We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vera good hotel but be carefull with the location of the room you choose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide de Gordes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Bastide de Gordes to your Saves list
La Bastide de Gordes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Village, 84220 Gordes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Gordes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Vera good hotel but be carefull with the location of the room you choose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrived in the hotel by car coming from Lyon in the late afternoon. The Hotel is right in the center of the city.
Someone soon arrived and asked if I was there for dinner.Answered I had a reservation for 7 nights.
Check in efficient. Problem is to arrive in the suite! The hotel has different buildings só had to walk through corridors and climb stairs !
The suite itself was big and with a very nice view of the Luberon mountains!
Below the suite is the hotel parking,but heard no noise!
Didn't have breakfast at hotel,preferred to buy fresh baguettes,order expresso coffee,fresh orange juice and have breakfast in the room! Arrive in the breakfast room was very confusing from the suite i was,it was easy to go to the parking as I spent most of the days touring Provence.
Would return IF get a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    64
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
34
150
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on an anniversary trip in July. You know how most hotels look amazing on the website, then maybe aren't QUITE what you expected in person? This hotel - if possible - was even more stunning than we had imagined. The view goes for miles.

Check in was quick and efficient. As we knew we would spend precious little time in the room itself, we opted for the cheapest option - a basic room with a small window overlooking the street. While basic, the furnishings, beddings, bathroom, etc. were all very upscale. The room itself was quite large. It's literally 50 feet to the main square of the village, so the location is ideal.

I will say that - for a holiday weekend in the middle of July - the hotel was very QUIET. We like to roam around and have drinks and mingle at the hotel bar when we travel. And there IS a hotel bar, but it was never open. The terrace was open all day, but we found that we were usually the only patrons sitting out there. Sometimes, if it was an odd time during the day, it took a few minutes for staff to realize we were out there. No matter, though, you can sit on that terrace for days on end and just enjoy.

The staff was very helpful before our arrival - we speak no French whatsoever, and they happily arranged the two dinners we had hoped to book. We also booked in advance in the very upscale hotel restaurant, however we cancelled at the last minute after seeing the menu - 68 euros a person for rack of lamb and turtle soup - and that's before the wine. We had a blast simply roaming the village and picking spots to stop in for dinners. Most were quite crowded but we went by 7 and had no problems.

We spent one afternoon by the beautiful pool. The weather was perfect and it couldn't have been nicer. Again, though - it would have been nice to have some staff out there to show us where the towels were or offer us something to drink. We did not see anyone else save one english couple. I was really looking forward to trying the spa, which looked lovely, but my husband banned me after my Paris shopping!

I'm not usually bothered by noise, but trash pickup at 5am on Monday was excruciating. We were right above the street and I felt like the trash truck was in our room. Other than that the atmosphere was perfect. We visited several small towns, and Gordes was our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are telling everyone who'll listen how wonderful La Bastide de Gordes and Gordes itself were.

Over the two weeks were we in France we stayed in a variety of hotels (from 2 to 5 star) and without a doubt this was the best. The room prices really stretched our budget so we opted for the cheapest room type which in our case had one small window which faced the street.

So rather than spending time in our room we sat in or by the pool and on the terrace, both of which have absolutely stunning views of the valley and beyond.

The room and bathroom were of a good size with a lovely bath.

We dined at the restaurant and would also say it was the best of our trip. Excellent value for money, wonderful service and a great table. As mentioned in other reviews book early (at the time of booking your room) and ask for a table on the railing of the terrace. Tres romantic.

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose a valley view room but otherwise just spend your time on the rather larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

When you look from the lobby, terrace or your room, the views are breathtaking.
The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The breakfasts are very nice.
If you eat in the hotel restaurant, plan ahead so you can get a table outside
on the railing to get the impressive view. The location in Gordes is great, you
can walk to shopping and other restaurants. Also only a short cab ride to any
of the surrounding cities to look at art or dine. A very nice place in the south
of France

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We loved this hotel, right in one of the designated Most Beautiful Villages of France and just down the street from a marvellous shop selling quality Tissus de Provence and exceptional hand made Santons. I didn't see the cheaper rooms and there are some that are way down stairs and along several corridors which I was glad I didn't get. But the outlook from the terrace and many of the rooms, as well as the decoration, are just great.

We found the service with one proviso excellent. There was a dragon lady running the two breakfast rooms who was annoyed we didn't sit with our group. While this is done for staff convenience, it should not be at the expense of the guest's preferences and comfort. Anyway as she clearly realised it would be difficult to actually pick us up physically, she gave up. Grumpily. The other downer for us was the excessive charges for coffee, tea, and wine between meals in their bar. The result for the hotel is that very few are sold. They could have done very well out of us if they had charged standard prices but we preferred going to the gorgeous Canadian, Jacques' wee cafe just down the lane off the main square.

Room Tip: Prefer not to get a room way downstairs unless you get one of the suites for the same price as a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albissola Marina, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've been at La Bastide on July 2012. The location is very nice with a stunning view on the hills. The building is narrow and developed on various levels not easily connected. Room pretty nice also if closer to a 4* then a 5* hotel. Unfortunately the service is very very poor. At our arrival in the room there were no towels and bathrobes. The safe was not working and after waiting some time it has been repaired by replacing the batteries. The SPA and the indoor pool close at 7 PM in summer, so no chance to enjoy the indoor pool backing home.
Out to dinner, on our return at 10 PM we found the room as left, no one had taken care to arrange the room for the night neither the bathroom. Having no more towels we asked the concierge and the doorman asked me to follow him in a little room to take along towels by myself! Unfortunately there were not any and then after another 15 minutes he came back to our room with 5 wipes hands; that's it.
Is this the service for a pretty expensive five star hotel?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

La Bastide is rated 5 star, but I would give it no more than 4 stars.
I had a very nice and expensive junior suite with view to the valley. Shame though that there were only two small windows. The view makes the hotel interesting so I would never book a room on the village side the more as the principal road is in front of the hotel. The swimming pool is small and I did not see a garden. The restaurant is disappointing the service friendly.
The village Gordes itself is so small......... I definitely would choose an other hotel if intended to stay more than one night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide de Gordes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Gordes

Address: Le Village, 84220 Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gordes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Bastide de Gordes 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the perched village of Gordes, one of the Most Beautiful Villages in France, La Bastide de Gordes offers all the splendour of a former stately home. Carved into the very rock face and built on 12th century ramparts, it combines charm, elegance, comfort and luxury. Integrated into Gordes’ fortifications, the chateau offers intimate, welcoming and restful interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Bastide de Gordes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Gordes Hotel Gordes
La Bastide De Hotel Gordes
Gordes La Bastide De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide de Gordes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.