We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Provence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas des Etoiles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mas des Etoiles to your Saves list
Le Mas des Etoiles
Quartier Dragonne | Les Imberts, 84220 Gordes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 52 Gordes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eden, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Provence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It is with some regret that I write this review about the most fantastic Bed and Breakfast in Provence, because I would like to keep it for my little secret. But, I will be generous with my wonderful experience and let the world know that Le Mas des Etoiles is THE place to stay when you are in Provence. Francois and Annette were delightful hosts, extremely helpful in making arrangements for restaurants and assisting me in getting information about touring the area. We were a group of 6 women ( I am the guide), and we loved the accommodations --- beautiful bathrooms and bedrooms, lovely breakfasts with homemade jams and breads and it was so nice that Annette and Francois both speak English so we could communicate easily. I wish my French was as good as their English!

Lovely home, lovely hosts, lovely gardens. And lovely Provence! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. I stayed in the Sands room which had a wonderful bathroom with a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    21
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
137
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful bed&breakfast hotel. Apart from being in the heart of the most beautiful area in France, the hotel provides an excellent opportunity for relaxtion. Our room was spacious with a fantastic view on the nice garden and the Luberon mountains. Having breakfast with the family (Francois and Anette) is unforgettable. We can only recommend Le Mas des Etoiles.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel HIll, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I celebrated a special anniversary in this utterly charming B & B, where our hosts Annette & Francois made us feel totally at home in their wonderful country inn. Our room and private bath were lovely and spacious, the house is extremely comfortable, and the countryside setting is beautiful. The house feels old and traditional in the best Provencal sense, but in fact was built only about 8 years ago,and has all of the modern conveniences.

Everything was impeccably clean, the service was deightful, and the breakfast spread was lavish and delicious, featuring Annette's home-made preserves, including a fig preserve made with figs from their own tree, and grapes from their own vines. Breakfast is served on the patio at a communal table. The Mas has 5 rooms, and breakfast was a nice time to get to know other guests, often from far points on the globe.

Annette and Francois are delightful, and were very fluent in English, which was helpful to us. They were also very understanding when we tried out our rudimentary French. They provided many great suggestions for things to do, places to go, and where to eat, and were able to help us with maps and directions. I

I could go on and on with wonderful things to say about Mas des Etoiles! We hated to leave. We will go back there as soon as we can possibly do so, and would recommend this lovely inn with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in the Vineyard room, which we enjoyed. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A year ago we had just returned from a trip to Provence. We remember Le Mas Des Etoiles with particular fondness. Of the places we stayed it was #1. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. The house is new, clean and very well designed. The location is central to the Vaucluse. Annette and Francois are warm, friendly and helpful. Francois advice for touring Le Petit Luberon and his recommendations for dinner were right on. Breakfast in the sunshine on the patio was a treat with fruit from the orchard, Annnette's fresh jams and the best croissants we encountered anywhere. We dream of a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My family and I (two teens 14 &16) stayed with François and Annette this past July for 5 nights. Le Mas des Étoiles is Fantastic! Do yourselves a favour and stay here!

Impeccably clean and by far the best smelling B & B I have ever had the pleasure to stay at, we stayed in the Dreams and Vineyards room which was in the main house and can be independent with their own stairs for going outside. Spacious bedrooms, large, modern, spotlessly clean bathrooms and Wi-Fi kept our whole family happy.

François was professional and helpful when I made my booking and continued to guide us with his excellent knowledge of the area once we arrived. He provided us with maps, directions and ideas which made our stay a relaxing adventure. Annette was welcoming and opened their home to us like we were family and that’s just how we felt, special and looked after. My children adored both Annette and François and were fascinated by Annette’s many stories! They both speak excellent English and not only recommended the most perfect places to eat but made our reservations for us as well, which I greatly appreciated.

For breakfast we were greeted every morning on their beautiful patio with freshly squeezed orange juice, bread, homemade jams, yogurt, fruit and cheeses. I can honestly say that they were the best breakfasts that we had during our three week stay in France. The pool is lovely and is a nice place to spend time and really enjoy your holiday. Evenings would often find us sipping wine once again on the beautiful patio enjoying the spectacular views of the countryside, and the company of our host and hostess.

Highly recommended to us by an Aunt and Uncle Le Mas des Étoiles is the only place you should be staying at when in Provence! I can’t wait until we are able to return!

Thank you Annette and François you are truly special people and we will never forget you!

Room Tip: Dreams and Vineyards can be independant with a door that closes and stairs that lead outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Le Mas des Étoiles is an excellent place to stay when visiting Provence. It is in a section of Gordes called Les Imberts, which is in the countryside but just minutes from the center of Gordes. The setting is beautiful with gardens and a salt water pool.

Breakfast is served on the terrace and includes fresh fruit (often from the garden) cheese, croissants, homemade jams, toasted baguette, juices, and coffee or tea. There is also a refrigerator where you can take soft drinks and just mark it in the honor book. You may also keep food in there for your own consumption (though not in the rooms). They provide bottled water for free.

We stayed in the Chambre des Oiseaux, which is separate from the main house and has it’s own little patio, which is completely private, looking out on the garden. The room was very large and bathroom very modern and very large. Everything was scrupulously clean. They don’t allow food in the rooms, which means no bugs and very clean rooms.

The Internet works, but is a bit sketchy in the separate buildings, so if you must have a full powered service for working, you might be better staying in the main house. François will do his best to provide you a working service in the separate buildings, but the type of construction makes it a bit difficult. Still we managed to check our email and surf the web as necessary. It just takes a bit of patience. Personally I feel it is a small price to pay to stay in the separate buildings and have the private patio.

François will make all your restaurant reservations and is knowledgeable about the prices, quality and type of food at most of the restaurants in the area. We found his suggestions were right on for the type of dining we were looking for. He will give you a little pamphlet with his suggestions when you arrive.

They also provide you with a map of the area with routes indicated out for exploring the area.

François and Annette are very friendly and very professional. They will greet you the first evening by inviting you to have a cocktail with them before leaving for your evening meal. Their pleasure comes from making their guests feel welcome and satisfied. If we are ever in the area again, we would definitely stay at this B&B.

Room Tip: Stay in the Chambre des Étoiles or the Chambre des Oiseaux for a private patio looking out on the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our almost two year old son. We enjoyed this beautiful part of France, it was lovely to start the day with a delicious breakfast outside, head out for day trips to the surrounding sights, and then return in the late afternoon to relax by the pool before heading out for dinner. Francois and Annette made us feel most welcome, and their suggestions for day trips and restuarants was spot on. I still think about some of the food I ate during these 5 days! Room was spacious, pretty and so refreshing to be able to sleep with the windows open. Highly recommended for people seeking a relaxing break. Would only take a young child here if they have a quiet personality and are well behaved, otherwise it would spoil the serenity!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mas des Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Etoiles

Address: Quartier Dragonne | Les Imberts, 84220 Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Gordes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think twice before making your choice for a B and B !You are going to enjoy our “Chambres d’hôtes de charme”. Gordes is real great place to approach the Luberon Regional Park and most of Provence. For you, we have made it cool: Luxury and still casual. Now it can be classified as a Boutique Hotel. The house itself is stunning : Unique old white stones, a typical Provence garden with all kinds of Mediterranean plants and large views. Of course, the property is in a quiet environment. But it is close from restaurants etc … Decoration is stylish and imaginative, not cold-contemporary as often offered now. Annette has a taste for it. Everything is in tones in pastel, grey and light brown. Comfort is at a high level : Of course a soft air conditioning everywhere, a fair speed WIFi, a salted 12 X 5 swimming pool and many kinds of delicacies. And from 2013, a Pitch and Putt 9 holes golf course just here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Le Mas des Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas des Etoiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.