We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas Tourteron

Le Mas Tourteron
Chemin de Saint Blaise | Les Imberts, 84220 Gordes, France
+33 (0)4 90 72 00 16
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 66 Restaurants in Gordes
Price range: $43 - $72
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for dinner Wednesday through Sunday (19h30 to 21h30), a la carte or Prix Fixe at 55 € lunch on Sunday (12h to 14h30), Prix fixe 55€
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Beautiful setting, magnificent food and a wonderful waite staff. The Chef Elisabeth Bourgeois was delightful. The setting is a retrofited farm house with a wonderful outdoor area for eating, too cold in October to take advantage of this. They served a lamb eggroll, my interpretation, that was to die for and their trio of lamb dish, specially the lamb stew was magnificent. Unbelievable desert table. Everything is made there. Good selection of lical wines. Pricey but all eight of us loved it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    11
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tw
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fur coat, no knickers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I suspect the people who think this is a great restaurant should get out more.

Fabulous setting.

Chronic service, 2 hours for our mains to arrive. Maitre d' took orders then disappeared for the rest of the evening leaving inadequately trained staff to cover for the obviously overstretched kitchen.

Really folks his place is decent gastro-pub food and as for the fuss about the puds... they were ok but no more. So don't go for the food, it's ordinary but fancied up a bit.

I reckon at 55 euros it represents decent value for 4 reasonable courses actually, wen you get them.

The test is; would we go back? Probably not and would encourage people to avoid it until they start to treat their customers with a little respect. This is a place cruising on a past reputation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Very heavy but interesting dishes served in a beautiful setting but ruined by very disappointing service. The kind of service that actually ruins a meal. Difficult to do but this place achieved it!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A blissful lunch in the garden of Luberon's best restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Luberon!
I have taken friends, and family there, and spend many heavenly lunches, and dinners on a balmy warm summer evening, leisurely enjoying Elizabeth's wonderful cooking among the trees in their walled garden. The food is fantastic (and much comes from their own garden), and then there are the deserts! Set out on a 2 tiered table in the garden where the choice can overwhelm you....Always reserve or you may be disappointed.
Enjoy...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had sunday lunch at the Mas Tourteron last week on the recommendation of some local friends who have had a holiday home nearby for years.. What a lovely meal in a lovely setting. Charming service from helpful young staff. The advantage of a limited menu is that it makes you order things that you would not normally try- it was strange to hear my 14 year old son say that he would love to eat stuffed courgette flowers again.
Totally recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas Tourteron also viewed

 

Been to Le Mas Tourteron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas Tourteron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.