We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Amis

Les Amis
Place Aux Herbes, Orange, France
+33 4 86 71 26 57
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 78 Restaurants in Orange
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Brasserie
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lafayette, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a great dinner at this gorgeous restaurant. The lights on the ceiling were especially cool. The artwork was colorful and eye-catching. The food was delicious and the service was very good. For the food and ambiance the price was very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    38
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“relaxed atmosphere with classy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Friendly attentive staff who immediately moved furniture to accommodate our party of 8 .there was enough choice for all members of our group to feel they were having something they really wanted. we all enjoyed an aperitif whilst perusing the menu. The food was well cooked and tasty-especially the ratatouille.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Some good, some bad. My wife had a lovely steak (entrecote). I had the pasta (Roquefort), which was basically pasta in a watery creamy sauce with hardly any Roquefort Cheese.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This resaurant is in a great location and looks very attractive from the outside. However, we soon wished we had not come. The food was average and the service was negligent, to say the least. We did not feel welcome, even though the place was not busy and we can speak enough French to order competantly. We would not go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
“Disappointing thru and thru”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Les Amis has an appealing location....outdoor seating in a secluded courtyard, under an expansive tree. The 3 course degustation menu for 29€ was pricey but tempting....foie gras, duck or fish (St. Pierre), dessert. Sounds good so far. Service was very slow even though it was not busy on an early Tuesday evening. The duck slices were cooked rare, but the quality of the meat was very poor. The fish was actually mushy. We did complain, to no avail. The best part of the meal was the dessert...the Chef's speciality...lava cake that took 30 minutes rather than the promised 10 minutes.
The real effect of the meal was not experienced until 5 hours later when all 4 of us became violently ill. Several doses of Lomotil over several hours were required to bring relief.
Overall: nice ambience, overprIced, poor quality food, poor service. Beware: Les Amis may become your enemy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Amis also viewed

 

Been to Les Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.