciated it for the points you raise. Let us bring you the following responses:
You stayed in the new part of the hotel. It has just been commissioned and the company that installed the air conditioning had delay on another site, our system will be put into operation tomorrow Wednesday. Our reception tells you this on arrival and there was a fan in your room.
You also indicate that our parking lot is small but you still managed to park your vehicle inside.
The view from your window does not suit you and you report the chimneys of the nearby bakery made ​​noise all night. On view, we would have moved you to your room upon your request at check-in. For the noise from the bakery, we did not know and we will ask about it to the bakery owner.
Finally, you indicate your notes by a terrible price and poor quality bedding report. For your information, the bedding in room 56 is new and as you can see from all the feedback from our customers, they have always said that we had a very good value for money.
We are very sorry sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay in our house managed by our family since 1947. If you had told it our Staff at the check-out, we would have immediately launched a compensation procedure to satisfy you. We hope to receive you in a better way another day, yours sincerely, Philippe & Nathalie BAUDOIN - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a gem - once we found it! We had a teeny tiny little room (they did offer to move us into a larger room, but that offer would have been better had we not already settled in - why not just do it at check-in?). I think the bathroom was larger than the bedroom! Both rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Our room faced the back, so was very quiet. The hotel was undergoing some significant renovation when we were there, but it never disturbed us. It was in a nice location within walking distance to the Roman Theatre as well as several good restaurants. The only down side was that Internet access was horrible - we never were able to connect. Staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. Definitely a "keeper".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We needed less than 5 minutes to get our room in September 2012; the reception was kind and efficient.
We booked an executive room and paid around 60 euros excl. breakfast.
We can confirm all the positive feedbacks given by the previous clients.
The equipments in our room were allright (we even got an manual heater in the bathroom, was delicious!) and the comfort of the room was this you would dream to find in every 3 stars hotels in France...
Also good buffet breakfast served up to 10h30 in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Many Many Many thanks for this amazing feedback. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house ! Our family works every day in this house since 1947 for it ! Hope it will be better if you come back again one day.... Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Glacier

Address: 46, Cours Aristide Briand, 84100 Orange, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and Friendly hotel in a typical provencal city, Le Glacier is owned by our family since 1947. Set around a quiet, sunny, flowery patio this peaceful accommodation is composed of several houses. It provides a garage and an additional closed car park, plus secure public parking in the front. Its’ different levels confer it a quite particular charm enticing you to stay, visit, and discover the town of Orange. There you will see the exceptional Antic Theatre, beautiful fountains, and nice little squares typical of “provençale” towns.Sun, flavours, smells, and cicadas will provide you with unforgettable memories... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Glacier Orange
Le Glacier Hotel Orange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.