We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place run by remarkable couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas des Etoiles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mas des Etoiles to your Saves list
Le Mas des Etoiles
Quartier Dragonne | Les Imberts, 84220 Gordes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 52 Gordes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Croton on Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place run by remarkable couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of this bed and breakfast is ideal, 5 minutes below Gordes in the center of the Luberon. Even more important than the location are the owners, Annette and François Forest. Annette is warm and welcoming, François the same but immediately concerned with providing you every bit of information available to enhance your visit: detailed maps showing small towns worth visiting, suggested itineraries according to your length of stay, ratings of all the good restaurants in the area. Thanks to their guidance we had a memorable 5-day stay and exploration of this beautiful part of France. We were most impressed not only with the hospitality of these folks, but with the energy and experience of François, who seems to know not only his own area and country, but every big city in the U.S. His current main project is turning a field of stones into a nine hole golf course!
Final note: a highlight of the plentiful and varied breakfast -- quality ham, cheeses, fresh croissants, homemade jams, etc. that is included in the room price is fresh squeezed orange juice, all you can accommodate. Need one say more?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francois84, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Etoiles, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Andrew F :
Thank you for this nice review.
It reveals some of our best features.
Or at least what we want to do well, particularly.
Annette and I, our main objective is that the guest feels well at Mas des Etoiles, a bit "at home away from home".
So we try first to address to want the guests want to do and try to capture their desires.
In fact, in Luberon we have a lot of assets : Most of the things to do are in a short range (maximum 15 miles for Lourmarin) and the B&B in Gordes is just minutes from many sites.
Also, we are familiar with most of the good restaurants (and can also prevent our gusts to go to the bad ones).
We try to adapt the proposals in function of the time and the appetites.

For us it is easy and like a game to have every guest satisfied with his or her stay with us. We have travelled extensively to many parts of the World and we love meeting again the people.

So, thanks again. And we hope you could come back one day.

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    21
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
137
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having welcomed us like long lost friends,Annette and Francois made us feel as if we had suddenly acquired a wonderful country home in one of the most beautiful area of France.

With a deep knowledge of the Luberon Francois will recommend the best villages to visit, the most scenic road to get there. He wrote a brochure proposing different days trips depending on the length of your stay in Provence, and will lend a map of the area circling the villages indicated.

Presiding over a beautifully set family table Annette will make sure you have the energy to take on the day. We were offered petits pains, croissant, ham, eggs, home made jams (I recommend the fig) enough to fortify any traveler.

For Dinner, restaurants were recommended and Francois was more than willing to make reservations, to make sure a table would be available to us.

To sum it up, staying at the "Mas des Etoiles" was a good contribution to the beautiful trip we made in Provence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francois84, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Etoiles, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Dominique F

Thank you.
When you talk about " long lost friends" , we wish it would be always like that.

But as we like the New York Area and have been many times to New Jersey and Connecticut, it has been easy and very pleasant to converse about all sorts of subjects we share in common.
We also spoke about Art, Education ...
So it is not for us a job but rather a pleasure which unveils new facets every day, with guests of all origins.

As for the materials we provide for the visits, things to do etc, it is our first way to create the link and improve interaction.
However, if the guests want to just breathe the air and relax on their own, we make our best not to interfere.

So, thanks again. And we hope you could come back one day to our beautiful Provence and stay at Mas des Etoiles with us.

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at "Le Mas des Etoiles". François and Annete are great hosts and besides giving you everything you need for a perfect vacation they make you feel home with genuine interest for you and your family. I founded extremely kind of Annete to offer me a glass of rosé while she shared tips recommendation (tours, restaurants, markets, etc)
Le Mas had the best room and bathroom of my entire trip (22 days, 10 different hotels and B&Bs) . Room is huge, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Bathroom is also huge with big shower and a separated bathtub. Downstairs in the common area, a cozy and charming living room invites you for a rest.
Breakfast is served in a long shared table with fresh fruits, croissant, local chesses, wonderful Colombian coffee and everything else you can expect from a delicious French breakfast
Location: Le Mas is out of the historical city of Gordes but it is only 5 minutes by car. All the important Luberon cities you want to visit are in a relatively short distance by car, what makes Le Mas a great base for your trip to Provence

The garden is beautiful but needed a little more care (in my opinion and compared with other hostels I stayed)

I strong recommend “Le Mas” and would definitively would stay there again.

Room Tip: The Angels room has a terrace where you can have picnic (it is not allowed to have picnic in the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a long roadtrip along the Cote d'Azur and through the Provence we wanted to spend a few last relaxing days in Gordes. And the Mas des Etoiles was just the perfect place for that. We stayed in the bird room that was decorated with so much love that we felt very comfortable. And the hosts Annette and Francois were very nice. They adviced us nice places to visit and for a nice dinner. The Athmosphere in the mas was also very pleasant. We met nice people who also enjoyed the Provence and shared our stories at the breakfast table.
We can only highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Bird room is not in the main building but separte in the garden with its own little terrace. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Le Mas des Etoiles and Francois and Annette just made it perfect for us. Having not come to the Luberon region before, our lovely Host suggested must see places and must eat places. They also provided us with maps and booklets about the region and kept on reminding us on the must go places and surely those places were splendid. Francois assisted us in booking restaurants in advance and if it was full he would suggest another good restaurant. If you want to try the top restaurants in this region you should let Francois know in advance of your arrival so he can make sure you get the reservations for you.

We initially stayed for 3 nights but extended for a further night. The location of this property is just so central and you are only just 5 to 10 minutes away from other villages and if you need a SuperMart its only less than 5 minutes away. The property is settled on a nice open piece of land where you can watch the sunset and in a distance you can see Gordes. There is ample parking place for all guests.

We stayed in the Dreams room and it has wonderful views to the garden and the alps. The room was spacious, clean and very well-appointed. We had a standing shower (unfortunately no bath tub in this room), good hot water system and heating facility, if needed, to dry clothes and towels in the bathroom. Good comfortable bed.

Breakfast was wonderful. Fresh produce everyday with pastry, cheeses, fruits, homemade jam, fresh orange juice and lovely brewed coffee. Breakfast was a great time to meet other guests and it was a good time to share notes on the region. Francois and Annette also joined us for breakfast and they would share many funny stories and tales.

Overall, we had a really wonderful stay and would highly recommend this place to other travelers coming to this region.

Oh another word, if you are thinking of cooking or having some midnight snacks in your room, then it may not be a place for you. Strictly no food in the bedrooms. However, they have a common area downstairs in the courtyard looking out to the garden and pool where you can chill, eat, and have a nice glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in "The birds room" which was just lovely. It was separate from the rest of the house. It had its own terrace, entrance, lovely large room and lovely bathroom. Francois and Annette are wonderful hosts and they share a wealth of knowledge that they are happy to share with guests. Francois speaks many different languages and goes out of his way to help with whatever need you have. They are very close to the village of Gordes. The breakfast on the outside patio was fantastic and it was a wonderful meeting spot to meet other people. They have some fantastic fig trees on the property that I was welcome to pick anytime I wanted to eat the luscious figs (which I love). If I every come back to this wonderful part of France I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first stop on a 10 day trip to France. It could not have been much more accommodating. Annette and Francois were wonderful hosts. We were treated to a local Rose wine on the first night and were given good recommendations on dinner. One nice feature is Francois will make all your dinner reservations for you. Breakfast was inside as October does get a little cooler. The hosts join you for breakfast and help you plan your day. They are knowledgeable about the region and will provide maps and descriptions for use during your stay. We stayed in the Birds room one of the two in the external cottage and the terrace was a great place to end the day with a nice glass of wine, which you can bring yourself or choose from a nice selection that François has in the wine fridge. The room is well built and the bathrooms recently rennovated and very nice. It was a nice way to start our trip.

P.S. Although the putting green could use some work, I can't wait to come back and try the 9 hole pitch and putt that is Francois' pet project. He walked me around the course and it will be a fun way to end the day when finished.

Room Tip: We didn't use it but a pool is avaialable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas des Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Etoiles

Address: Quartier Dragonne | Les Imberts, 84220 Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Gordes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think twice before making your choice for a B and B !You are going to enjoy our “Chambres d’hôtes de charme”. Gordes is real great place to approach the Luberon Regional Park and most of Provence. For you, we have made it cool: Luxury and still casual. Now it can be classified as a Boutique Hotel. The house itself is stunning : Unique old white stones, a typical Provence garden with all kinds of Mediterranean plants and large views. Of course, the property is in a quiet environment. But it is close from restaurants etc … Decoration is stylish and imaginative, not cold-contemporary as often offered now. Annette has a taste for it. Everything is in tones in pastel, grey and light brown. Comfort is at a high level : Of course a soft air conditioning everywhere, a fair speed WIFi, a salted 12 X 5 swimming pool and many kinds of delicacies. And from 2013, a Pitch and Putt 9 holes golf course just here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Le Mas des Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas des Etoiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.